We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money. Clean, nice, friendly hotel with beautiful gardens and modern look.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yellow Alvor Garden
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money. Clean, nice, friendly hotel with beautiful gardens and modern look.”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We are a couple in our mid 20s and were looking for a quick 10 day getaway. Having stayed at top hotels all over the world, my review is compared against those
I was a bit precautious at first due to some negative reviews, however;

HOTEL - Medium sized, very modern looking, well maintained with friendly, helpful staff. The rooms were large enough and only complaint would be that they all seemed to be twin rooms. The garderns and pool area were lovely.

FOOD - We only went on a B&B basis, but must say the food was catering enough for any appetite.

STAFF - Staff were very helpful and the only one thing which I was annoyed about was having to put a €20 deposit for each beach towel. However we could change them as often as we liked and had a hassle free return on the last day.

PROS
- Clean and modern
- Nice quiet location, 15 mins from Alvor
- Very good value for money
- Freindly staff
- Adequate facilities
- Lovely pool area

Cons
- Slightly outside Alvor, so €4 taxi each way if not up for a walk or have a hire car
- Eggs were never cooked well! lol
- Entertainment seemed very limited although it seemed popular.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank welshmanadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    206
    185
    91
    72
See reviews for
239
290
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We booked the hotel through Easy Jet Holidays...thought our original check-in time was 3.00, the hotel staff was very helpful after knowing that we travelled with a 9 months baby and got the room ready for us before 12.00. The stay, I must admit was a pleasant one. We stayed on B & B basis. The breafast was basic, but good ( dont except a gourmet breakfast). The hotel is family friendly and lots of guests were with young ones.

The even allowed for a late check-out, since we had a young one.

The best part of the hotel is the staff's.. they cleaned the room everyday, replacing the towels and clearing out the bins. The pool is very adequate and children pool is also quite good. Alvor Village/Beach/Harbour is just 10 minutes stroll, with lots of bar and cafes/restaruants. The city of portimao and pria de rocha ( fabulous beach..dont miss) is not too far ( £10 by taxi).

All in all, we had a lovely holiday, but is it a four star ?? i am not sure..I would give 3 star, because there was no Kettle or Hair Dryer or Iron Box in the room. The Fridge is not stocked as mentioned in their brochure and the Shuttle Bus is not provided as well ( though they said it was broken down and agreed to pay for return trips to Alvor Village/ Beach, but the catch is one need to return by 6 p.m and claim the money on the same day by submitting a taxi receipt...which i found quite tedious). In addition, if you need to use the sauna /steam room you need pay 2 euros per hour, which i found bit odd.

Room Tip: Please ask for Pool View..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rands2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Just back from a week Bed and Breakfast at the Yellow Alvor. We had a room overlooking the pool and Gardens, which were beautifully maintained. Plenty of sunbeds available. The rooms were very clean and were well equipped with hairdrier, TV, fridge and a small balcony. The barman, reception and restaurant staff were friendly. The hotel is only a 15 minute walk to the centre of Alvor, and a bit further to the beach. This was fine for us. The only let down was the quality of the food at breakfast, although we always found something.
This was our first time in Alvor and we loved it. There is a new boardwalk which takes you along the estuary to the headland. We walked back along the beach. It was glorious. Another day we went by boat up to Silves, which was a lovely little trip. We were picked up by car in Alvor and taken to Portimao to get the boat. We went up the river to Silves. Lots of wildlife to see including egrets herons turtles and storks. We then had an hour in Silves and back again, with wine soft drinks etc on the boat. For E20 per person, I thought this was good value.
There are plenty of restaurants/cafes/bars in Alvor, lots of which specialise in Portugese food and fish. Lovely. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MaryDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Yellow Alvor Gardens Hotel

This hotel is set in beautiful grounds with ponds full of fish and some turtles, all of whom enjoy feeding time!!
The staff here are all wonderful. There are not many staff in the restaurant and bars but they certainly work very hard when the customers are there. During our ten day stay here there were no more than 40 guests in the hotel at any one time until the last weekend when it was Portugal’s national bank holiday. The hotel filled up for the weekend but the staff told us they would all be gone again on Monday morning! At any one time we were by the pool by ourselves, in the restaurant by ourselves and in the bar by ourselves! Which is nice for some time but not all the time!!

The all inclusive option doesn’t seem to have been fully embraced by the hotel. Being told that you cannot have a spirit and mixer until 8.00pm is almost like taking your tee-total mother on holiday with you! What do you want a drink before 8 o’clock for!???!! Very regimented on the rest of the AI also. Snacks available between 11.am and 12pm, and again between 3pm and 4pm! Ice creams available between 12pm and 1pm and again between 4pm and 5pm. So don’t get hungry or need cooling down at any other times, you may be disappointed!! These snacks and ice creams were supposed to be available from the poolside bar. That was if the staff were available to open the bar and keep it open longer than 4.00pm. The staff also had to help out at lunchtime in the restaurant some days so you were left waiting to be served at the bar for 15 or 20 minutes at a time.

The pool area itself was well maintained, especially around 2.00pm most days when the guy on the sit on mower decided to break the silence by cutting the grass…….again! Not many sunbeds, but again at that time it wasn’t a problem.

The evening/lobby bar was small but considering the number of guests it never got full! Jose, the barman, took at least 24 hours to get to know, but once you made the effort so did he. Then he treated you like old friends and kept you entertained and lubricated. (Try the black Russian Cocktail, beautiful and alcoholic!!)

The restaurant was a good size, but when the hotel was full everyone struggled with just one juice machine and two hot drinks machines, all tucked in the one area of the dining room. We managed but that was only because the crowds were there for two days!! I wouldn’t like to have to fight for coffee and juice every morning. There was always something edible, although the choice was limited but then again so was the number of guests. We managed to put on weight so it couldn’t have been bad!!

The rooms were a decent size, but could do with a little bit of redecoration and updated furniture. Clean towels every day!!! Amazing! The maids were also very pleasant.

Alvor itself is beautiful and is a 20 minute stroll, or a 10 minute power walk. The beach is lovely and clean and if you walk along it far enough you find the caves, and the scenary is stunning.

I would recommend this hotel, but not as all inclusive. One of the reception staff did mention that he didn’t think the hotel would be offering this option next year anyway, as both the guests and the hotel was struggling to cope with it. Great hotel, great staff, great location.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank anngeraghty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Just returned from a week at the Yellow Alvor. We got a fantastic price for this hotel with breakfast included and to be honest did not expect too much due to this. We loved the hotel!. The rooms were a little bit tired but very clean and the air con was great. The rooms were also cleaned to a high standard every day. We had a room facing the pool and the view was wonderful , the grounds of the hotel are really beautiful. It's about a 15 minute walk to the village but for us this was not a problem and we walked both ways every night and most days. You can get a courtesy bus if required. This was our first time to Alvor and will not be our last. A wonderful place with fabulous restaurants and a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We enjoyed our one week holiday in Alvor the weather was wonderful.The downside side to the holiday was the hotel. it is not 4 star, i am struggling to rate it a 3 star. We were greeted by an uninterested receptionist who spoke very little.english.When we arrived at our room which was situated on the ground floor with the balcony facing the carpark
which was noisy day and night with passing cars and mini bus.
We asked to have the room changed on arrival but to no avail, I found it difficult to understand as the hotel was basically empty of guests.
I thought the staff were ignorant and rude and seemed very unaprochable when asking for information.We stayed half board the food in the hotel left a lot to be desired it was always cold and not very imaginative.
We would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank collins_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alvor hotels

preston
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We returned yesterday from a short 4 night break to Alvor and stayed at the Yellow Alvor on a B&B basis booked through hotels4u. We had a lovely room (202) on the top floor overlooking the beautiful gardens and pool area. There is only a small balcony but ideal for just sitting and admiring the view and whilst they don't get a lot of sun I would much prefer this view than the other side of the hotel which overlooks the car park and tennis courts. The room was cleaned and towels changed every day and there is a small but adequate fridge in the room,ideal for keeping a few drinks in. There is a mini bar service on request and also a tv which we did not use. There are safes provided in the rooms but at an additional charge which again we did not use. The air conditioning worked very well (set at 17C) and was quiet and did the job. Whilst the bathroom was quite small the shower was very powerful and no issues with hot water on demand and a faulty halogen light was fixed without any request made at reception. I think one of the maids must have reported it. The breakfast was continental style and whilst I have had better it was more than adequate for us and is served in a lovely spacious dining area overlooking the gardens and pools. The grounds and pool were well tended every day and the hotel was very quiet even though it was half term week in UK. A lovely place to relax in beautiful surroundings. The pool bar was advertised as being open between 11am and 6pm but noticed the staff were shutting up shop early on a couple of occasions but this was probably due to the fact that there were not many guests. The hotel is on the outskirts of Alvor town but we had hired a car from the airport so it was not really an issue for us. It would take a good half hour to walk to the beach from the hotel and I did not see any sign of the shuttle bus service offered. The beach at Alvor is lovely with beautiful pale golden sand. The cost for sunbeds/umbrellas is either 7 Euros for half a day or 10 Euros for a full day (2 beds, 1 umbrella). We had a very nice light lunch at Retsinga Restaurant on the beach and it was clear that the staff were very attentive and the food we had was very nice.There is a good range of restaurants to eat in and around Alvor and as we like trying out different restaurants we did not dine at the hotel in the evenings. The bar area was very quiet on our return in the evenings to the hotel and maybe if there had been any guests in it we may have stopped for a drink. Reception staff on arrival and departure very pleasant. The gentleman on arrival had been very helpful over the telephone in providing us with directions to the hotel as our satnav was struggling to locate it!! I had absolutely no complaints at all with our stay here and would recommend it as it is very good value for money. It would be nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room but had taken a travel kettle with me as other reviewers had highlighted this and was no real hardship given the price we paid. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rachel2390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.2 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
475 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
1.1 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luna Clube Brisamar
Luna Clube Brisamar
#22 of 24 in Alvor
457 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.9 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 24 in Alvor
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Alvor Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Alvor Garden

Property: Yellow Alvor Garden
Address: Rua da Dourada, Alvor, Portimao 8500-034, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellow Alvor Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive: 08:00 to 10:30 - Breakfast Buffet in the Restaurant 10:30 to 18:30 - Soft Drinks (orange, pineapple, coke, soda and ice tea) and Local Alcoholic Drinks (Vodka, Gin, Brandy, house wine and beer) in the Pool bar 11:00 to 12:00 - Snacks (burger, hotdog, ham/cheese sandwich, tuna sandwich, chicken sandwich and chips) in the Pool bar 11:00 to 12:00 - Ice Creams (chocolate with vanilla and strawberry with cream) 12:30 to 14:30 - Lunch Buffet at the Restaurant (include water, softdrinks, national beer, house wine and coffee/tea) 16:00 to 17:00 - Snacks (burger, hotdog, ham/cheese sandwich, tuna sandwich, chicken sandwich and chips) in the Pool bar 16:00 to 17:00 - Ice Creams (chocolate with vanilla and strawberry with cream) 18:30 to 21:30 - Dinner Buffet at the Restaurant (include water, softdrinks, national beer, house wine and coffee/tea) 19:00 to 24:00 - Local Alcoholic Drinks (whisky, brandy, gin, vodka, almond liqueur, whisky liqueur, coffee liqueur, white port, red port and daily cocktail), house wine, national nacional beer and softdrinks at the Lobby bar 22:00 to 24:00 - Local Alcoholic Drinks (whisky, brandy, gin, vodka, almond liqueur, whisky liqueur, coffee liqueur, white port, red Port and daily cocktail), house wine, national beer and softdrinks at the Terrace bar Daily Animation: Entertainment Program for children during the day and live music at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yellow Alvor Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellow Hotel Alvor
Iberotel Alvor
Alvor Yellow Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing