We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cultural experience”

Restaurante Navegador
Ranked #68 of 155 Restaurants in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $49
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant opened in September 2011. We offer the tastes of the Algarve, fish, seafood and meat. Entertainment is usual each evening in the summer, and on selected nights during the winter and early spring. We have a wonderful view of the harbour whether you dine upstairs or downstairs. Visit us for a leisurely drink. If you would like a function we can seat more then 200 guests. Find more information on our web-site.
Rothesay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A cultural experience”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Our group booked for one of the evenings that had live traditional Portuguese music. The entertainment was a lovely singer and special guest singers accompanied by gentlemen on mandolin and guitar. The restaurant itself was cozy and inviting with red linen tablecloths and candles that really set the mood. The service was paramount. Everyone enjoyed their meals. I had the fish soup to start with. My wife had bread which was served with a tray of olives, carrots, sharp cheese and sardine paste. People in the group ordered the lamb chops and mint sauce, fish kabobs, salmon steaks and a lovely steaming cataplana (fish or seafood casserole) for two served in a large copper pot. My wife and I enjoyed a delicious pitcher of white sangria (you may want to remove the cinnamon stick). We were all so full by then that no one ordered dessert so unfortunately I have no info about those. This is definitely a place to go if you are looking for a great evening of Portuguese food and entertainment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mockingbird123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Friend at Restaurante Navegador, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Google Translation
Obrigado por sua revisão e bela descrição de O Navegador. Tentamos oferecer um bom entretenimento, assim como boa comida e serviço. Eu soa como se você jantou em uma de nossas noites de fado, se você visitar Alvor novamente talvez você pode pegar nossa noite Jazz (domingos). Obrigado, contra, para sua revisão

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    106
    40
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ferrière-Larçon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

It is always a pleasure to visit the Navegador, whether for a long leisurely lunch sitting outside in the sunshine with a spectacular view and watching the world go by or enjoying the trad jazz inside last Sunday. The staff are always welcoming and helpful, the food is good and plentiful with a wide range of fish and meat dishes (the prawn curry looks fantastic and tastes even better) and the prices reasonable. It is difficult to visit Alvor and eat elsewhere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank innisv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Friend at Restaurante Navegador, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for our first review of March. Avery nice way to begin the month.
Our staff, as well as food often get good reviews, Have you ever visited on one of our music nights?
Thanks again,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvor
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our new favourite”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just love sitting here overlooking the harbour and enjoying a coffee, whilst listening to Pavarotti and Rooney. Enjoyed an excellent lunch the other day, service friendly, atmosphere relaxed.I think it must be one of the best watering holes in Alvor, having visited most places over the years, and I hope the management can make a go of it for the foreseeable future.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alvorina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Friend at Restaurante Navegador, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have probably seen each other around Alvor. I agree that Navegador is ideal for a relaxing at lunch time over a drinks, snacks or something more substantial. We look forward to your future visits,

David M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helston
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“sweet and friendly”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

we stopped here for afternoon tea, we had a table outside and watched the world go by and listened to the locals. we thought the service was great, really friendly and lovely. watched the sunset there, the staff did not rush us or push us to order more, lovely time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pippim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Friend at Restaurante Navegador, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
It was good read your feelings about the service and the mention of our view across the harbour we hope you we continue to have good experiences wherever you visit.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fado, friends and food”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

For a real taste of Portugal, visit this friendly restaurant on Alvor's waterfront. A range of seafood and meat dishes await you, together with an extensive wine list. Fridays feature traditional Fado singing. When we were there, some of the singer's friends dropped in to offer their renditions of favourite songs. A most enjoyable evening!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulaC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Friend at Restaurante Navegador, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind comments Paula. The atmosphere on our music evenings can really turn a good evening into a great one. We always hope to see our visitors again, but the world is a big place. Have a very good year.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Navegador also viewed

 

Been to Restaurante Navegador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing