We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OVERBOOKED AGAIN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Dom Joao II
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
cork
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“OVERBOOKED AGAIN”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were due to stay here for seven nights and have just been informed that the hotel has overbooked and we have to relocate to a different hotel, this is a total disgrace we booked months ago how are they doing this, it has happened on more than one occasion we chose this hotel mainly for location and now we are told we have no choice but to move very disappointed with this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sass353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    652
    233
    58
    65
See reviews for
462
724
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

just spent 10 nights here .on arrival the room was not ready so we were put in a room overlooking the car park(not our idea of a garden view ) but were upgraded the following day , and given a voucher for a free lunch and drinks .the room we had was 234 a nice room with comfortable furnishings . good quality bed and the weirdest bath/ shower set up i have ever seen ( the shower wall is glass and has a blind covering the window so you can either see or not see the person in it ... WEIRD.) hotel staff were very good . polite and friendly hotel was clean and tidy and generally well looked after . the gardens were well kept and very colourful. two paces and your on the beach , 10 minutes walk and you are in the town of Alvor where there are plenty of small bars . the food in the hotel was good , and of good variety.

Room Tip: try and get a room with a sea or garden view otherwise the car park and main road are your view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked a 'luxurious one bedroomed villa' at the Pestana Dom Joao II from the 16/6 to 21/6
for myself, husband and 17 year old daughter (i.e 3 adults). I expected to find as per the description, a luxurious and spacious villa. When we arrived at the reception we were pleased with the look of the hotel in general and were eager to view our villa. We were given Villa 16 and taken to the back of the hotel to the Pestana Dom Joao Village. To our utter dismay we were presented with a shabby, dirty looking building which was in great need of a revamp. When we entered the 'villa' we were shocked to find a tiny apartment which was very dark and dismal.
On the immediate left was the kitchen which was approximately 2 feet square with a small frosted window which opened about 2 inches at the top.
Going into the tiny living area they had assembled the sofa bed which was clearly just big enough for a small child not an adult. My daughter's feet were hanging over the end and there was a metal rod running right down the middle so it would be impossible to have a comfortable sleep.
The patio area was very shabby with 2 threadbare loungers. Also the adjoining wall to the 'villa' next door was about a foot high so no privacy whatsoever.
The bedroom was no better. It had a frosted window the same as the kitchen and another window which was on plain sight to anyone walking to and from the beach so you had to keep the curtains closed at all times for privacy. The bathroom which was en-suite was very shabby. Paint peeling off the cupboards and a very outdated shower. Also as this was the only bathroom it meant my daughter had to come into our room to use the toilet. You would usually expect to find a separate bathroom in an apartment.
We went back to reception to raise our concerns and were advised that we would have to come back in the morning which meant we had to spend an uncomfortable night in this horrendous 'villa'. The next morning I informed the receptionist that as this clearly was not the 4* villa we booked we wanted to move. Her response was ' You booked a one bedroomed villa, you got a one bedroomed villa'
I had to stand my ground for some time before they agreed to move us. However, the alternative although much bigger was still below our 4* expectations. They gave us Villa 18 which was the room directly above Villa 16. It was much bigger and it did have 2 bedrooms which I would like to point out was not the issue. We have stayed in one bedroomed apartments before and they have been more than spacious and comfortable.
This was still of a very low standard, antiquated and shabby. We also had the delights of hearing the new occupant of Villa 16 snoring every night!
I don't know what rooms they show in photographs when advertising these villas but they certainly are not villas 16 & 18 which are a maximum 2* rating. They were not inside the hotel grounds and I truly believe we were given staff accommodation as they certainly did not match the rest of the hotel.
The disappointment of the accommodation totally spoilt our holiday. Knowing we had to go back there each night was a depressing thought. We were made to feel we were in the servants quarters and shouldn't be using the hotel facilities. Absolute nightmare.
This was clearly a case of false advertising. I do know we would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not accept Villas 16 and 18
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DelHad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have just returned from Dom Joao and did not enjoy this hotel! We were booked into a two bedroom villa, which had ants crawling all over bathroom window. I complained and this was sorted but the real problem was that the air conditioning in the kids room was not working, it took 5 phone calls to 'Housekeeping' to attend to this and when maintenance finally did arrive to fix it, he spent a while fixing it , or so we thought?? But that night we turned it on again and it was still broken , even though he said he would call back in the evening to test it!!!?It was so frustrating having to hang around making phone calls to report these things??isnt that what a holiday is about, trying to escape from these things?? We checked out and it was still broken and when I explained to the manager, he said I should have followed it up and kept phoning??? He took 5% off the bill???.....big deal but wasn't very apologetic?

The cleaners do not clean the villas properly,dishwasher not emptied, patio full of bits from the tree overhead, which I swept myself every day!

Yes we also met a family with two young children who were told on arrival that there was no reservation, even though they had copies of email reservations made 6 months ago??their two children were crying as they were so upset with all the raised voices, so we sat down with the children while their parents argued their case!!??

We will not be returning to this hotel it is a disaster and I can't understand how people go back to stay there????

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

first time to portugal for 15 years. weather was disappointing but fortunately the hotel was excellent. cleanliness was outstanding, facilities and grounds were superb. so much space in gardens. restaurant was good food could have been a little hoter. we only had breakfast. the only criticism would be the balcony was too small. would certainly go back again. if your a golfer great value rounds out of season so book before u go.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joandavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Chose the Don Joao because of the location. We were not disappointed, as it was perfect, right in the middle of the beautiful long sandy beach of Alvor, The hotel is rightly classed as 4 star, the check-in was good but because of an early flight we found that the room was not ready & we had to wait a couple of hours. We had a very nice modern room which we found very comfortable for our 10 night stay, the bathroom was of the same standard with a wonderful power shower, although we overlooked the car-park & the beach road into town we found it very quiet at night if you kept the balcony doors closed. The view from the balcony was of the town of Alvor to the side & shrub land to the front with property in the far distance which meant that we were not overlooked. We had booked the half board option & quickly found that if you wanted to try one of the many restaurants in Alvor you could exchange dinner for lunch, which was a nice touch. The restaurant was large, airy and comfortable with some tables on the outside terrace, the service was excellent with all the staff being very cheerful and friendly. Breakfast was always busy especially around 9am. There was a good variety of food for breakfast & dinner with all nationalities being catered for, the only criticism would be the lack of Chefs cooking/serving food on hot plates, they did the barbecued sardines and Mackerel a couple of times. The bar & entertainment area was small and the staffing levels was low, on most occasions there were only two bar tenders/waiters on duty which meant a long wait to be served but we found the prices fair for a hotel. Overall a very nice and comfortable hotel, but they are lacking on facilities for the disabled visitors & families with buggy's as we saw many guest struggle to get up the steps into the restaurant & even from the reception area into the main body of the hotel, surely it would not be too difficult to install ramps? We would defiantly book this hotel again if we came back to the algarve.

Room Tip: You have to pay extra to get the sea views, but the car-park views are OK & quiet at night, try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had booked the Dom Joao this year, as had previously stayed there 2 years ago. Arrived at hotel at 23.30 after a long day travelling and was looking forward to settling in. The ignorant man on the reception desk, took a look at our documents and shrugged saying that there was no room for us. This lasted for a while, leaving us panicking that we had nowhere to stay, until he admitted that they had overbooked . He simply said we were going to the Alvor Praia (we had no idea where this was or what it was like), when we complained he shrugged again and said abruptly that it was an upgrade (in most ways yes, but a 40 min walk into town and not directly on beach). We received no apology just rudeness. The porter who drove us to the hotel stated this was happening all the time and some had been transferred to Lagos! Beware they are overbooking and don't care how you feel about being told you won't be staying at the hotel you booked. We will never go again. Attitude of the reception staff stinks!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.9 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 24 in Alvor
988 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Dom Joao II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Dom Joao II

Property: Pestana Dom Joao II
Address: Marginal de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-021, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#5 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Dom Joao II 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, TravelUp, PESTANA MANAGEMENT – Serviços de Gestão S.A., Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Dom Joao II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Hotel Alvor
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing