We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location is excellent but the hotel requires refreshing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Alvor Praia
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

As I said before, the hotel location is perfect but the whole hotel needs upgrading (painting, new furniture, curtains etc). The staff are very friendly and polite but there is too few of them and you feel the hotel is understaffed. The drink prices are very high that makes guests stay away from the bar area (cheapest bottle of rosé is €19 which cost less than €4 in the nearby supermarket). The entertainments were average if not poor :( did not attract guests. During the breakfast a pianist plays some music that goes well with the view from the restaurant. A five star hotel should offer a lot more for the money than we have received.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pumukli2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

617 - 623 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Hotel OK But only 3 star. Garden room OK. Hotel clean. Theme nights in the restaurant were just a slant on the same food. Beach and sea lovely. Now for the part which spoiled the holiday for the majority of the people in the hotel. Drinks 5 times the price of the same drinks in bars in the village. Water 10 times the price. This resulted in nobody frequenting the hotels bars day or night which resulted in no atmosphere. Everyone walking or taking a taxi into the village. Thompson apparently have been complaining to the hotel about this without any success. Hence Thompson called a meeting of all of their guests to discuss any complaints they had and all complained about the same thing. Drinks too expensive and no atmosphere. I and many other I spoke to would never go back to this hotel. I don't feel as if I have been on holiday. Never again.

Room Tip: Don't book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kelvin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Iv stayed here a number of times. It's a stunning hotel, beautiful designs, rooms clean lovely sea views, staff friendly, bus route outside hotel, fantastic spa & small gym.
The food is gorgeous with a lots of choice.
I would definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Onion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I grew up in Miami, so I'm accustomed to beautiful, scenic beaches. But I can still be impressed when I find something special. From our balcony, we had a spectacular view of the beach and the coastline. The beach was excellent: fine sand, clear water, and scenic. ALthough we were in the summer, the beach was not overcrowded.

We liked the proximity of the hotel to the Canico Restaurant. The walk to the restaurant along the beach was delightful.

I can't comment on the the restaurant food because we didn't eat there. As for the drinks, I share the views of fellow reviewers: the drinks are pricey.

The room and the bathroom were clean.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I loved this hotel - it is in a wonderful location on a cliff top overlooking a beautiful beach. The grounds are lovely and very peaceful. The food was very good - excellent choice for breakfast with the option of freshly made waffles and omelettes. There was also a good choice for dinner - I was impressed with the number of fish options available. The pool was nice too, although you had to get there early to get sunbeds in the best locations. I lovd walking on the beach, although you had to be careful of the waves if you went swimming. The drinks at the hotel were not cheap, but in my experience they often aren't. The nightly entertainment was too low key for my taste and it would have been better if the pool bar had been open in the evening. I was not very impressed with Alver village, there was not a lot there and it lacked a certain something. Overall though I was very impressed with the hotel. The staff were excellent - friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just got back from a week at the Alvor Praia staying in a "superior sea view room" with breakfast included. I imagine ten years ago this would have been a spectacular hotel with its stunning views and private beach but sadly now it is a little dated and in need of some attention to detail to justify its 5 star status. The upholstery in our room was badly stained and the balcony rail needed repairing. However, the hotel still has a certain old fashioned charm, with a pianist tinkling away on the baby grand in the morning while you have breakfast on the terrace (yes do beware of the seagulls - I turned away for a second and had my two fried eggs plucked away in a blink of an eye!) On the positive side the salt water pool, the staff and the private beach with adjacent bar and restaurant was a real treat. Yes the alcohol is expensive (almost double the cost of Alvor village) but you are paying for the location which is impressive. Would I go back? Not sure, the Algarve is certainly a beautiful place and there are newer more modern hotels which may be slightly more appealing to certain people.

Room Tip: The newer annex looked very modern with floor to ceiling windows....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DolphinSq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We enjoyed our holiday at the Alvor praia, but we seem to agree with most of the other comments. The food was very good, but the bar prices were very expensive. This in turn resulted in no atmosphere in the bar area, as most people went into town where the prices were more reasonable. As a 5 star hotel, there should be tea and coffee facilities in the rooms, plus the decor in the bathrooms could do with being updated, especially the shower curtains.
The staff were very helpful and would do anything to help at any time.
Beware the seagulls if you are eating outside !!
We would go again to this hotel, so please go you will enjoy it (especially the lovely views and beach)

Room Tip: Sea view is recommended, although we had a garden view but we could still see the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bertybhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.5 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pestana Delfim All Inclusive
0.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
1.1 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 24 in Alvor
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Alvor Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Praia

Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#7 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range: $73 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Alvor Praia 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Alvor Praia is a 5-star hotel in Alvor, Algarve. Located on Praia dos Três Irmãos, one of Algarve's best beaches, complete with white sands and tranquil, crystal-clear waters. It's surrounded by expansive gardens, an outdoor swimming pool and an elevator for direct beach access. If you wish to relax, visit the indoor swimming pool with plenty of natural light, the Spa where you can schedule a Magic Spa massage or beauty treatment, the Turkish bath or the gym with the latest equipment. If you wish to enjoy your meals with your family or have a cocktail, the Pestana Alvor Praia offers 2 restaurants and 2 bars. You can even make use of one of the tennis courts or golf courses only 15 km away. The little ones can enjoy mini golf, the playground and Kids Club (available from June until September). All rooms have Wi-Fi and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Alvor Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel Alvor
Pestana Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing