We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to eat in Alvor”

Tropico Beach Bar Restaurante
Ranked #36 of 151 Restaurants in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best place to eat in Alvor”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We've been going to Tropico since it was owned by Rui's father, the food has never been a disappointment. The sea food is the best we've ever had and is amazingly fresh and coked with home grown ingredients. We ate at Tropico almost every night we were there and miss it now that we are home. The staff are like family and love to have a giggle and a chat. I really can't say enough good things about the Tropico Bar & Restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishDuchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    69
    19
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good simple food”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived and everyone was very friendly. We ended up ordering far too much food, but it was all good. The shrimp and monkfish kebab is a must. Avoid the wine at all costs! View stunning - we will return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunshineSearcher_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent quality and location”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Right on the beach so this place has a wonderful view. The quality of the seafood was excellent and all food eaten was very tasty. Happy to recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bm02ton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Amazing location and food”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on a number of occasions during our 2 week stay recently. The staff rui, amandio and mario make you feel really welcome and they always have a variety of fresh fish for you to try. We love the pork and clam catalplana and the tiger prawns. The chicken piri piri is great as well. Thanks for a lovely experience and we hope to see you again soon...definately worth a visit..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LadyG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you have been before you will never be forgotten.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We missed out last year but the welcome we received this year was unbelievable. How Mário and Amandio do it I don't know. We will always us this reasturant/ bearch bar whenever we visit Alvor. The food is great, well cooked and expertly presented, and not that expensive.
We are looking forward to our next visit when again we will be treated like long lost friends.
Love the place
Keith J

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kj1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropico Beach Bar Restaurante also viewed

 
Alvor, Portimao
Alvor, Portimao
 

Been to Tropico Beach Bar Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing