We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A grand beauty, slightly faded, but hugely relaxing and welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Alvor Praia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Alvor Praia
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A grand beauty, slightly faded, but hugely relaxing and welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

After a week of late night research looking for the best combo of value and luxury, we found the Pestana Alvor Praia. Important to us were a broad range of facilities, access to the beach, rooms you won't complain about, and staff that know how to treat you well. We are only 3 days into our weeks stay here and I am very happy to say that we have chosen very well.

We arrived late due to a late flight landing in Faro, and after a speedy check in were met by Angela, the duty manager, at the restaurant who told us not to worry, they would keep the kitchen open long enough for our family of three to eat. Highlights off the buffet were a thick and tasty lasagna, a deeply flavorsome veal osso bucco and a sinfully extensive dessert selection. The local wines served with the meal (inclusive, and kids eat free) were eminently drinkable and we had 1.5 bottles between us over dinner.

The next day proved how sincerely helpful the staff at the hotel were, as our rental car flashed up with various warning lights just as we were rushing out to an appointment in Sagres with friends. Carlos not only did his best to diagnose the problem but also offered straightaway to manage the booking of a taxi, to speak to the Hertz rental offices, and then wait for the local garage to show up, all of which allowed us to let us get on with our day with the minimal fuss.

We are already planning occasions we might like to come back, perhaps even for a long weekend in May (although I doubt we will get the bargain prices we got for flights and the room on ba.com as we did for this one).

In terms of specifics, we were given a room with a sheltered balcony on the 6th floor overlooking the crashing waves (watch out, it is an amber-rated beach as the bay is immensely wide and the sea can get intimidating) on the beach that looks like its 3 miles long to the mouth of the river. The camp bed for the boy was set up alongside the twin beds we had, with lots of elbow room left over for 2 armchairs and luggage. The pool is clean and well kept, the gardens fully landscaped and perfect for a post breakfast stroll, with a mini pitch and putt attached, and tennis courts galore with a dedicated pro (we will be taking lessons later this week and may report back on that).

The only reason we have not given it the full 5 stars is that the gym facilities are very tired, literally held together with duct tape, and machines at least 10 years out of date. It would take maybe an investment of about 5000 to bring in some better free weights and machines, perhaps in good second hand condition, to fix this and I hope they do as the set up is perfect, looking onto the indoor pool on one side and the sea view on the other.

Room Tip: Highest floor has the sundeck style balcony but the wifi signal is week as its furthest from the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    357
    132
    43
    28
See reviews for
275
482
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Pestana Alvor Praia and overall it is the best Pestana hotel in Alvor. We have stayed at the Dom Joao II for the last 3 years, so we thought we would treat ourselves and go 5*.
On arrival we were met by helpful welcoming staff, (as they all seem to be) and quickly checked in with minimum fuss, then to our rooms.
The room size is bigger than the Dom Joao II, and the bathroom was well appointed as standard bathroom, but the Dom Joao II has awesome showers.
The Bar is better than the DJII , with plenty of comortable seats and the beer tastes better. The entertainment was good and the bar was relaxing.
The Breakfast was as good and plentiful as the DJII with the added bonus of having eggs and waffles cooked to order.
There is a spa at the hotel and it seemed like there were groups of women enjoyin spa breaks and hardly any golfers as they probably choose to stay at the 4* DJII.
There is access to the beach directly from the hotel and a large sun terrace if you can't make it that far.
I would definately consider the Pestana Alvor Praia as a destinationfor a group, but if there were just 2 of you it may seem a bit quiet.

Room Tip: You have a choice of Garden or Sea rooms, If you like to sit on a balcony and sunbathe go for a seav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank broadsword02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Me and my hubby loved this hotel the room was nice and the views were great we like it so much that we have booked to go back in September.for two weeks this year can't wait the beach is lovely and the staff are very helpful if you need anything all I can say is that September can't come quick enough

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maramaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We are a retired couple who had a week at the Alvor Praia on a golf break in March 2013. The weather really was poor all week, so the hotel was seriously under pressure to perform from our point of view or our week would have easily become a disaster.

The location is terrific. Right at the end of the beach effectively dominating two very private coves among the rock formations, but retaining the ability to walk along the beach and around Alvor itself along its many boardwalks.

The decor is very traditional and conservative, yet quite attractive in its own way with an impressive spiral staircase running down from floor 2 (main entrance) to floor 0 where the pools, gym and sportsbar are located.

Our rooms (we had 2 - see below) were spacious and spotless. Balconies were large with breathtaking views down the beach and across the bay to Lagos.

We cannot speak highly enough of the hotel staff and the quality of service. This was true of everyone no matter where we went in the hotel from front desk to the domestic staff. Being on a golf break we ate the buffet meals all week. Breakfast was excellent with everything you would expect. Dinner was a little more variable with variety depending on how many were in the hotel, but quality still deserving of recommendation.

During our stay the front desk was a victim of its own desire to please. We had been upgraded into a superior sea view twin room, only to find that a couple with a young family had moved into the room next door. Hardly the best neighbours for a couple of retirees. They were not terribly intrusive but sufficiently so late at night and early morning. I approached the front desk and we were relocated immediately onto the top floor. No effort on our part and no fuss. They even found a trouser belt that we thought that we had lost in the process. Apparently the young family were themselves on an upgrade, delivered to them because the superior rooms were a little larger than the one they had booked and front desk thought that an upgrade might help. Sometimes you can't do right for doing wrong!

Downside? We play golf, we swim and we walk. As a result, we used the indoor pool every day. It is a strange shape for a pool with a mini palm tree in the middle, not at all supportive of those who want to do their 50 lengths a day. I swam in the outdoor pool on 2 days and found it in pristine condition. Top swim, but chilly. Changing rooms were spotless (as is the hotel in general) and it was good to nip out and get under the hot shower.

Given even reasonable weather we can thoroughly recommend this hotel, not only for people like us in their 60s but also for families of all ages.

Room Tip: Sea view essential - pay for the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was my first time staying on a Spa weekend at the Hotel Alvor and my friend and I had a wonderful time, due to the superb services and staff. It's been said before, but I'll say it again - the staff were courteous, smiley and professional, the room was spacious, clean and comfortable and had great views out to sea, the treatments were all fantastic, the indoor pool was warm and appealing, the food was tasty, plentiful and nicely presented... we couldn't fault it! We can't wait to book our next visit. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Verity J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is my second time at the hotel having gone with Fitness Fiesta for a spa weekend (Fitness Fiesta also great by the way). I love everything about the hotel. The location, the facilities are incredible, everyone is so very friendly. All members of staff are engaging, funny, helpful. Always there with a smile and nothing is too difficult. We had a couple of hitches as happens, but all sorted out so effectively and efficiently I would not even call it a complaint. Rooms a little on the small side but with so much to do very little time spent in there (I shared a twin room). The food exceptional with so much choice both breakfast and dinner. I really love the pianist at breakfast, listening to his music with a glass of cava sooo decadent ;-) They have two pools a great outside bar, steam, sauna, gym. There is a courtesy bus into town. I really cant praise this hotel enough - one of the best that I have been to and look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: second time at this hotel. Last year I was on the 6th floor and this year on the 5th. Still had am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JustKeepMoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a fabulous weeks golfing holiday at
the Pestana Alvor Praia Beach and Golf Hotel. The hotel was 5 star and
definitely deserved its rating. We had a great room overlooking a stunning
beach plus a roomy balcony with table and chairs and a built in matressed
bed!( I thoroughly recommend asking for a room upgrade to get this view
although we were given it without asking. ) A bonus was having an empty working fridge which allowed us to enjoy a glass of wine or G&T at any time. Also a good tip would be to take a travel kettle and cups as there are no coffee making facilities. Breakfasts were
sumptuous -largely buffet style but with the added plus point of chef on
hand to cook eggs to order eg any variety of omelettes, fried how you like
them and scrambled. The evening Buffet at Euros 28 seemed, on the face of
it, a little pricey but it included a bottle of wine and coffee - so when
you realise you can have a 4 or 5 course meal comprising a choice of soup, a
salad, a fish course and a main course with potatoes and vegetables followed
by a choice of delicious desserts- it was great value and good quality. W
chose to eat there on 3 of our 7 nights and were never disappointed!.
Always wanting a change from hotel eating, we usually search out local
hostelleries and restaurants. This time we didn't have to look far. Right on
the beach next to the hotel was a magnificent beach bar called "Atlantida"
which served supurb food til late with a reasonably priced wine list with a
very acceptable House wine at Euros 9.50. this place was accessed easily by
a lift next to the hotel swimming pool which accessed the beach and then a
short 80 metre stroll to the beach bar/restaurant. Highly recommended.
The hotel staff were friendly, hard working and very helpful. It happened to
be my birthdaywhile we were there and out of the blue we were presented with
a supurb birthday cake and a bottle of very acceptable. Also on non golfing
days or for those partners who don't play golf there are an indoor and
outdoor swimming pool, beauticians salon and keep fit classes and a gym etc and a wonderful stretch of miles of the Algarve beach for walks on your doorstep.
On the golf front we played Vale de Pinta which has just had the Portuguese
Seniors Open, Gramacho and Silves - all beautifully kept with very fast
greens and with some very scenic holes. All three were in great condition,
Pestana certainly manage their golf as well as their hotels. We played off
the forward tees - yellow tees, manageable for older and higher handicap
golfers but the whites tees provided a challenge even for young guns. We
could have playes Vilasol near Villamoura 55 km away or Alto (designed by
Henry Cotton) virtually on our doorstep in Alvor but chose the 3 we did on
recommendation from friends.
On the siteseeing front we visited Silves, Caldes de Monchique, Lagos, Carveiro , Ferraguda and Alvor - all worth a visit and all relatively unspoiled
Overall a thoroughly enjoyable week. You do need to hire transport Car Hire
or organise golf transfers but all 3 courses were between 25 minutes and half an hours
drive. Alto is only 5 mins away and Vila sol 45 mins.
We booked a great deal through Your Golf Travel who were excellent organisers and will go on using them in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dougmurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvor
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.4 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
1.2 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 26 in Alvor
3.5 of 5 stars 805 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Alvor Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Praia

Property: Pestana Alvor Praia
Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#7 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Alvor Praia 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On top of a cliff overlooking the Três Irmãos beach, this hotel in Alvor is equipped with modern commodities, surrounded with extensive landscape gardens, and has a direct elevator to one of the best beaches in Algarve, with white sands, quiet and clear waters. Guests may choose between the open air salt water pool, or the inner pool, the sauna, the Turkish bath, a massage in the wellness center or enjoying one of the 7 tennis courts and 8 golf courses, available in a 15 km radius. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and satellite TV.At the Almofariz restaurant, you will find typically Portuguese and Mediterranean cuisine, as well as a great variety of theme buffets. The Restaurant has a fantastic view overlooking the garden, which is perfect for the whole family Grilled dishes and international meals can be enjoyed by the pool, followed by a drink at the pool bar. Equipped with the most modern facilities, Pestana Alvor Praia, 5 stars resort in Alvor, is surrounded by 4,5 hectares of green land and is ideal for rest and leisure, offering customers unforgettable moments in a lush environment, perfect for relaxation and rest. With a privileged location overlooking Três Irmãos beach, this hotel in Alvor is located at 1 km from the picturesque Vila do Alvor and its countless commercial and entertainment areas, 5 km from Portimão and 74 km from Faro International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Prestigia, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pestana Alvor Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel Alvor
Pestana Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing