We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An beautiful beach and a very welcoming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Alvor Praia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Alvor Praia
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An beautiful beach and a very welcoming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stunning location, beautiful gardens, good size rooms, excellent deep tissue and rebalancing massage, very friendly staff, smashing breakfast.........planned to stay a night, stayed two and enjoyed every minute...

Room Tip: Go for Beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    344
    126
    40
    27
See reviews for
250
464
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here half-term week. The Pestana Alvor represents a good quality hotel in a great location over-looking manicured gardens and a fantastic stretch of beach and cliffs. The location may prove isolated if you don't hire a car or take up the (expensive) tours and the local town is walkable but more likely a taxi ride away. In keeping with other comments it lacks some refinement that would make it a fully fledged 5-Star hotel, however is has all the facilities you'd expect. We found the accommodation to be very comfortable and fitted out with all the usual stuff (i.e. hairdryer,min-bar, safe, etc.,) but bring your own tea-making if that's what you expect. The upper floors offer the best view. The rooms and public areas were spotlessly clean. The staff are very attentive and polite. The bar was quite expensive, but if your expecting cheap booze then perhaps a 5-Star hotel isn't for you as they all charge similar prices. Whilst there was a relatively small range of food to choose from, what was on offer was good quality, well-cooked and well presented. You're picky if you can't find something to eat. Daily breakfast accompanied by a pianist was a nice touch and much appreciated. There seemed to be a good choice or amenities locally (i.e. tennis, golf, etc) and an indoor and outdoor pool. Don't ignore the beach though! We explored the Algarve fairly extensively every day by car and the south-west coast and main towns are a good day out. Would have no hesitation in returning.

Room Tip: Choose the upper floors on the sea side just for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Due to circumstances this year we had to book our holiday late and could not get a sea view room at the hotel we had visited before so chose this one. What an excellent choice, the room was large and comfy and had a large balcony. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was very good and every evening there was something different on the outside BBQ with plenty of other choices inside.Lots of tables outside which we loved - no point in having excellent views and not making the most of them, there was also a pianist playing at breakfast which was really nice. The beach is very clean with beach bars and the drinks are cheaper than the hotel so it it worth a walk. The indoor pool closed for a couple of days when we were there for refurbishment but when it was reopened there were loose tiles and it had not been cleaned very well, that was the only downside but the outdoor pool was large so this was not a problem for us.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view, it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Austin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at Alvor Praia on a number of occasions over the last 5 years I have noticed a steady decline.

It's important to note if you're used to staying in 5 star hotels (with rooms, service and amenities to match) this does not fit the bill..

We paid approx £100 per night (which was for an out of season stay in October) for a sea view deluxe room, which apart from the view was not that good value for money compared to other hotels for which if you paid a little extra would notice a big difference in quality!

The room was fairly small and simply dated and tired throughout. With single Beds pushed together to make a double, bathroom tiling and amenities no better than 3 star quality...

And as for the breakfast... Poor quality produce used throughout the buffet. Overtime it appears they have cut back to save money and it was telling.. I actually looked around the buffet on our first morning with disappointment as I never remembered it being this bad!

We never eat at the hotel in the evenings in Alvor so cannot comment

The Spa / pool facilities again tired although the Sauna was pretty decent..

Overall, this hotel now reminds me of its sister hotel Delfim on an average day and probably had happier memories of staying there than the disappointment of Alvor Praia!

Having spoken to a Rep it is clearly apparent that the Pestana group haven't got any competition in Alvor and I think the complacency shows I wonder how long they will go without renovating their hotels!! if a hilton or another group ever get planning permission to build in the area than they would be in trouble.

Overall, if you get a good deal on the room rate then it's workable but bear in mind this hotel is 4-star at its absolute best...

The one saving grace are the staff and they are very courteous and go out of their way to help...!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ToptravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had stayed here seven previously and were looking forward to our visit to Alvor. The hotel is located at the far end of Alvor directly overlooking the beach. You can either walk down the steps or take the lift to the section of beach owned by the Pestana Alvor Praia. Our room had a wonderful sea view and large balcony and was very clean but in need of some updating. In general most of the hotel now needs updating especially the outdoor pool, indoor pool, breakfast area and bar areas. Be warned that if you decide to sit outside for breakfast there are lots of wasps around and they were extremely irritating. Breakfast was busy and there was a short wait for a table most days but food was plentiful with a good choice and lots of it. This is not a five star hotel in my opinion which is a shame because the location is ideal for a relaxing holiday. You can take a taxi into Alvor for around 4 - 5 euros, cheaper than car hire or as we did most evenings walk one way and taxi back. There are a few restaurants nearby on the beach or a short walk away, O Canico which is cut into the cliff, recommended for couples in the evening to eat or drink in the bar area overlooking the sea. During the day there are beach bars for lunch. The entertainment is non existent which does not bother us too much as we tend to eat out in the evenings but for older guests this could be a problem.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms on a higher floor to make the most if the wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaspar100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We actually stayed in one of the ground floor apartments overlooking the gardens and the sea, so no complaints about the view. The location also is fantastic, it's built as near to the beach as you could get and if you don't like the beach there is a lovely pool (if you like it cold- probably the sea is warmer!) Others have commented about the food and the drink prices, we did not eat at the hotel (except for one breakfast - very good kept us going all day) However on the last day we found a bottle of water from the bar cost about 3X what we had been charged in the town. Alvor has a lively centre but not commercialised like so many other destinations. One problem with this Hotel is the walk into the town - it takes about 20-30 minutes and we ended up in a taxi each night (4to5 euros). My main criticism about the hotel, or at least our room: it was in need of refurbishment. The first thing I noticed was the old cathode ray TV Even our two star hotel last year had a decent flat screen TV. I know you don't go to Portugal to watch television but things like that give a bad first impression and a perception of "cheapness" - so you start looking for other problems (e.g. Old fridge frosted up after 3 days - door did not close properly).. Luckily there were not many issues! Although a bit dated the room was cleaned well every day and we found the staff friendly and helpful. Regrettably I could not award a 5* rating because of the lack of modern fixtures: it is a nice hotel but not as nice as other 5* hotels I have stayed in over the years.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BPM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

It was our first visit to the Algarve and indeed to Portugal, and we were not disappointed! We will definitely be returning. We stayed for 1 week from 10th to 17th October and had a lovely time.

The weather was great, the hotel was in a lovely spot so you had the choice of sitting by the pool but also the beach was just a short walk down the steps (or you could take the lift) where the hotel had their own loungers and sun shades. There was also a small indoor pool (if the outside pool was too cold-it was quite cold!). The beaches were amazing,

The walk into Alvor town took about 20-25mins (depending on your pace) although a little dark when walking back at night. Taxis were quite reasonable we were told. Alvor town was lovely, plenty of little shops and loads of places to eat. There are also plenty of opportunities to do some walking if you like to (we do). Claire (our Thomson holiday rep) took us on a walking tour of the local area on our first day-which was very useful to get to know the local area. We did the board walk to Alvor and around the estuary on our own the next day and also inland to upper alvor and back to the hotel-about 9 miles in total. Next day we walked the other way to Vau which was also a nice walk along the coast.

We also took the courtesy bus to Portomao and caught the train to Lagos-a lovely 20 minute train ride. We decided that our last 2 days should be "chill out days" so spent time around the pool and on the beach-lovely to have the choice.

The food at the hotel was great-both breakfast and evening meal. I had read a few comments about the evening food being samey but we didn't find this. The staff were very friendly and the hotel was clean and rooms comfortable. The bathroom may have benefitted from a facelift but clean and functioning. I will agree with other comments that it is more a 4* than a 5* as some parts need a bit of updating. The price of drinks in the hotel are a bit steep but there is so much choice in town, it wasn't a problem.

We would certainly return!

Room Tip: We had a garden view-very peaceful although looking at the sea view rooms, that would have been nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ldeeming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvor
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.4 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
1.2 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 26 in Alvor
3.5 of 5 stars 774 reviews
2.4 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Alvor Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Praia

Property: Pestana Alvor Praia
Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#7 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Alvor Praia 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On top of a cliff overlooking the Três Irmãos beach, this hotel in Alvor is equipped with modern commodities, surrounded with extensive landscape gardens, and has a direct elevator to one of the best beaches in Algarve, with white sands, quiet and clear waters. Guests may choose between the open air salt water pool, or the inner pool, the sauna, the Turkish bath, a massage in the wellness center or enjoying one of the 7 tennis courts and 8 golf courses, available in a 15 km radius. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and satellite TV.At the Almofariz restaurant, you will find typically Portuguese and Mediterranean cuisine, as well as a great variety of theme buffets. The Restaurant has a fantastic view overlooking the garden, which is perfect for the whole family Grilled dishes and international meals can be enjoyed by the pool, followed by a drink at the pool bar. Equipped with the most modern facilities, Pestana Alvor Praia, 5 stars resort in Alvor, is surrounded by 4,5 hectares of green land and is ideal for rest and leisure, offering customers unforgettable moments in a lush environment, perfect for relaxation and rest. With a privileged location overlooking Três Irmãos beach, this hotel in Alvor is located at 1 km from the picturesque Vila do Alvor and its countless commercial and entertainment areas, 5 km from Portimão and 74 km from Faro International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Otel, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Prestigia and Travelocity so you can book your Pestana Alvor Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel Alvor
Pestana Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing