We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,230)
Filter reviews
2,230 results
Traveler rating
899
851
314
86
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
899
851
314
86
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view indoor pool golfing trip pestana dom beach bar minute walk lovely hotel crazy golf bed and breakfast basis fresh fruit direct access bar prices plenty of choice steam room beautiful beach half board alvor town
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 2,230 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2018

The restaurant at breakfast time was like a "railway Station" with people rushing in every direction trying to gather food. The buffet breakfast has to be the worst I have come across where the "hot food" was actually stone cold. The rashers were stuck together as they had come out of a packet and piled on top of each other so how could they possibly be cooked?

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank IreneLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excursion51602871299, Manager at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest "IreneLimerick",

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about our Hotel, services and facilities.

Unfortunately we did not meet all your expectations. Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Let me take this opportunity to inform you that, our Hotel has a Duty Manager to provide support to our Guests and his persons is in the Hotel from 09:00 a.m. to 09:00 p.m., if that you was not satisfied with your stay you had do contact our Duty Manger or our front Desk Staff. When we know we have a Guest that are not totally satisfy with something we do our best to improve what they consider need some improvement.

We thank you once again and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a near future.

Kindest regards,

Flávio Simão | Guest Service Manager
Pestana Hotel Dom João II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018

Had a very pleasant stay at pestano dom joao,all very nice and the staff very good.food at the hotel was great especially the breakfasts.the rooms were kept clean thoughout our stay.and the whole hotel grounds and swimming pools were very nice.

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank buster540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excursion51602871299, Manager at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest "buster540",

Thank you very much for your feedback about our recent stay at Pestana Hotel Dom João II. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your opinion is highly important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other Guests that consider a trip to the Algarve.

We thank you again for the great remarks and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.

Our best regards,

Flávio Simão | Guest Service Manager
Pestana Hotel Dom João II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

I have just arrived it’s the third time I have stayed in this hotel what an awful room filthy mouldy curtains mould on the ceilings marks on the bathroom floor they can’t change our room because they are full up I just hope I can survive for a week in here I will never stay again .

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excursion51602871299, Manager at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Derar Guest "Susan B",

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay with us.

We apologize for any inconvenient caused and would very much like to be able to have you back in our hotel in order to change the negative impression you have.

Let me inform you that, our Hotel has a Duty Manager to provide support to our Guests and his persons is in the Hotel from 09:00 a.m. to 09:00 p.m., if that you was not satisfied with your stay you had do contact our Duty Manger or our front Desk Staff. When we know we have a Guest that are not totally satisfy with something we do our best to improve what they consider need some improvement.

Thus, we assure you that your comments have benefited from our very best attention and we are doing all in our reach to revise the aspects you consider to need improvement.

Thank you very much for your preference in staying with us. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again, in a near future and to meet all your standards.

Please accept our very best regards,

Flávio Simão | Guest Service Manager
Pestana Hotel Dom João II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

You are welcomed in to a large entrance reception.
Friendly staff.
We had bed and breakfast. Help yourself to cheese ,cold meats, scrambled or eggs cooked be the egg chef.
Nice restaurant with lots of seating inside and outside,with nice views of the gardens that back on to the beach.
Each room has a balcony, the rear and side bedrooms had views of the gardens and beach. Safe in the room, aircon.
We walked in to Alvor 10 minutes walk for evening meal at the bungavilia Restaurant. They had great food at a reasonable price, meats,fish, Salad,steak on a hot stone.
There are a couple of bars and restaurants on the beach side, but they were expensive on an evening.
Nice walks from the hotel along the beach. You can walk all the way to Praia Roche along the beach.
Lovely beach with the typical Algarve caves and cliffs.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excursion51602871299, Manager at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest "Eddie S",

Thank you very much for your wonderful rating and comments regarding our Hotel, services, facilities and staff on Tripadvisor.

Your opinion is highly important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve.

We thank you again for the great remarks and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.

Our best regards,

Flávio Simão | Guest Service Manager
Pestana Hotel Dom João II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2018

Room tip: Needs tea making facilities. Pay for a room with a sea view. Its worth the extra.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Excursion51602871299, Manager at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews