We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yellow Alvor Garden
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Very disappointed. Our second time here and the hotel has gone downhill. On arrival we were told they were fully booked but had forgotten to inform our travel agent, they wanted to transfer us to Lagos. we dug our heels in and insisted on staying, if we had wanted to go to Lagos we would have gone there, and they found a room after all.
On entering the room my wife thought it was 'very tired'. I had to disagree though, it was absolutely exhausted.
We were on bed and breakfast basis. Again, very poor inasmuch every day was scrambled eggs or no eggs. And I am sure they were powdered eggs. Not good.
We wont be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 675 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have once again returned to this hotel, had yet another fantastic stay, a lot of new staff but all just a friendly and willing to serve. Hotel remains very clean, our bathroom perhaps needed re-grouting but it was clean. We again had garden facing room which was fab. Our girls went riding again at horses in the sun, look at their website and pay them a call they are so friendly. Try this hotel out, it really is worth giving it a try.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We booked a very last minute five-night stay here in late August and were pleasantly surprised with the way everything turned out in this revamped, child-friendly, relaxing hotel.

We arrived at midday and were able to check in straight away (instead of having to wait until 3.00pm) and we took full advantage of the great pool area straight away.

Best bits are the pools: big outdoor one and adjacent small one for little kids, and also good indoor heated one with nearby jacuzzi. We couldn't keep our 3 year old out of the water and enjoyed lazing around ourselves. Heated one was great as water was a bit chilly in outside ones.

Poolside bar was nice enough and gardens were fantastic, very relaxing and felt very private. Always a very chilled atmosphere by the pools and we could always get sunloungers and umbrellas easily, despite the hotel being full.

Our room (127L) was fine: clean and comfy and we felt happy enough in there. Small balcony was nice but but we wished we had a poolside view as was noisy at night. We got sick of the rubbish karaoke coming from the adjacent Club Brisamar bar. Slept OK though.

Food was disappointing, it all seemed like it was churned out with no imagination or taste so even though we were half board we went into Alvor one night for something a bit more appetising. Only a 20 min walk downhill, Alvor is great, lots of nice bars and places to eat and never too crowded, defo worth the walk if you get bored of the food!

Not a 4 star hotel but a really good 3 star one perfect for young kids and those looking for a good value break. Could benefit from a kids play area in the grounds to make it even better.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side one to avoid having karaoke in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoelMariaandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in August 2012 & from the friendly check-in to the efficient check-out..enjoyed every minute.Alvor is unique & unspoilt..you have to explore every nook and cranny to appreciate it,s charms .Hotel is kept very clean by hard-working staff & pool and gardens are beautiful .Restaurant is nice & staff again cannot be faulted.Food was slightly disappointing....though fresh salad every night was well presented ..Bar staff were excellent and made u feel welcome.

Room Tip: probably pool view would be better..though we did not spend too long in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here in August. I was nervous reading some of the reviews on here but on arrival I was pleased. First impressions was that it was not a 4 star hotel by city standards anyway. However we really enjoyed our stay. On booking we requested a pool view and that we got. The pool area itself was nice, plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas however it was in need of a good scrub! The village of Alvor is about 20 minutes walk downhill and its about another 10 minutes after that to the beach. We got taxis most days and it was always €3.90. We ate the breakfast on the first day and didn't go back. The hotel rooms have a small fridge so we picked up a few items in the supermarket close by. The beds are 2 singles pushed together and never had any trouble sleeping. There is air-con in the rooms which are cleaned daily. The rooms are most definitely not soundproof and we were woken up each day by commotion.The hotel is very short staffed, on our week long stay we saw only 3 or 4 different staff members and this was to cover the reception, 2 bars and restaurant. They charge 50 cent to order a taxi which is a bit mean considering that should always be a complementary service. The price was good too and would return again only the distance from the town/beach is a bit off putting.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilyjayne_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Lovely hotel, rooms very modern and spacious with a bath and a shower, Very clean, cleaners visited every day and did a brilliant job, hotel and pool very clean, and staff very polite and helpful. Breakfast was amazing with so much choice from full english to continental. Hotel was not to busy but full just enough to have a nice atmosphere around the poo and to be able to get a sunbedl. 15 mins away from the bars and restaurants and about 20 mins from the beach but both lovely walks. airport transfer was about 60 mins but not a bad transfer at all. I would highly recommend this hotel we had such a lovely holiday staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melissa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a stay at the yellow alvor hotel and I felt it deserved a nice review as some of the others on here are very unfair.
I've stayed in alvor many times before but this was our first visit here as our usual hotel was fully booked, the hotel is perfectly fine with some of the nicest grounds I have seen when paying these prices, the pool was lovely and yes the water does look slightly cloudly but I think you'll find this has nothing to do with the pool being unclean and is the levels of clorine used. The rooms were adequate and clean and we had a pool view which was lovely to wake up to.. Yes the hotel is a little out of the way, alvor is a very pleasant 15 minute stroll but I always stay this end of alvor as I like to be out the way a bit...
Alvor its self is a lovely village with many a nice restaurants and the most fantastic atmosphere..
So overall the hotel is lovely, nice rooms, good staff, lovely pool and gardens and would not hesitate to stay again so please don't let peoples unfair reviews but you off as people just love to complain. This review is an honest review for the price we paid and I hope you too have a great time here

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophiedavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.5 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
508 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.1 mi away
Luna Clube Brisamar
Luna Clube Brisamar
#22 of 24 in Alvor
475 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Delfim All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Alvor Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Alvor Garden

Address: Rua da Dourada, Alvor, Portimao 8500-034, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
Price Range: $101 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellow Alvor Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive: 08:00 to 10:30 - Breakfast Buffet in the Restaurant 10:30 to 18:30 - Soft Drinks (orange, pineapple, coke, soda and ice tea) and Local Alcoholic Drinks (Vodka, Gin, Brandy, house wine and beer) in the Pool bar 11:00 to 12:00 - Snacks (burger, hotdog, ham/cheese sandwich, tuna sandwich, chicken sandwich and chips) in the Pool bar 11:00 to 12:00 - Ice Creams (chocolate with vanilla and strawberry with cream) 12:30 to 14:30 - Lunch Buffet at the Restaurant (include water, softdrinks, national beer, house wine and coffee/tea) 16:00 to 17:00 - Snacks (burger, hotdog, ham/cheese sandwich, tuna sandwich, chicken sandwich and chips) in the Pool bar 16:00 to 17:00 - Ice Creams (chocolate with vanilla and strawberry with cream) 18:30 to 21:30 - Dinner Buffet at the Restaurant (include water, softdrinks, national beer, house wine and coffee/tea) 19:00 to 24:00 - Local Alcoholic Drinks (whisky, brandy, gin, vodka, almond liqueur, whisky liqueur, coffee liqueur, white port, red port and daily cocktail), house wine, national nacional beer and softdrinks at the Lobby bar 22:00 to 24:00 - Local Alcoholic Drinks (whisky, brandy, gin, vodka, almond liqueur, whisky liqueur, coffee liqueur, white port, red Port and daily cocktail), house wine, national beer and softdrinks at the Terrace bar Daily Animation: Entertainment Program for children during the day and live music at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yellow Alvor Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellow Hotel Alvor
Iberotel Alvor
Alvor Yellow Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing