We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food - Slow Service”

Al Capone Ristorante and Pizzeria
Ranked #91 of 154 Restaurants in Alvor
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dublin
1 review
“Excellent Food - Slow Service”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had heard about this place through trip advisor and were really looking forward to a good meal. We were not disappointed with the food, in fact it was exceptional for the money. If the service had been up to scratch, which it wasn't we would have given full marks across the board. Just so people don't think we are being petty, we waited for well over an hour for our starters, while watching everyone around us being served on time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    20
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely service - highly recommended”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This restaurant is just a 10 minute stroll from the main tourist strip in Alvor, and it's well worth the dander. We ate here a few times and found the quality of food and service a lot better than those in the main village ( eat at the Black Stove if you love frozen chips, horsemeat style burger patties and Iceland special pizzas with gluey mash and cheap sausages sold to you at a 500% markup) and it is very good value. We had pizza the first night, salads for lunch a few days later and breakfast one morning. All used fresh local produce and were cooked perfectly. Our daughter ordered fish fingers at lunch and they breaded their own little cod fillets - lovely. The owners were friendly and warm and service was polite and smiley. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, fabulous service”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Absolutely fabulous restaurant located at the top of Alvor, lovely food in an informal setting & excellent prices. The service is the best in Alvor, highly impressed. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WYreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gem of a place”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

found this place as it was close to our hotel the Yellow. Lovely staff and homemade pizza, breads and pasta and very good prices - 7 - 9 euro for a main course and a glass of house wine is 1.20. Located on the right side of the road out of Alvor beside the Alvor campsite and just passed the Pingo Doce sign (large Supermarket) Well worth a visit - they have a dedicated bread/pizza chef and the desserts are scrummy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DJBBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We visited here for lunch and enjoyed it so much we went back a couple of days later for our evening meal. Delicious pizzas and very nice meat dishes too. Our son had a takeaway pizza one night as he didn't fancy coming out. The pizza was one of the best he ate all holiday and the home made chips which came with it superb apparently. Friendly staff and very prompt service. Can't fault the place. Complimentary shots at the end of the meal went down a treat. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Diamonds27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Capone Ristorante and Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Al Capone Ristorante and Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing