We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Dom Joao II
Nearby Hotels
Luna Alvor Village(Alvor)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$218
$207
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$154
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$174
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$323
$182
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$204
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,893)
Filter reviews
1,893 results
Traveler rating
749
738
265
70
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
749
738
265
70
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdom joaosea viewindoor poolgolfing tripbeach barminute walkcrazy golflovely hotelbed and breakfast basisfresh fruitdirect accessplenty of choicebar pricesbeautiful beachalvor townsteam roombeans
Filter
Updating list...
1,120 - 1,125 of 1,893 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2012

we stayed here from 19th september to 26th september. we have stayed 3 times before but the 19th was our silver wedding anniversary , so we thought book what we know. we were top floor and its worth paying extra for the sea view. the porters bought us a big bottle of champagne for our special day , and it was on the house.no trouble getting sun beds even at 10.30 in the morning.the hotel has not changed since our first visit 4 years ago. the staff are friendly , nothing to much trouble. we stayed breakfast only and as always a massive selection , anyone who says otherwise is mad.weather very hot and a storm on the sunday , but the sun was out again by early afternoon. vagabonds in alvor has the best steak in town along with many wonderful other meals. went to an english resturant one night , something tree it was called , never again , 20 mins to get a drink , then a further 40 mins for first course , never again , a typical english owned joint. can't say much more really , so spoil yourself with a sea view , and a 30 second walk to the beach , and stay in what we believe is the best in the algarve. ps the cheapest drinks anywhere in alvor is lionel's chill out bar , a euro a pint and 2 euros for a gin and bottle of tonic , these prices are all day and night.

Room Tip: pay the extra for top floor sea views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank russmanRoquetasDeMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We arrived at Pestana on the 3rd Sept...First impressions not so good due to the fact our room had been given to a bunch of golfers! and the hotel decided as most of our party had the same name that we could all be put into a villa for our first night..even though we had all paid for sea views!!! :( Sadly the villa was very very dated and not very nice…to top it off we had to wait all day to get in!!!!

However as soon as we did get into our room the second night oh my! What an amazing view!!!! the rooms are fantastic, very clean modern and comfortable (except my pillow!! very lumpy).
The views are perfect! the sound of the sea at night was just amazing and the beach…Just gorgeous!

Alvor its self is beautiful! the St Ives of Portugal! The hotel is only a 10 min walk from the town! which has a few supermarkets and couple of chemists. The local restaurants are spot on! especially the Steak House!!

We are coming back next year to this hotel as it was the best holiday we have had so far!
I would most defiantly recommend coming here BUT! i would book via the hotel or a travel agents (you can go to) as we booked via Expedia which may have coursed the confusion at the beginning.

Three words for this Hotel....Amazing, Beautiful & Luxurious!

Nat & Ade Nicholls & the Horne family

Room Tip: 3rd floor sea view well worth paying extra for this.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I guess no need to re-iterate what a great hotel complex it is with spotless rooms and excellent room / dining room / bar / restaurant & beach staff with one proviso detailed later. I think it is important to understand it operates as a complex self contained just outside Alvor you can get everything under one roof so to speak but I would suggest bed and breakfast tariff is the best value. Breakfasts, lunches & evening meals can be had just a short walk away at much better value & if cooked are hot.

We were in a party of 32 organised by the very excellent Roy McCarthy's Travel of Macclesfield in conjunction with Atlantic Holidays both of whom provided a real five star service.

On arrival reception had only one person covering admissions no worries though we were soon processed with a room number. The front of house staff through our remaining stay were excellent ever helpful and pleasant.

We had a second floor side view room (2007) which overlooked the garden only minutes from the sea which was maintained spotlessly and had all the top hotel facilities(except a kettle) with a super large headed shower and oodles of hot water.

I was concerned a fire door outside our room was kept open to allowing entry and access to rooms without any detection, a cigarette ashtray outside suggests it was a smokers retreat and for those who were too lazy to walk through the main approach a few yards away. Whatever the reason it was a point of access unsupervised.

My other security concern was the wonderful sliding doors onto the balcony only locked in the center access at either end could be gained as the locking systems on the outer frames did not work.

Food I must confess was a problem if you wished for cooked items.

Evening Meals: the cooked barely warm meats were inedible with pork like shoe leather and other meats not any better. All the cooked vegetables were barely warm. Salads and cold meats were brilliant with a huge range of tasty alternatives and the dessert offerings were wickedly brilliant and tasty again with a wide range of choices matching any five star hotel.

Breakfast: Again typical English breakfast heated food was barely warm cold fried eggs in much oil similarly scrambled eggs / beans/ bacon/luncheon meat /tomatoes wether we came at start or middle of service. Start of service the plates were cold and food warm middle of service the plates were warm and food cold The cereal alternatives and various continental choices were many and very good. The coffee always tasted of chocolate whatever your selection. The breakfast manager a dour man found himself unable/unwilling to greet or respond to a courtesy greeting from any guest he alone was the single staff member we found thus.

Lunches: We had several lunches on the terrace outside the dining room. These are light lunches a bit pricey value wise but very very good and again great staff service. Brilliant.

Look out for little Maria SG in the dining room a lady with a lovely smile and great bubbling personality and a wonderful man who provides the sun loungers on the beach both of whom are great ambassadors for the Pestana.

Evening entertainment takes place in a main room which also has the bar a computer station & large wall mounted televisions within it. Mid week is subdued and great, with good music which allows all users to follow their own wishes. Sadly however at weekend it was taken over by a sixties throw back on guitar who plays everything at max volume making even ordering a drink a shouting affair in conjunction with a parrot act again at full volume which all of which I would never book frankly at best rubbish and then we had a singing duo on Sunday who again wish to destroy what little hearing we have left from the night before and certainly not up to any great standard.

Alvor is a short walk away look out for the Restaurante Alcaide at the roundabout just as you get into Alvor and try their grilled sardines & great coffee also many great Irish Bars in Alvor central.Take a trip to Sagres & lovely Lagos. Visit Cliff Richards Vineyard with an organised tour.

Certainly I would go back Portugal is suffering due to severe austerity but despite this the wonderful staff at the Pestana (bar one) are welcoming and genuinely seek to give you a good holiday and did mention the long long beautiful soft sloping beach and lovely blue sea and of course brilliant sunshine.

Room Tip: Room 2007 Great.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MacclesfieldGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Spent one week in Alvor, stayed in Villa No. 12 at Pestana Dom Joao 2nd, excellent accommodation, very large rooms with en suite bathrooms and cleaned daily. Only minutes from the beach and the pools, also within walking distance of the town. The villas are a bit dated in terms of decor and furniture however when on is on holiday I don't think this matters. We booked breakfast in the hotel which was fine, good selection, plenty of fresh fruit. Proximity to the beach is a major plus.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 12 which is ground floor and private away from the pools.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Recommend a sea view, clean service was impeccable only downfall decor a bit dated! We went B and B wouldn't go anything else food wasn't very nice after breakfast! Sauna indoor pool very good, went shooting played volley ball and football really enjoyed

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Watkins1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews