We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Food, Great Staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Alvor Praia
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Overall a great holiday staying in this hotel very relaxing.
I will start with negatives and end on a high.
Bar prices and Pool side Bar prices far too high even with 10% discount card given to Thomson guests. Cleaning of rooms hit and miss, sometimes forgot to leave bath mats, hand towels, and most times room was not cleaned until 5pm. which when returning from the pool and wanting a shower was not ideal. We never had chocolates on pillow each evening like I note some people say they had and beds turned down. Entertainment was terrible nothing but a keyboard player (which I am sorry to say was very amateur) and one night traditional dancers. We are not ones to expect any thing to loud but a decent singer would have done the trick!
The outdoor pool was so cold never went in the whole holiday. It was very quiet in there probably due to temperature.Around pool not cleaned every day some sugar wrapper under our sun bed for at least 5 days! Indoor pool in bad condition missing tiles and water again cold and not very clean looking.
Location about 30 minutes walk to town or 5 Euro with tip in taxi which reception always called for you.
Travel to and from Airport with Thomsons thought with this class hotel would have been better and not via Albefuiera with loads of pick ups (not what the brochure says!) can do it in 45 mins. our trips took both ways double this.

Now for the positives .. Fantastic food (compliments to the Chefs), with brilliant restaurant staff who could never do enough for you. They worked very hard and I would like to thank them all for their hard work and effort. Great holiday rep in Claire from Thomsons she was always very helpful and loved a good old laugh with everyone. Best Rep we have ever had. Great reception staff always helpful and the staff did their best for us and got a room to interconnect on sea view side although room was on ground level and not best view of sea we did get the interconnected room we wanted. (We did request this in January but it was not confirmed until we got there).
Overall a lovely restful holiday and sun beds and umbrellas where always available. But, you did need to get there early for pool side beds.
Would say give it a try especially for food side of it. and If they did a few little adjustments to hotel i.e drink prices, entertainment and indoor pool, it would be perfect.

Room Tip: Sea view high floor for view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

600 - 606 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

the difference between the 5 star alvor praia & other 4 star hotels that i have previously visited is that the pool area is a lot calmer and quieter, the children are better behaved, & there is a lack of lager swilling, football shirt wearing people around. sorry to sound like hyasynth bucket but it is just somthing that i noticed. Very good quality, quite pricy but i would stay here again. get a room facing the sea (they are bigger & have a double bed on the patio). sea facing rooms are even numbers, we stayes in room 548. avoid rooms ending 01 - 09 as they are above the kitchens & there is a smell. the hotel is located on top of a small cliff overlooking the beach, there is a lift down to the beach where there are private sunbeds you can use. there is a large sandy beach & the sea is great for swimming in when the tide is in. turn left & there are loads of coves, caves & little sandy bays. turn right and alvor town is a 30 min walk down the beach (or a 4 euro taxi ride). breakfast is fantastic with waiter service for tea and coffee. you can hear the seagulls on the rocks & see the sea while you eat breakfast(it reminded me of cornwall but warmer & without the rain).

Room Tip: 548, any even numbered room(sea view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gareth y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is very comfortable if somewhat dated . It occupies an excellent location looking over the magnificent sandy beach of Alvor. I had written to the hotel in advance, stating a preference for a room on the top (6th) floor, with a sea view. We were allocated a fantastic room, complete with enormous sun terrace, rather than a closed in balcony which was wonderful. The room was quiet,cool, & extremely comfortable.
The grounds to the hotel are spacious & well managed, & there is plenty of space around the large pool, with the additional benefit of further private space on the beach below.
Catering is "buffet style",with themed dinners each night. That said, after a few days the food became a little monotonous although the quality was good.
Service at the hotel is exemplary, particularly in the bar, & management is very quick to respond to & resolve any problems. The Manager, Angela is a gem!
A word of warning for people expecting a very relaxing & quiet hotel: Alvor is very popular with young British & Irish families, and certainly when we were there at the of June, there were quite a lot of large parties of pre-school children, a number of whom seem to have been given free rein to run around the hotel bar in the evening........
Alvor itself is nothing to write home about. This once fishing village now has more than its share of burger joints, Irish bars & karaoke - there is even a "Gentlemen s" club..hmmm.
On a more positive note, there are some very fine beach bars/restaurants very near the hotel, & the walk along the magnificent boardwalk to the river mouth is worth doing.

Room Tip: most important -pay for the sea view! Ask for a higher floor. Rooms at the back inevitably overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just back from this wonderfull hotel, staff were very nice and helpfull, breakfast with piano in back ground was a highlight and views from the sea facing room was stunning. Would go back in the morning if I could. Alvor beach is one of the best I have visited but if you want to use a hotel bed on the beach be prepared to get up early as there are only 90 or so available. Rented one each day at €6.00 and beach bars were clean and cheap. 20 min walk to shops, but €5 would get you there including tip so no real hasstle. If you can afford to stay here you can afford a taxi if you dont like walking. If you like a beach walk it took me 1 hours and 50 mins to do the full length there and back and was beautiful.

Room Tip: If you get a sea facing 6th floor room there will be no noise from above and the sound of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 77Rugbypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is the last day of our holiday and its been everything I have wanted. The hotel is lovely. Mainly for adults although children come to the hotel I do not feel it is suitable for them and it was much nicer without them! The hotel is set on a beech at the end of Alvor with a beautiful view along the coast, the sand is lovely and there are plenty of places to walk and rest. The hotel has plenty of sun beds on the beech and around the pool. I never go to the pool until late and never reserved a sun bed although for some reason people still do. The hotel room We booked was a standard double, overlooking the pond at the front. Nice clean room With a balcony, mini fridge to store our cold drinks, table and chairs and of course free wi fi! We went to view the sea view rooms and they were lovely, great view extra large bed and room but not sure it's worth the extra. Food was good so much choice and brilliant times to suit. We sat on the veranda most days and watched the world go by. Champagne with breakfast, freshly cooked waffles and eggs, plenty of fresh fruit. Amazing. I would definitely recommend the hotel, but if you want lively nightlife choose one nearer to the town, but this was perfect for us. Thank you to all the staff at the hotel for making our holiday so magical.

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for one week from the 25th july to the 1st of august 2013 so we have just got back it was a lovely hotel the food was great the room was lovely just wished we had booked a sea view our room was on the front overlooking the lake that had koycarp in .The beach was just down a few steps or there was a lift from the pool area the hotel has its own sunbeds on the beach so no charge to pay which was great ! all the staff were very helpful and friendly nothing was any trouble ! The only thing was the bar prices were a bit steep but if you had a card you got 10% off .I would recommend this hotel to couples who just want a relaxing break ! On our last day we had 3hours extra in our room as we were not leaving till 5 oclock there was no charge for this so that was very good .We will definitely go back to this hotel sometime in the future !

Room Tip: I would book a sea view next time !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sammysunshine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for one week during July 2013. We thought the hotel was lovely, great location, lovely pool area and fab food. However, it is a little out of the way of local shops etc but we enjoyed the tranquility of the location.

I am not one to moan on here (unlike many!), however, when we first arrived we were placed in a room which was not as nice as we had expected after looking at the photos online. It started to smell of sewage in the corridor outside the room and the air con was bringing the smell in. Being most annoyed, we complained and demanded a move. We were then moved to a beautiful room which was in the new building at the poolside. It was fabulous! There is clearly a variety of different rooms at the hotel so I guess it is just a matter of luck in which one you are placed!

All in all, we loved the hotel and would return!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sjmackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.5 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pestana Delfim All Inclusive
1.1 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 24 in Alvor
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Alvor Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Praia

Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#7 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range: $84 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Alvor Praia 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Alvor Praia is a 5-star hotel in Alvor, Algarve. Located on Praia dos Três Irmãos, one of Algarve's best beaches, complete with white sands and tranquil, crystal-clear waters. It's surrounded by expansive gardens, an outdoor swimming pool and an elevator for direct beach access. If you wish to relax, visit the indoor swimming pool with plenty of natural light, the Spa where you can schedule a Magic Spa massage or beauty treatment, the Turkish bath or the gym with the latest equipment. If you wish to enjoy your meals with your family or have a cocktail, the Pestana Alvor Praia offers 2 restaurants and 2 bars. You can even make use of one of the tennis courts or golf courses only 15 km away. The little ones can enjoy mini golf, the playground and Kids Club (available from June until September). All rooms have Wi-Fi and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Travelocity so you can book your Pestana Alvor Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel Alvor
Pestana Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing