We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Alvor Praia
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Reeuwijk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Golf holiday”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Very good hotel. Excellent golf courses in the neighbourhood, we did not have food in the hotel but went out on the beach to the various dining spots and had excellent food. Good spa with lovely massages.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenReeuwijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    409
    151
    50
    33
See reviews for
313
572
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, UK
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I enjoyed my stay in early May 2013 at this hotel and would recommend it to others as a good choice. However I agree with some other reviewers on Trip Advisor that it does not warrant five stars. I would give it four.

Check-in was speedy and although I arrived at noon as part of a Thomson Holidays group, I was able to go to my room immediately. It was clean and tidy and was kept like that throughout my stay, although the housekeeping was not perfect and sometimes my room was not attended to until mid-afternoon.

There was a 32 inch TV with approximately 60 channels available in a variety of languages. Unfortunately it was at first very difficult to find British channels because there was no EPG and no other indication of channel identities or locations on the TV or in the room. A printed channel numbers listing should be provided in every room. The English language channels I found were BBC1, Sky News, CNN, Chelsea TV, and Manchester United TV. Bizarrely, ITV was only available in the +1 catch-up version which is an hour after broadcast on the main channel. There was no radio in the room, or radio channels available on the TV. Neither was there a kettle in the room. However, an initial complimentary bottle of water was in the room and so was a fridge in which water or other drinks and food bought elsewhere could be stored.

The bed was very comfortable and two pillows were provided for each side of the double bed. The duvet was very heavy – far too hot for even a moderately warm early May night. The lighting in the room was excellent and enabled me to read with ease anywhere. There were light switches on both sides of the double bed and there were at least two power sockets, one near the bed and the other near the TV. An iron and an ironing board were provided and so was a hair dryer.

Free wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. However it can only be accessed by obtaining a user name and a password from reception. These details had to be input every time I went online, whether it be via personal laptop or on one of the two PCs for general use in the basement, located between the hotel's shop and the eating area for the swimming pools. Even after a break from the laptop, the access details have to be input again. The connection speed was quite fast and I only suffered one short period during my week-long stay at the hotel when the network was down.

Other reviewers have praised the quality and the choice of food for breakfast, which one could either eat in the main restaurant or outside on the terrace if the weather was good enough. After a hearty breakfast I found that I could easily go through until the evening meal without any more to eat. If there was a fault with the food it was with the evening meal which did not match the excellence of breakfast. However almost everyone could surely find something to their liking.

The town of Alvor is about 30 minutes' walk from the hotel and the road is not the best, certainly not after dark. It is also a little steep in places.

The flight home to the UK left at about 10am which meant leaving the hotel at 6.30am. The Thomsons rep failed to tell me to order an early breakfast on the day of departure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1948Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

just back from 11 day stay at this lovely hotel set on a cliff overlooking the beach we booked this holiday through Thomsons may I point out that when checking in at the airport they now even weigh hand luggage and we had to undo our cases and repack items as our hand luggage was over weight it doesn't matter if your bag fits into the size allocation it is now based on weight so beware our flight was on time but the transfer was a nightmare due to the fact that we sat on the coach for over an hour waiting for other passengers from other flights adding to this we were the last drop off so in all we were on the coach longer than on the flight out, on arrival at the hotel we were not disappointed with our room which was lovely with a beautiful sea view.The room was spacious and the maids kept it clean and the bed was changed several times with good quality bedding although the pillows could have been a bit firmer as they seemed to collapse as soon as you put your head down on them the.food was very good with lots of choice and sometimes there was entertainment in the dining room ie; pianist and there was entertainment every evening in the Bar and it was so nice that we did not have to go through the usual Bingo session so often seen in many hotels.The beach is amazing and there is a few beach bars to get snacks or a full dinner if required also in Alvor there are many lovely places to eat and some lively bars.We didn't go on many excursions on this trip but we did venture to Cliff Richards winery.now I must say that our rep Claire did say that there wasn't many takers for this trip but we decided to go. BIG MISTAKE we expected a coach but a minibus with a metal grill across the back picked us up and then on to the winery on our journey the driver and the so called courier/guide did not stop talking so much so that he was not keeping his eye on the road and nearly knocked down an old man on a crossing when we got to the winery we were given a talk on the wines produced there we did not see any wine making in progress just a lot of stainless steel equipment used then on to the wine tasting we were given 4 different wines to taste all in the same glass and then we could buy if we wanted to but sorry Cliff stick to singing ? because your wine is awful well the white is not too bad.Getting back to the hotel I would certainly return and recommend this hotel but not for the younger generation I would say 35 upwards unless you want to just relax and soak up the sun

Room Tip: go for a seaview room if you can don't miss out on the beautiful views all even numbers are sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Booked 11 night holiday at this hotel via Thomson. All expectations met and it's one of our best holidays for some time. The hotel, location and weather all perfect for quality and relaxation. The staff at this hotel were all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble, in fact the Portugese all realise their dependence on tourists and treat visitors accordingly,ie with a welcome and a smile.
Our room had a sea view and was well worth the extra charge. It was well equiped, clean and with very comfortable beds. Whilst we did not use all facilities available everything from mini golf to massage was provided.
The restaurant was all self service. A massive breakfast choice with eggs,omlettes and waffles cooked to order. Dinner again provded a large choice with quality food.

Room Tip: Book a sea view and on 5th or 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

we have stayed at this hotel on many occasions and each time we ask the same question!! why do they not provide a non-smoking area for outdoor diners?!! and also why isn't there a non-smoking area by the pool?!! these simple changes would take this lovely hotel from 'great' to 'brilliant'!! we are booked to go again in a few weeks -who knows -it might have happened!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 324sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I and our two children have just returned today from a really enjoyable stay at this hotel. To start with, don't be fooled into thinking this is a 5 star hotel based on UK hotel standards - it isn't. It may be one of the better hotels in the area but it's probably 3/4 stars based on UK standards.

The hotel itself is in a great position overlooking the beach and so long as you get a sea view (which we did) then you have wonderful views over the gardens to the sea. If not, then you will be overlooking the car park. It is about a 15-20 minute walk to Alvor town or about 4 Euros in a taxi.

Some of the negative reviews on here relating to staff attitude are from a couple of years ago - it's obviously changed, because all staff were really friendly, efficient and caring during our stay this week - you really did feel that they wanted you to have a great stay - receptionists, waiters, porters and management alike. The only things that let the place down are the following:
1. The food is a bit bland (breakfast has a great variety and you can listen to the pianist also). However lunch menu is basic. We only had one evening meal in the hotel which was a hot buffet, it was good value for 56 Euros for two adults and the children were free but I can imagine it may become repetitive every night and not sure if prices would be the same in high season.
2. The drinks at the bar are 5 star prices (but you're not in a 5 star hotel).
3. It needs a lick of paint here and there (e.g. in the indoor pool).
4. It seems to cater for older people rather than families or young couples.
5. Swimming pool is salt water, although I think many are on the Algarve.

To give an example of the bad and good points: On the first day I ordered a hamburger for lunch, which was not hot. To cut a long story short, the meal was taken away, and a replacement came, by which time I had got up to leave and told the waitress I wasn't happy. She was very concerned and said she would get the manager but I said I wasn't bothered. Later that afternoon after we returned to our room, we were sent tea and scones along with a note from the guest services manager. I spoke to her the following day and she was very professional and caring and confirmed they were not charging for the lunch. It was my wife's birthday when we were there and they must have noted it from our booking or passports, because they brought a cake and bottle of sparkling wine to the room!

The room was large, clean and kept well stocked with fresh towels. A turn down service was also done each evening while we were out.
The staff really cared.
The view is great.
The breakfasts were something to look forward to - variety of food and atmosphere.

If the hotel is given a bit of spruce up and the lunch and evening menu's are improved somewhat, then it will be closer to a 4/5 stars. Would I stay again - Yes, the pluses really outweigh the niggles and if you go bed and breakfast, then evening meals can be taken where you want - in the hotel or in Alvor town.

Room Tip: Get a sea view and a larger room - e.g. a corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IanG462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Recently returned from an 11 night half board stay. A Thomson package was far far cheaper than booking direct in low season.

Hotel situated in a stunning but elevated cliff top position above a superb sandy beach which extends some two miles west towards Lagos. Location not an issue as the hotel operates a lift up and down to the beach.

The Pestana Alvor Praia is some 15 to 20 minutes walk from the outskirts of central Alvor. Add an extra 10 minutes to get to the nicer, older part and waterfront. Access can also be made by walking along the beach and veering right along an extensive boardwalk. A taxi from the hotel to town was about 5 Euros but just 3.35 Euros returning from the main taxi rank at the back of town.

The hotel interior was spacious, clean and impressive. The pool area was extensive but a little tired looking. Some of the loungers and umbrellas had seen much better days! No problem getting a sunbed in low season but can see it would be a problem in the height of summer. There is also an indoor pool, spa and gym.

Staff were excellent and only too happy to assist. Angela, the Assistant Manager, who also acted as front of house at most mealtimes, deserves special praise.

Breakfast was excellent with a very good choice of hot and cold choices complimented by plenty of fresh fruit but no bananas ( only at dinner )! Eggs could be cooked to order. Dinner was let down by the poor hot buffet offerings. The salad starters and dessert choices were, like breakfast, excellent. The "hot main course" choices were poor for a hotel claiming to be "5 Star" and more akin to a "3 Star Superior" in Spain or a modest "4 Star" at best. Most evenings were themed but typically no more than three choices from the theme of the day. There were usually a couple of fish options but these, like other hot choices, tended to be lukewarm and tasteless. Vegetable choice was poor and possibly tinned! The texture of the "Parisien" potatoes for example served one evening were not disimilar to Aunt Bessies' frozen roast potatoes, the only difference being they were smaller in size!

Drink prices were extortionate! A one and a half litre of bottled table water was 4.40 Euros at dinner - the same in the local supermarket about 56 cents! Wine was typically up to six times the prices when compared to buying outside. We found some of the cheaper house wines were not always available! Even a local Mateus Rose was 19 Euros, just 3.90 Euros in a shop! The bar was very poorly patronised for the same reason and therefore lacked any atmosphere whatsoever. With lager at nearly Euros 7 a pint many guests opted to drink in the beach bar restaurant immediately below the hotel where drinks were a fraction of the cost.

Aside from the poor "hot" element of the dinner buffet and extortionate drink prices the Pestana Alvor Praia is an excellent choice of hotel but "5 Star" it is not - Thomson Holidays in the UK rate it as "4" which is probably about right. Would have no hesitation in staying again and would highly recommend to relatives and friends but on a bed and breakfast basis - there are plenty of good restaurants at all tastes and budgets both on the beach and in town.

Room Tip: Sea facing for lovely sunsets but garden facing enjoyed good sun rises overlooking very attractive g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mike1367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.5 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
1.1 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 24 in Alvor
953 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Alvor Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Praia

Property: Pestana Alvor Praia
Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#7 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Alvor Praia 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Alvor Praia is a 5-star hotel in Alvor, Algarve. Located on Praia dos Três Irmãos, one of Algarve's best beaches, complete with white sands and tranquil, crystal-clear waters. It's surrounded by expansive gardens, an outdoor swimming pool and an elevator for direct beach access. If you wish to relax, visit the indoor swimming pool with plenty of natural light, the Spa where you can schedule a Magic Spa massage or beauty treatment, the Turkish bath or the gym with the latest equipment. If you wish to enjoy your meals with your family or have a cocktail, the Pestana Alvor Praia offers 2 restaurants and 2 bars. You can even make use of one of the tennis courts or golf courses only 15 km away. The little ones can enjoy mini golf, the playground and Kids Club (available from June until September). All rooms have Wi-Fi and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pestana Alvor Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel Alvor
Pestana Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing