We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$314
$280
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$206
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prainha Clube(Alvor)(Great Value!)
$141
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$352
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$283
$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$253
$237
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (2,028)
Filter reviews
2,029 results
Traveler rating
809
786
284
76
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
809
786
284
76
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewindoor poolgolfing tripbeach barpestana domminute walklovely hotelcrazy golfbed and breakfast basisfresh fruitbar pricesplenty of choicedirect accessbeautiful beachsteam roomsuperb locationalvor town
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 2,029 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2017 via mobile

I took a group of 23 people , 16 golfers & 7 non golfers to this hotel from 28th Sept to 7th Oct .
In my dealings with the staff prior to our visit I found them courteous and accomadating in all our dealings .
From the time we arrived to our time of departure all the staff of this hotel were efficient , courteous and helpful in all aspects of our stay .
All of my group had nothing but the highest of praise for this hotel .
Suffice to say we will be back .

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
3  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding our services and staff in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is highly important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve.
We thank you again for the great remarks and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.
Our best regards
Carlos Dinis | Gestor Unidade / Unit Manager
Pestana Hotel Dom João II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017

Room Tip: Need updating
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 9, 2017

We stayed at the Pestana Dom Joao in Alvor for ten enjoyable nights in September. We had a newly refurbished Villa in the grounds of the hotel which had two boule bedrooms thre bathrooms, a kitchen and loung dinning area.
The food in the hotel was excellent with buffet breakfast and dinner.

An excellent four star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trevor1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Sunny regards from Portugal
Carlos Dinis | Unit Manager
Pestana Hotel Dom João II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017

This hotel is situated in beautifully kept gardens with direct access to a gorgeous sandy beach. There is security gated access to the beach which also has a wooden walkway which stretches the whole length of the beach. The hotel also has an indoor pool and two outdoor pools; one for the kiddies.

The hotel rooms are modern and comfortable and are cleaned daily by genuinely helpful and pleasant staff.

The food is excellent and my only criticism is that the hot selections could do to be a bit hotter. However, that is a personal preference. In defence, the wide variety of cold options at both breakfast and dinner more than compensate for this. However, the desserts are to die for. The selection and variety of desserts and cheeses did nothing to help my waistline.

In all, it was an excellent 10 days holiday and I wilkl certainly be returning. The staff, without exception were professional, pleasant and helpful. An excellent holiday venue.

Room Tip: Fifth floor - the view on to the beach is magnificent.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 999ainslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Sunny regards from Portugal
Carlos Dinis | Gestor Unidade / Unit Manager
Pestana Hotel Dom João II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017

Our 4th time staying on a bed and breakfast basis, great location on the beach lovely walk into Alvor fishing village via the boardwalk or road. Food excellent in the hotel a good choice for everyone @ breakfast. All the staff are so friendly , a big thank you to the maids on the 3rd floor keeping our room spotlessly clean and to the towel animals we had great fun. We will be back again next year. I would rate this hotel excellent it meets all our requirements.

Room Tip: A sea view room
Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank nicholson254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding our services and staff in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is highly important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve.
We thank you again for the great remarks and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.
Our best regards
Carlos Dinis / Unit Manager
Pestana Hotel Dom João II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews