We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Dom Joao II
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I stayed at the Dom Joao with my 13 year old daughter for a half term break in October. We found reception to be very welcoming and helpful, we asked for directions and bus timetables at several points in our stay and they were great. They went out of there way to try and find a resturant that had live portugese music when my daughter expressed interest on our very last night.
We stayed in room 414, on the 4th floor, which has a landview (carpark), fair sized balcony with table and 2 chairs. The rooms are very nicely decorated,quite small but we didn't spend a lot of time in the room so it really didn't matter. The beds were very comfortable!! The bathroom was lovely, very clean and the rainfall shower is fantastic!! There was a small fridge in the room which came in handy and a tv which we never even switched on. Plenty of cupboard, wardrobe space, plenty of hangers,plenty of towels and bedding, slight niggles are no hairdryer in the room, you have to borrow it from reception. No tea or coffee facilities in the room.
The breakfast are quite nice with lots of choice, cereals, yogurt, bread, eggs, bacon, cheeses and fruit, hot drinks and fruit juices. The bacon looked awful so I didn't try it and the eggs were a bit cold but otherwise everything was nice.
The evening meals were nice with lots of choice unless your vegetarian...... Which my daughter is. She pretty much ate soup with bread and lots of salad. Which she enjoyed but it got repetitive by the 4th night. The desserts were gorgeous you are literally spoilt for choice. Dining room was always clean and the waiter service was always very attentive.
The indoor pool was great, very clean And mostly quiet. The only day it was busy was the day of a bad rain storm. It feels a little cold at first but you soon get used to it. I have seen other reviews saying there are no showers or changing rooms at the pool but there are. It's at the spa reception desk, which is the entrance to the indoor pool. I can see why people don't know it's there as it's tucked back a little but there are mens and ladies separate facilities there. VERY nice too they are.
We didn't use the outdoor pool but the towel system is great. You take your room token each morning to pick up a clean towel and no one bats an eyelid if you take your towel to the beach. Take your towel back before 6pm to get your token back so that you can get a clean towel the next day.
The hotel is directly on the beach and has a great little beach bar serving drinks and hot and cold snacks. We sat there enjoying the views and playing cards a lot. The beach is glorious I highly recommend a walk up to the coves and a visit to Canico which is nestled into the rocks about a mile away from the hotel. We didn't eat here but the views and secluded beach make it a great place to stop for a drink.
The bar prices at the hotel are a bit steep €9.40 for wine with lemonade and a pepsi!! There is a small supermarket just round the corner, turn right out of the car park and it's less than 5 mins walk. I stocked our little fridge up with water and soft drinks there. The bar staff aren't the happiest of people. One in particular deliberately ignored me at the pool side bar when there was no one else waiting until he had finished wiping his chopping board.
The hotel is about a 10 min walk into the centre of alvor which is very charming and has many shops, restaurants and bars.
We had a fabulous holiday and I would recommend this hotel to people who want a relaxing beach holiday. If you like to take trips definatley take the bus to Lagos. The bus stop is right outside the hotel and you can buy bus tickets from reception who will also give you the time table and a map of Lagos. We loved it! We visited the Marina, took a boat trip to see wild dolphins which was AMAZING, and made the day for my daughter. Gorgeous beaches and lovely shops and cafes. I would also recommend a trip to zoomarine in albuferia again organised through reception and another great day out. This was my first holiday travelling alone with daughter and I felt safe at every moment. We will definately be back to alvor and the Dom Joao. Maybe next time not on half board basis so we can try more of the restaurants. Of those we did try restaurante ria on alvor Marina was great for veggie options and o luis about a 5 min walk along the beach from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ohsomanyquestions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    617
    212
    53
    61
See reviews for
432
685
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

This resort during the Winter months is appealing since it's located seaside and the warm temperatures make us feel warm and wishful for the Summer, however the lack of activities and the amount of abandoned buildings around the area is a bit disappointing.
Had stayed at another Pestana property in the past and decor is definitely positive, albeit with the "voyeur" window between bedroom and bathroom leaving someone to wonder who thought of such an idea...
The resort has a nice and spacious breakfast room, but the lunch and dinner prices leave much to be desired, specially with so many fine locations serving fresh fish just a few minutes away.
Lastly, the beach is just few yards away and can imagine the chaos when Summer is around, although the outdoor pool is quite appealing too. Don't bother with the "miniature golf" course as it will be the worst ever experience without a doubt! The indoor pool will be nice if visiting during the winter months, but don't count on any assistance from anyone in the "spa". Apparently, the Malo Clinic Spa left without a trail...
The least positive impression was left upon the arrival and departure as it was related to the parking lot and the lack of parking spaces, as well as the lack/poor signage.
Next time, this will not be the choice of place to stay, since there are so many more. The staff was quite nice overall, but as mentioned before, nothing out of the ordinary or capable of leaving lasting memories.

Room Tip: Definitely choose sea view over any other, unless you're just staying for the night in which cas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nmontenegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This Pestana hotel far exceeded our expectations and made our holiday memorable. The service was excellent along with very obliging staff at all times. The location was perfect with the town of Alvor only 7mns away. We had a great stay at this 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view gets full sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Stayed at this Pestana hotel in early Feb 2012 with a sea view room. The bedroom is typical Pestana style with a 'voyeur' window between bedroom and bathroom. There is a curtain which will allow modesty so not a major concern, but a little disarming on arrival.
The sea view with a balcony is a must, as the alternative is a view over the car park and road, never getting the sun.
At this time of year the hotel is full of male golfers who flock to breakfast and then vanish until the following morning unless ttey have spent the night on the tiles, when noise can be a problem. Woken at 3.50am and complained to the management who did not want to know. Sadly the golfers were English! Food is repetitive and always served with chips. Staff seem fed up and do not make a great effort except for the odd occasion. However final account was a surprise and generally the hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Scrum5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veenendaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

In 2011 we visited Pestana Dom Joao for the first time. The experience of th hospitality and excellent service was for us a motif to come back in 2012. The first impression has been confirmed on our last trip. We enjoyed our stay in the Hotel and noticed that an improvement has been made with the route along the beach to reach the village of Alvor.

Room Tip: Rooms seaview are recomended to view sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcos de valdevez
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

a relaxing stay while the insides are opiscina with cold water and the coffee is not good quality. In fact it was the worst coffee to be soluble. For the rest ... the staff ... friendly and helpful especially the reception

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ritinha_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

A group of eight of us stayed at this hotel in late January,we stayed on a half board basis,which was a good idea as breakfast and dinn er were ample and varied,our only concern with this was the clearing away of dirty plates led to waiting for a table.The rooms were very clean and tidy with ample clothes storage.Our only other gripe was the very slow service at the bar especialy if you are behind a group of 36 other golfers,the drinks were the usual outrageous pices ie £4.50 small beer,large wine£8.50,just along the road there is a bowling alley whose drinks are far cheaper lovely hotel,fantastic beaches and views ,

Room Tip: all rooms quiet,sea views best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank batchwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.4 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
0.4 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 26 in Alvor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Dom Joao II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Dom Joao II

Property: Pestana Dom Joao II
Address: Marginal de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-021, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#5 Family Hotel in Alvor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Dom Joao II 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pestana Dom Joao II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Hotel Alvor
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing