We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Alvor Praia
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I visited this hotel for a week in July. It was better than our expectations. The staff and service was excellent, they really could not do enough for us. The room was a very good size with a huge comfortable bed; we had a room with a sea view which was fabulous. The tv had English channels if that's of help!! The location of the hotel is right on the beach, which is lovely and very clean. We used the sauna a couple of times which was fine. There are lots of places to eat/ drink along the beach. The pool area was very good and clean overlooking the sea. The breakfast was AMAZING!!! So much choice, including champagne and a waffle stand (yum yum!). The harbour with the restaurants and bars is about a 15 minute walk away, or a short taxi ride (we walked there and got a taxi home). Overall, a really wonderful stay here.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view room, the view is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    409
    151
    50
    34
See reviews for
314
572
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to holiday in Alvor.

We stayed for 2 weeks ( last 2 in August ) and found the Hotel Accommodation, facilities and staff excellent.

We booked bed & breakfast, choosing a standard room with garden view. For 2 adults and an infant we found the room to be plenty adequate, with balcony that was infant friendly & safe( 3rd floor)...

I am sure the sea view rooms are well worth the extra cost.

The breakfast was a buffet with plenty to accommodate all tastes and waists..

We availed for 2 evenings the Hotel buffet dinners, which I thought were very good.

For the remainder we went downtown Alvor where there are plenty of excellent restaurants to enjoy the fabulous Portuguese cuisine.

Restaurants I would recommend:
Restaurant Adega d'Alvor, Restaurant Capacho, Restaurant Portofino( excellent Italian).


It was our first time to visit Portugal and we found in general the Portuguese people to be extremely friendly and helpful.

I would disagree some previous reviews regarding the hotel swimming pool, I found it to be refreshing and plenty warm to swim in. There is also a toddler pool adjacent to main pool which was perfect for us.

The beach was fantastic and for lazy people like myself, only a quick elevator trip away, from the hotel swimming pool. You can also walk down.

The beach sand was lovely and clean, water also perfectly clean and warm, and the hotel have plenty of sun beds which you can relax on. (need to be down early in the morning to get your towel on though).

To be really picky, and the only reason I am giving the Hotel a rating of very good instead of an excellent which it deserves, was the cost of drinks and food at the hotel pool bar. I do understand the Hotel is five star, but not all people have 5 star wallets. I think compared to what you would pay at the adjoining beach restaurants and restaurants downtown, it is a lot more expensive. I would recommend the hotel to address this, as otherwise the hotel would be faultless.

Overall an excellent hotel, pool, beach, town, which we would love to return to...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EuropeanTraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Visited this hotel early Feb. Staff without exception were delightful Room with wonderful sea view was lovely with very comfy king sized bed Restaurant food very good Great to have indoor pool at this time of year - which was main reason we chose this hotel Though weather was lovely and warm sea was NOT!! Will be booking shortly for same time next year

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Really nice hotel particularly liked the lift going down to the beach. The staff are lovely and very helpful. The nicest beach is just a few minutes away. Beautiful buffet breakfast out on balcony overlooking the sea sets you up for a great day.

Room Tip: Sea View every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ybarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Schweiz
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We spent the last two weeks in July for summer vacation there. Favorable points: They have really very nice and helpful reception, service etc. personnel and for breakfast a lovely piano player in the morning. We had suite number 468 and it was like a huge apartment, very nicely furnished and with a beautiful sea view. The pool (oceanwater) was big and nice for swimming Unfavorable points: Interior fitting in restaurant, reception needs to be renovated. Overall hotel side seems to accommodate more people than planned, due to apartments/hotel rooms add-ons. You had to "reserve"/block your sunbeds either at the pool or at the beach before or at 8 AM. Following that, better take breakfast between 8.30 and 9 AM, afterwards you had to wait...Breakfast was comprehensive, but nothing special. Diner was always buffet (a lot), but not tasty, everything tasted similar. Overall not to be recommended in high season.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giraffe0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was with my parents at this hotel for the holidays. It was very relaxing. The staff is very kind and they help you to solve any problems you have. The rooms are very spacious and have spectacular views(I mean those with sea views). The pool is big enough, the water's temperature was ok.At the restaurant, every night there are different types of food. The bar also I liked it very much, the waiters were very kind and the pianist knows a lot of old songs from the 60's until the 90's . If you are a beginner in golf, you should go and have some lessons with the teacher Lionel Altura, a nice guy with a lot of humour and knows golf very good, he is a PGA professional. So we liked this hotel a lot and we would come here again sometime !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raul13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Have been coming to this hotel now for a number of years and yes some parts of it could do with a bit of TLC. However the staff are lovely and in our experience cannot do enough for you . The rooms are lovely and although may not be to everyone's taste when can you ever please everyone. Breakfast is served buffet style and there is everything that you could think of. Fried eggs and omelettes are cooked to order as are the waffles and if you fancy you can have champagne with breakfast every day.

The pool is lovely albeit a little on the cold side and there are fresh beach/pool towels whenever you need them.

In addition there is always the option to buy holiday ownership at this hotel on a self catering basis. These rooms are lovely, bright and airy with plenty of room.

Very relaxing and the views are stunning.

There is no question that we will be going back again and again. Love it

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.5 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
1.1 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 24 in Alvor
956 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Alvor Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Praia

Property: Pestana Alvor Praia
Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#7 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Alvor Praia 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Alvor Praia is a 5-star hotel in Alvor, Algarve. Located on Praia dos Três Irmãos, one of Algarve's best beaches, complete with white sands and tranquil, crystal-clear waters. It's surrounded by expansive gardens, an outdoor swimming pool and an elevator for direct beach access. If you wish to relax, visit the indoor swimming pool with plenty of natural light, the Spa where you can schedule a Magic Spa massage or beauty treatment, the Turkish bath or the gym with the latest equipment. If you wish to enjoy your meals with your family or have a cocktail, the Pestana Alvor Praia offers 2 restaurants and 2 bars. You can even make use of one of the tennis courts or golf courses only 15 km away. The little ones can enjoy mini golf, the playground and Kids Club (available from June until September). All rooms have Wi-Fi and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, TravelUp, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Pestana Alvor Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel Alvor
Pestana Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing