We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Beds and Very Good Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Dom Joao II
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Beds and Very Good Breakfast”
Reviewed September 17, 2010

A group of 6 elderly male Golfers. We were satisfied with the quality of the Hotel and the Golf Courses, which our collective opinion was that they were Excellent for the price The only complaint the Buggies are too dear. We did not eat in the evening at the Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    652
    233
    58
    65
See reviews for
462
724
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

This is a very good ,clean hotel in a location to die for, but if you are on a package holiday you will be one of the last drop offs, we were on the coach longer than on the plane so consider taxi transfers .We paid the extra for a superior room with a sea view and were placed in room 503 ,excellent views of the beach and gardens also great views looking towards Lagos especially at sunset .This hotel always seemed to be very quiet ,at breakfast ,at dinner and even in the evening, a couple of nights the entertainer was the only person in the lounge.The prices at the bar were as you would expect from a hotel but as has been previously stated Alvor is only a 15 minute walk away with a variety of good bars and restaurants.The meals we found to be adequate nothing really special a bit repetative and thats just over a seven day period, so if we went to this hotel again it would be on a bed and breakfast basis eating out in Alvor. Plenty of sunbeds in the garden area with plenty of shade from trees etc and around the pool with umberellas,there is also a towel sevice you can swop your towels on a daily basis if you wish, so no moans there.The room was super with a nice comfy bed well appointed bathroom (with a strange glass panel in the separating wall )and as said earlier stunning views.The staff on the whole were very pleasant we only came across one slightly unpleasant member behind the bar but no problems there.On the whole a good hotel, in a very good location well placed for a stroll along the beach in either direction.Definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albertadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Me & my family spent 4 weeks in Pestana Dom Joao II hotel (Alvor) in July-August, 2010. We've accomodated in a small villa, which was pretty well and comfortable for us. First of all, the location was perfect for a family with a 9-year kid - 3 minutes from the pool and the beach. Second, we've enjoyed the large and beautiful territory of the hotel and the "village" with villas - also very nice for a kid and its parents. Third, it was rather comfortable to reach the "civilized" places - 5 minutes to Alvor by taxi or bus and about 20 minutes to Portimao, that's really great for the child as well. So, I would say, the location has been excellent for us with only one minus - the small parking close to our door and windows. I prefer it is situated not on the hotel's territory, but somewhere near the external road. The hotel's service including the meal service in the restaurants, especially in the "Cabbana Marche" beach restaurant, was very good and customer-oriented. For us it's a special pleasure to start our learning of Portugal from this remarkable experience in the Pestana Dom Joao II hotel. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaSvetlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Just returned from a week's holiday in Alvor. We stayed in the Pestana Dom Joao II. We did not want to come home.
The hotel was in a perfect location on the beach. The hotel was excellent. The reception staff were brilliant very polite and helpful, they also spoke excellent English and couldn't be more helpful.
The room was ideal. Very modern, lovely furniture and bedding, towels were supplied everyday when the room was cleaned.
We were booked in for Bed and Breakfast. The restaurant was lovely and service again of high standard. There was plently of choice for breakfast and this never ran low, it was always being filled. Breakfast was from 7.30am to 10.30am which are brilliant times.
Beach towels were supplied and the swimming pool area was brilliant, lots of sun loungers, pool bar. There is also indoor swimming pool and sauna along with a gym.
The hotel is about a fifteen minutes walk into town, we used to get a taxi back which is about 4 euros.
Excellent hotel hotel and holiday resort, recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicki171178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

V good 4* hotel. Clean & modern, lovely gardens & relaxing laid back atmosphere. Room decor was beach hut style. Loved glass fronted bathroom (could shower with a seaview). Nice pool area with beds at pool or in garden. Right next to stretch of sandy beach (dunes), with a few sheltered golden beaches to the east (amongst the rock formations). Staff all friendly & helpful, especially Helena on reception. Worth paying extra for the sea view on 5th floor & had champagne in room for our anniversary. Good selection at breakfast. Fresh pool towels daily & no drama about taking them to beach. Empty mini bar, embracing the fact that most people stock up fridge with their own cheap items from the supermarket. Recommend sitting on the beach or dipping your feet in the sea whilst watching the sunset. Village very quaint & has some fantastic fresh seafood & cataplanas, so well worth the 10min walk. There is not a proper path, but it was fine (we used mini laser/torch for parts with no lighting). If you are not into seafood, then there are other choices like pizza, pasta, piri piri chicken. Plenty of bars if needed, but we liked to drink on the balcony before & after dinner. Slightly negative: waste ground & high rises at rear, hairdryer on request only, no tea/coffee making facilities

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrick on shannon
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We have stayed in either Dom Joao, in villa and Beach Club at least seven times in the last five years yet nobody of staff has recognised us and said "You are welcome back".
It would be nice to be recognised and appreciated.
at the moment there are friends staying in The Delphinn on our recommendation..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marygillflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Stayed from 11th August 2010 for 14 nights. Bed and breakfast. Just myself and girlfriend (both 26yrs old) going for relaxing break. Good points: - Location - beach 30 yards from the pool, Alvor town a 20 min walk/4 min taxi - Pool area - Masses of sun-loungers and grassy areas to find shade throughout the day. Possibility to alternate between beach and pool in an instant. - Breakfast - great selection of food, both hot and cold. Go before 9am to avoid the rush, and its open until 10:30am. - Rooms - stayed on the 4th floor with a view of the car park. I'm not a 'view-snob' so this room was perfect, and a few quid cheaper then the pool view room. The room itself was ideal and the bathrooms appeared to be recently installed with top quality furnishings. All very clean and modern with the cleaners providing an immaculate, polite service every day. All in all a very good, relaxing experience. Nothing went wrong on our stay and most of the staff were very helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to families or couples. Slight Letdowns: - Safety deposit box cost 2 Euros per day. Annoying. - Breakfast got v-busy after about 9am - Lots of children (fully expected due to summer holidays, but may put some people off going in August) - Drinks at pool bar could be expensive (Sangria 15 euros, and very weak) and some of the bar staff were quite rude. Don't open the ice cream fridge yourself or you will get an ear-full of abuse!! I kept doing it just to wind them up. - Evening entertainment in the hotel was pretty dire. We sometimes came back to the hotel early to see a few depressed sat in the bar area. There was usually some kind of musician performing, but it wasn't very lively or worth staying in for. My advice, go into Alvor, or the far side of Praia de Rocha.
The best thing about my stay was…

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbo1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.9 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 24 in Alvor
989 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Dom Joao II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Dom Joao II

Property: Pestana Dom Joao II
Address: Marginal de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-021, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#5 Family Hotel in Alvor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Dom Joao II 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TravelUp, Booking.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT – Serviços de Gestão S.A., TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Dom Joao II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Hotel Alvor
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing