We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break in Alvor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great break in Alvor”
Reviewed June 28, 2009

My wife and I stayed in Pestana Atlantico for 5 days in June 2009. The hotel is part of the Dom Joao II village at Alvor.

The Atlantico was clean and comfy but not as good as the adjacent Dom Joao II. Staff were very friendly, helpful and polite.

When we stayed there, the restaurant that would normally have been used was closed and we were able to use the restaurant at the nearby Dom Joao II Hotel. Breakfast and evening meal were excellent buffets and the service was first rate.

We enjoyed our stay in Alvor and will return.

Based on our 5 day stay, I would have no hesitation in recommending the Pestana group. My preference would be to stay at the Dom Joao II on our next trip but would have no problem returning to the Atlantico.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMC-24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    40
    41
    8
    11
See reviews for
46
62
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2008

Having stayed in, and been pleased with, other hotels in the Pestana group we were very disappointed with the standard of accommodation at the Alvor Atlantico. It is very very tired and needs an urgent upgrade especially as it is being advertised as 4 star when in reality it is more 2 star. The good news is the rooms are large and very clean (thanks to the hard working chambermaids) the outdoor pool area is excellent, the Staff very helpful and the breakfast good. If it was advertised as 2 or at a pinch 3 star then we would have been quite happy but we expected 4 star and did not get it. One other thing, do not make telephone calls from your room, the telephone outside the hotel was not working, we had a close relative in hospital and needed to keep in touch so phoned from the hotel, over the 11 days we spent 18 and a half minutes on the 'phone and were presented with a bill for 76 euros 30 cents (£63.00) this is scandalous and regulations should be introduced to stop hoteliers profiteering in such a manner.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, situation
  • Disliked — Needed upgrading
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen021943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2008

We recently returned from staying at the Pestana Alvor Atlantico. We had a suite on the top floor of the hotel which has a double bedroom, living room with sofa and dining table, kitchenette and bathroom. The terrace was very big with amazing views (11th floor). The atlantico could do with a refurb to update the decor but it was clean and in very good condition. The Dom Joao has been recently reurbed (2008) but is not as tall so perhaps not so good views. The beach is fantastic and very close to the hotel, but it was our first time to the Atlantic and didn't realise the water is FREEZING - (although the locals don't seem to mind swimming in it). It gets a bit windy on the evenings. There is a free bus every morning to Portimao, returning in the afternoon or you can take a bus into Alvor. We had the full board option. The food is good with lots of choice and the staff great.

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — Decor needs updating
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BibendumLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maspalomas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

I have just got back from Alvor and it was fantastic.
We stayed in The Pestana Atlantico which is a aparthotel right by the beach and 10-15 min walk from Alvor.
The location was great and the hotel had lovely staff, was very clean and served a good buffet breakfast which was replenished frequently. The hotel does need a bit of updating but nothing major and for me the location is what makes it. There is also a health club which is very basic but is free of charge. Beach towels are also included. The negative would be there is work going on nearby so there is some drilling etc to be heard, but we could not hear it from our room or on the beach just a bit at the pool side but not unbearable by no means and it did not effect our holiday.
Alvor itself is absolutely lovely full of character, plenty of good restaurants and cheaper snack bars plus some bars with and without live entertainment. The Harbour has lot of restaurants that barbecue your freshly caught fish while you watch the sunset over the harbour.
There have been negative comments about the atlantico but I would say the other 4 star hotels in the area are either more expensive or do not have the same location. You pays your money and takes your choice.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — some of the surrounding buildings were a bit tatty hotel needs updating
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amber47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2007

This is the second time we have been to Alvor and what a beautiful part of the world it is. The town of Alvor is lovely and the beach is magnificent. The hotel was a little tired and could do with a bit of a revamp but the staff are absolutely fantastic. Our room was spotlessy clean and was refreshed every day. The front office staff were very helpful and extremely friendly. I also had my birthday while out there and on seeing the card the housekeeper arranged for a complimentary bottle of champagne which was a lovely surprise. A truly wonderful stay, we would definitely recommend Alvor and the hotel was nice although probably not a 4* as it says.

  • Liked — The staff. They were very helpful and very friendly.
  • Disliked — It was a little tired in places, but generally OK.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarzy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma, Usa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2007

This property was part of a timeshare I had purchased two years ago. I was very disappointed in the property. The rooms were old, extremely small and tired looking. The beds, and especially the bathroom was very cheap looking. There was no bureau or clean closet to put away my clothes and I lived out of my suitcase. I travel extensively and this was by far the worst place I had ever stayed. Every afternoon, there was a sewer smell. The beach was very nice and the nearby town was okay but a bit remote from other popular places in the Algarve area. I will never stay there again unless major renovations are done. I even complained to my timeshare organization about my disappointing first experience with them.

  • Liked — The beach was right there at the hotel
  • Disliked — The overall sad look of the place
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JAS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alvor hotels

northern ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2007

We were there last April 2006 and are returning this April 2007.

We had a lovely time - Hotel room was good size - however an older and yes somewhat tired hotel. It still had charisma. Did not use the pool - walked the beach. the restaurants in the Harbour were a favorite - much to chose from. Close to a lot of other little villages.

A beautiful view from the 9th floor of the hotel - Enjoyed hearing the surf every morning upon waking up.

Enjoyed it very much and are going back shortly and renting the Villa at same location.

Grocery store next door had quite a bit to offer . The sister hotel was a nice place to go for buffet dinner.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Monicanorthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.2 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.4 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 24 in Alvor
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Alvor Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Atlantico

Property: Pestana Alvor Atlantico
Address: Praia de Alvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500-088, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pestana Alvor Atlantico 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pestana Alvor Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Atlantico Hotel Alvor
Pestana Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing