We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yellow Alvor Garden
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“holiday”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

stayed here for a week at the end of May weather was glorious hotel was very clean. It was quiet so no queue for meals which was good for us. The meals was not up to the standard I would expect The staff were all very pleasant, & helpful. Also there should have been a free bus into Alvor from the Hotel however this was not available. Which meant taking taxis. It was a good Holiday & would go again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    202
    182
    89
    69
See reviews for
230
288
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Really disappointed with the lack of choice regarding the food at all of the meals, a couple of nights my spouse & I had only salad as all there was on offer was curry which we don't like, and there was no variation in the desserts. Although the pool area is lovely, the bottom of the pool felt slimy and footprints were visible on the bottom - weird. The pool bar needs refurbishing. The courtesy bus was off the road for the whole of our stay ! As previously stated the rooms are clean but need updating. Although a couple of times only one of our bath towels was changed. There was supposed to be an animation team at the hotel, they did not appear until nearly the end of our break, and then the program was only for children, of which there were two !! Really surprised that First Choice gave it 4* I certainly wouldn't.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeu3645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alvor hotels

Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The food was terrible, very little choice, and poor quality. No fried eggs, poached, or boiled at breakfast, just rock hard cold scrambled. After 2 nights we could not stand it anymore, so moved to another hotel in Alvore. You could not get a "proper" drink until 7pm. This is not a 4 star hotel, maybe give it a 1. Could not recommend this place in anyway. John & Carolann, U.K.

Room Tip: Just do not go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnBateson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Myself and my wife have just returned from the Yellow garden hotel in Alvor. We had a great week. But the hotel was supposedly 4* that is not the case maybe 3* the rooms being a little tired and old fashioned. The outside area was very nice with a nice poolside bar. The food was pretty good so no complaints there. Being all inclusive we were dissapointed as there was beer and wine available with meals but the rest of the day until 7pm only beer and soft drinks were available. From 7pm onwards local drinks were available. The town itself is a lovely little place and well worth going to. Also the staff in the hotel were very friendly and were always willing to help. There is a shuttle bus to take you to town too. All in all a very enjoyable hotel & holiday.

Room Tip: Rent a car to see all the other places in the Algarve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billjonesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The hotel is not to bad, but they need to sort the food and drink as not up to all inclusive. There is a fridge in the rooms and good air conditioning but no tea or coffee and unless the restaurant is open, you can not get a drink until 8.00 am. The staff are very good and try hard to help. Not for children but thats good for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
4 Thank Jeremy100456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

The wife and I came here for our honeymoon. We wanted a pretty, relaxing and worry free place to stay and thats exactly what we got.

Our room was nice with a little balcony with a view of the pool and the surrounding area. It was just the right size for us.

As we had told the hotel it was our honeymoon prior to arriving we got greeted with strawberrys and a bottleof champers (we found out later that it was a pretty sxexpensive bottle too!)

The poolis stunning. The scenery around the area is beautiful with its "carribean" feel. Theres a nice little bar right next to the pool which is very convenient on those hot days. The only downsides to the pool is that the water is reeeeeeaallly cold (gotta man up a bit to take the plunge :]) and that on windy days it absolutely HOWLS between the hotel and the hill opposite. A few umbrellas went flying at one point! Whoops!

The meals put on by the hotel were really nice! There was plenty to choose from and their restaurant is really clean and tidy.

I would recommend a sat nav or something to find this place. We nearly drove right past the sign for it which would of been a pain in the bum!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MCarts265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepshed, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was our first time to Portugal, we really enjoyed it.
The hotel is kept very clean the staff work very hard, the rooms are cleaned and towels changed every day.
The food is good a few tweaks at breakfast may help, there is a good choice of meat and fish dishes at lunch and evening. the restaurant is very clean and the staff very helpful.
The lobby bar is very good no waiting for drinks and the beer is very drinkable, the shorts are very strong and the staff Jose and Carlos are very good.
The resort of Alvor is easily walkable with plenty of shops bars and restaurants, there is also a free shuttle service from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
5 Thank 86e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.2 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
1.1 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 24 in Alvor
956 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna Clube Brisamar
Luna Clube Brisamar
#22 of 24 in Alvor
452 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Alvor Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Alvor Garden

Property: Yellow Alvor Garden
Address: Rua da Dourada, Alvor, Portimao 8500-034, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellow Alvor Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive: 08:00 to 10:30 - Breakfast Buffet in the Restaurant 10:30 to 18:30 - Soft Drinks (orange, pineapple, coke, soda and ice tea) and Local Alcoholic Drinks (Vodka, Gin, Brandy, house wine and beer) in the Pool bar 11:00 to 12:00 - Snacks (burger, hotdog, ham/cheese sandwich, tuna sandwich, chicken sandwich and chips) in the Pool bar 11:00 to 12:00 - Ice Creams (chocolate with vanilla and strawberry with cream) 12:30 to 14:30 - Lunch Buffet at the Restaurant (include water, softdrinks, national beer, house wine and coffee/tea) 16:00 to 17:00 - Snacks (burger, hotdog, ham/cheese sandwich, tuna sandwich, chicken sandwich and chips) in the Pool bar 16:00 to 17:00 - Ice Creams (chocolate with vanilla and strawberry with cream) 18:30 to 21:30 - Dinner Buffet at the Restaurant (include water, softdrinks, national beer, house wine and coffee/tea) 19:00 to 24:00 - Local Alcoholic Drinks (whisky, brandy, gin, vodka, almond liqueur, whisky liqueur, coffee liqueur, white port, red port and daily cocktail), house wine, national nacional beer and softdrinks at the Lobby bar 22:00 to 24:00 - Local Alcoholic Drinks (whisky, brandy, gin, vodka, almond liqueur, whisky liqueur, coffee liqueur, white port, red Port and daily cocktail), house wine, national beer and softdrinks at the Terrace bar Daily Animation: Entertainment Program for children during the day and live music at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yellow Alvor Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellow Hotel Alvor
Iberotel Alvor
Alvor Yellow Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing