We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$313
$278
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$350
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Prainha Clube(Alvor)(Great Value!)
$155
$129
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,031)
Filter reviews
2,031 results
Traveler rating
810
786
284
76
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
810
786
284
76
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewindoor poolgolfing tripbeach barpestana domminute walklovely hotelcrazy golfbed and breakfast basisfresh fruitbar pricesplenty of choicedirect accessbeautiful beachsteam roomsuperb locationalvor town
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 2,031 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2017

Spent a lovely week in this hotel . Fabulous location ,comfy beds,nice bathroom, very clean with towels changed every day . Paid for a sea view and it was definitely worth it . Only stayed bed and breakfast which we could not fault so cant speak for evening meal or lunch as we like to go into the centre on an evening to eat and also enjoy the atmosphere . Its 15 to 25 minutes walk into the centre depending on how fit you are . Thoroughly enjoyed our week and would definitely return to this hotel and to beautiful Alvor

Room Tip: Pay for a seaview as you get sun in the afternoon and the sunsets are fab
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Val A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding our services and staff in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is highly important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve.
We thank you again for the great remarks and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.
Our best regards
Carlos Dinis | Gestor Unidade / Unit Manager
Pestana Hotel Dom João II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

I recently returned from my most favourite hotel, the "Pestana Dom Joao ll" in Alvor on the Algarve. A memorable holiday once again. The only difference I found was the lack of Staff on the hotel Bar. I stayed for 5 nights and for a couple of nights there was only one member of Staff, a guy called Neves. A very professional and pleasant man, but he seemed a little stretched at times. I've been coming to this hotel since 2008 and have never been disappointed, I love this hotel and Alvor town is an absolute joy to stroll around and take in the views . I look forward to my next visit......hopefully soon!

Room Tip: Sea view, or side sea view rooms on the 3rd / 4th floors. Best views of the sea. All rooms very clean with modern decor.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliewalker600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Sunny regards from Portugal
Carlos Dinis | Unit Manager
Pestana Hotel Dom João II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Stayed at dom joao11 many times we only do bed and breakfast as we like to go out in the evenings to the local restaurants as the food is amazing and staff are always happy to welcome you back.Some evenings it is lovely to sit at the harbour and have a sangria and watch the sunset before your evening meal.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank barbara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017


Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our hotel with other people. We took note of all your constructive comments about our services, facilities and staff. We sincerely regret we did not meet your expectations in some aspects. Should you give us another opportunity to show you our high standards of services, where no efforts will be spared to make your next stay a most enjoyable and memorable one, we remain with kind regards.
Best regards
Carlos Dinis | Unit Manager
Pestana Hotel Dom João II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2017

The hotel is in desperate need of a refit, breakfast is like a cattle market with very little labelled to tell the guests what the food is on display for example when pancakes are served there was 5-6 jars in front of them with spoons in now to the guest it was dark brown stuff, light brown stuff, nearly black stuff and a strange red coloured stuff not been a mind reader we did not know. The full English breakfast was awful to say the least. There is a small outside eating area which appeared to be non-smoking because there were no ash trays but also no signs saying no smoking, the door leading out to this area only had a door handle on the inside if as happened to us a selfish German closed the door we were unable to get back in and had to walk all the way around to get back in. The bar prices were way to high and the evening entertainment was a throw back to the 1970's. The sun loungers had towels on by breakfast and they stayed on them until the people turned up to claim their loungers then if they went away the towels stayed on them. Some of the loungers needed repair as did some of the parasols. A toilet in the indoor pool area would of been better and safer than having to walk down two corridors and a flight of stairs to use the toilet. The Turkish Steam room gave out as much steam as a boiling kettle. Every time either entering or exiting the hotel was not a pleasurable experience choking on clouds of cigarette smoke. The staff at the Oceana bar were not very pleasant and one was rude and the prices for the food and drink were insane 8.50 euro's for a cheese burger is crazy and it was cold, and their idea of salad in a sandwich is totally inadequate 1 small piece of Lettice and half of one thin slice of tomato is not salad in anybody's world and no butter on the baguette is just wrong. The only redeeming quality with their staff were the house keepers/cleaners who were very friendly polite and very respectful towards all guests, and the staff who greeted you at breakfast to take your room number.4star I don't think so 3 star at a push may be more accurate.

Stayed: September 2017
2  Thank UKJester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to gives us your feedback on your stay with us.
We apologize for any inconvenient caused and would very much like to be able to have you back in our hotel in order to change the negative impression you have.
Should you consider a trip to the hotel, please let me know directly, so that we do not spare any efforts in order to make you feel at welcome and at home.
Looking forward to your contact
Kindest regards
Carlos Dinis | Gestor Unidade / Unit Manager
Pestana Hotel Dom João II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017

Stayed her for a wonderful two week break with my husband, the hotel is in a perfect location ideal walking distance to local town only 10 minutes away, lovely restaurants nearby, the hotel is spotless, always being cleaned, we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, could not fault it, the breakfast is buffet style with someone to offer everyone, our room was great, clean and the beds were so comfortable, the staff are all very friendly, would definately stay here again!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laney142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding our services and staff in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is highly important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve.
We thank you again for the great remarks and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.
Our best regards
Carlos Dinis | Gestor Unidade / Unit Manager
Pestana Hotel Dom João II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews