We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel highly recommended.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellow Alvor Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yellow Alvor Garden
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel highly recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Lovely hotel, rooms very modern and spacious with a bath and a shower, Very clean, cleaners visited every day and did a brilliant job, hotel and pool very clean, and staff very polite and helpful. Breakfast was amazing with so much choice from full english to continental. Hotel was not to busy but full just enough to have a nice atmosphere around the poo and to be able to get a sunbedl. 15 mins away from the bars and restaurants and about 20 mins from the beach but both lovely walks. airport transfer was about 60 mins but not a bad transfer at all. I would highly recommend this hotel we had such a lovely holiday staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melissa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    182
    158
    83
    68
See reviews for
197
270
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a stay at the yellow alvor hotel and I felt it deserved a nice review as some of the others on here are very unfair.
I've stayed in alvor many times before but this was our first visit here as our usual hotel was fully booked, the hotel is perfectly fine with some of the nicest grounds I have seen when paying these prices, the pool was lovely and yes the water does look slightly cloudly but I think you'll find this has nothing to do with the pool being unclean and is the levels of clorine used. The rooms were adequate and clean and we had a pool view which was lovely to wake up to.. Yes the hotel is a little out of the way, alvor is a very pleasant 15 minute stroll but I always stay this end of alvor as I like to be out the way a bit...
Alvor its self is a lovely village with many a nice restaurants and the most fantastic atmosphere..
So overall the hotel is lovely, nice rooms, good staff, lovely pool and gardens and would not hesitate to stay again so please don't let peoples unfair reviews but you off as people just love to complain. This review is an honest review for the price we paid and I hope you too have a great time here

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophiedavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed 17th July for a week. First thoughts: this is never a 4 star. On leaving: I'm quite fond of the old place. The gardens are pretty, it's quiet, relaxing, the food was really nice, we had half board plus so drinks were free with our dinners... the staff are incredibly hard working and so friendly. Our room was cleaned every day with new towels and the air conditioning worked a treat. Gripes: the beds are rock hard! I got two, thick blankets out of the wardrobe, folded them in half and put them under my fitted sheet to make mine softer. Shower was pretty basic but ok. The indoor pool was nice but the sauna, steam room and jaccuzi were not working. Outdoor pool was ok but a bit greasy. There is no shuttle bus down to the beach so it's a fair walk - about 25 minutes. I asked at reception and got a very blank look and 'there is no bus' There is a local bus near the beach( 1euro75) that runs every 40 minutes if you can work out the timetable but there is a bar right at the bus stop which is handy. Alvor is pretty, like a portugese Whitby. The boardwalks around the estuary are great but when you've walked from the hotel to the beach and then around the boardwalks, you seriously need water. It's ok for a relaxing holiday if you're not too fussy and are easy going, just want to sunbathe, walk, read and check out the restaurants. Would go again but its a big world.

Room Tip: Get a pool/garden view room and check the beds before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed two nights at Yellow Alvor (not to be confused with the Yellow Lagos that is a 5star hotel). Hotel and rooms ok. The hotel is in walking distance of Alvor town, which is a small charter, but-friendly city. Recommend eating at Reataurante Ruccula. I recommend Praia da Rocha, and the beaches in Lagos. Try Meia Praia, Dona Ana and the beaches on the west side. We got the room for €100 pr. night and was happy. I would not have payed more than €120.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frkvivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Only the food was good!!!
The hotel definitely is not a 4****! It’s old and the maintenance is poor.
The building where the rooms are situated is old and dirty. I mean really dirty!!!! The building with the restaurant is more recent and clean.
If you stay in the rooms that face the hotel in front be prepared to stay awake until 23:55. The hotel in front has animation and the music is turned off at midnight.
We had full board and the food was excellent!
The pool’s water didn’t have the normal chlorine levels and PH what made the water cloudy. The gardens and lakes were well taken care of.
Most of the days the sauna and turkis bath were not worrking, so don't count on it.
I certainly will not return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fofura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alvor hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed here mid July 2012 and the hotel was quite quiet, in a positive way. Its situated about 15 minute walk from the town, a nice walk. We hired bikes for three days of the seven and I recommend that anyone going to Alvor does the same! Perfect way to get around.

The rooms were good, just better than basic but clean and well presented. The only problem were the beds - when I read some reviews saying they weren't great, I thought people may be being fussy but they are VERY uncomfortable!!! I only had one good sleep out of the 7 days we were there. I requested a double bed when booking the holiday, but had twin which isn't great as a couple.

The food was pretty good, everything you'd expect - bed and breakfast is definitely the best option as the local food is amazing. Captains Table is a great place to eat.

The pool is fab, really lovely area. There is also a small gym and a games room with table tennis, only they charge 5€ to use it! One other thing that really disappointed me was a charge of 10€ to use the safe in the room, with a deposit of 25€! I just don't feel you should pay for safety when it's already located in the room.

The staff were again just ok, pleasant enough but nothing special to really note.

Overall the hotel is just ok, we got a good last minute deal and for what we paid I was happy. I definitely will be visiting alvor again as it is a lovely place but I wouldn't stay at Yellow Alvor and as fussy as it seems the beds are probably the mean reason!

Also - anyone that does book to go to Alvor, you must go on an 'Alvor boat trip'! We went on a sunset cruise which has champagne and strawberrys and some food on board. It really was fantastic. There are also cruises during the day, for families, couples, anyone really!!

I hope my review helps anyone that is thinking of going to Alvor, staying at Yellow Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Yellow Alvor hotel was quiet when we stayed in July 2012 - in a good way. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The pool and gardens are superb. Stay bed and breakfast because the local restaurants are excellent - half a mile towards town there is a fabulous grill restaurant serving fish and chicken, and an intalian resturant opposite (Al Capone) - (the hotel food is mediocre). Beware, there is no free shuttle bus service into town/beach (this stopped 18 months ago) and it is a good 15 minute walk to town (uphill on the way back) but we enjoyed the walk. There is a supermarket on the way to town - hidden behind a new development - look for the Pingu Dolce signs. Information for your stay will be handed to you on check-in - there is no information in the rooms. Staff morale is low, which is a pity.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool/garden view (well worth it) - all rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsRWirral_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.9 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 26 in Alvor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luna Clube Brisamar
Luna Clube Brisamar
#19 of 26 in Alvor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
1.0 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
1.0 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Alvor Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Alvor Garden

Property: Yellow Alvor Garden
Address: Rua da Dourada, Alvor, Portimao 8500-034, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yellow Alvor Garden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive: 08:00 to 10:30 - Breakfast Buffet in the Restaurant 10:30 to 18:30 - Soft Drinks (orange, pineapple, coke, soda and ice tea) and Local Alcoholic Drinks (Vodka, Gin, Brandy, house wine and beer) in the Pool bar 11:00 to 12:00 - Snacks (burger, hotdog, ham/cheese sandwich, tuna sandwich, chicken sandwich and chips) in the Pool bar 11:00 to 12:00 - Ice Creams (chocolate with vanilla and strawberry with cream) 12:30 to 14:30 - Lunch Buffet at the Restaurant (include water, softdrinks, national beer, house wine and coffee/tea) 16:00 to 17:00 - Snacks (burger, hotdog, ham/cheese sandwich, tuna sandwich, chicken sandwich and chips) in the Pool bar 16:00 to 17:00 - Ice Creams (chocolate with vanilla and strawberry with cream) 18:30 to 21:30 - Dinner Buffet at the Restaurant (include water, softdrinks, national beer, house wine and coffee/tea) 19:00 to 24:00 - Local Alcoholic Drinks (whisky, brandy, gin, vodka, almond liqueur, whisky liqueur, coffee liqueur, white port, red port and daily cocktail), house wine, national nacional beer and softdrinks at the Lobby bar 22:00 to 24:00 - Local Alcoholic Drinks (whisky, brandy, gin, vodka, almond liqueur, whisky liqueur, coffee liqueur, white port, red Port and daily cocktail), house wine, national beer and softdrinks at the Terrace bar Daily Animation: Entertainment Program for children during the day and live music at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Yellow Alvor Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellow Hotel Alvor
Iberotel Alvor
Alvor Yellow Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing