We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome at Dom Joao II”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Dom Joao II
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Veenendaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A warm welcome at Dom Joao II”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Leaving an icy Holland and having a warm welcome at our Dom Joao II hotel at Alvor, a better start of your vacation you can't wish!
Our flight did leave later than scheduled and we therefore arrived an hour later than anticipated. After checking-in we looked if it was still possible to have a small bite. The head waiter in the dining area saw us and apparently signaled the other waiters to stop clearing the buffet and urged us to come to the dining and prepared a table for us. Although the dinner time was over, this gesture was more than welcome for us and our hungry stomachs. Service with a smile from day one till the last day of our stay!

Room Tip: We had a room viewing seaside, however the room was located at the very north end of the building. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    630
    223
    53
    62
See reviews for
436
699
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel on 4 occasions and have yet to be disappointed - do pay extra for the sea view - it is well worth the extra money - you could happily sit on your balcony for hours with these views!
This hotel has the best position in Alvor as it is right on the beach and is only about 10-15 minutes walk to the town (or about 3.5 euros in a taxi)
The hotel is well maintained and the towels are changed every day - you are also provided daily with fresh beach towels and you have a fridge in your room.
Breakfast isn't up to much and the coffee is not the best - but just a few minutes walk to the beach and you have your choice of cafes on the beach, where you can get a lovely coffee for a euro or two with a great view. We found the hotel's beach bar isn't as good as the others and is a lot more expensive too, so just walk a bit further, but other than that this is a great hotel.
We don't take the half board option as there are many excellent restaurants in Alvor and all very fairly priced so we prefer to go out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KateandNeil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for one week of our family holiday last August. The hotel was clean with modern rooms but lacked some very standard amenities that you would expect, like an Iron for instance. When I asked for an iron I had to wait an hour as all of the irons were taken, it wasn't a big deal, but usually they are already in the room.

The breakfast wasn't anything special, it was in a huge room which was dated an impersonal, the staff seemed stressed and exhausted and the food wasn't topped up regularly.

The pool was nice as was the beach, with some beautiful coves a short walk away. The situation of the hotel was in an area that felt under development, with footpaths half finished and buildings under construction, we had previously visited Alvor in the 90's and found the quaint, authentic fishing village we remembered to have been spoiled, it's now flooded with neon lights and tacky karaoke bars. The holiday was ok, but I will never return to Alvor, and the Algarve in general didn't impress us very much.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucesoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here from 9th to 16th of February and thoroughly enjoyed our break.The hotel is situated within walking distance of the town where there are many restaurants and bars to suit every taste.
As requested, we were allocated a room on the top floor with a view of the sea,although the balcony was very small and only got the sunshine until about 2pm.I would think that rooms 01 to 24 on each of the floors would have a better sea view and longer sunshine(we were in room 544)
The room was clean and comfortable with a flat screen TV showing many English speaking channels including BBC and ITV.There was a small fridge to keep your drinks cool and a safe which they charged 2 euros a day to use.Not a lot of money,but for a 4 star hotel should have been free.There was also no hairdryer in the room,or tea/coffee making facilities,which again should have come as standard for a hotel of this rating
.As I knew about this from previous reviews I took a travel kettle and on arrival asked for a hairdryer and two cups to allow us to have a coffee whenever we pleased.They were immediately supplied but I don't know how available the hairdryers would be in the peak season.
To obtain free wi-fi you had to get a password every 24 hours from reception-again not a big problem,but nowadays normally comes as standard in 4 star hotels.

Breakfast was buffet style and had the usual items.Food was always hot and replenished quickly.Good variety of breads and pastries.

There were plenty of sunbeds around the pool,although the weather wasn't quite warm enough to sunbathe and there was a path from the hotel leading directly onto a beautiful sandy beach which stretched for miles and was cleaned every morning.It was lovely to wake up and listen to the waves crashing onto the beach.A short walk along the beach took you to the boardwalk which went along to the river estuary in one direction and into the harbour in the other direction.Lots of cafes and fish restaurants here.

The staff were all friendly and helpful,providing us with bus timetables and any other information we requested.They even provided a continental breakfast at 2.30 am on our last day, which set us up for the 2 hour drive back to the airport-should only have been about 45 minutes,but the shuttle bus was picking up passengers for two flights and stopped at 4 different hotels(and towns) on the way to the airport.Next time I would book a private transfer.

We had a lovely time and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tobee888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Dom Joao II. The first time was five years ago and now January 2013. Great to see hotel standards have not slipped,as sometimes happens. Great location on a fabulous long beach. We had a one bedroom villa this time, it was immaculate,but a little on the small side,it looked like it had recently been refurbish and was finished to a high standard. We took breakfast in the hotel restaurant, there was a large selection to choose from, something for everyone. Staff were very nice and helpful. As it was January did not use the outside pool, but the in door pool sauna and steam room were fantastic. Can't think of anything negative to say about the hotel, will be back there again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rodney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Nova de Milfontes
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights over my Birthday. the hotel discovered that fact from my Pestana priority guest membership and surprised me with a bottle of Bubbly on "the day". Our room overlooked the beach an had a rather small and not very private balcony , the only negative feature. We had dinner in the restaurant on 4 nights and enjoyed a first class buffet. the wine was a little overpriced but very palatable. The wifi was limited to the lobby area and went down one day, however the staff could not have been more helpful. Alvor is a recently renovated town with good restaurants and also a good base for the whole western Algarve. we were sad to leave.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caprontee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very nice hotel at the beach in Alvor. The Pestanagroup that owns the hotel have 5 golfcourses in the area, all of them very nice. Book seeview, it is woerth it! We stayed 12 nights in beginning of january 2013 and this was the fourth time in 3 years. Sun every day, nice golf, fine hotel, very nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank golfoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.4 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.9 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 24 in Alvor
919 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Dom Joao II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Dom Joao II

Property: Pestana Dom Joao II
Address: Marginal de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-021, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#5 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Dom Joao II 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Dom Joao II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Hotel Alvor
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing