We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Alvor Praia
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice holiday”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

we stayed at the alvor praia in july for 2 weeks we had been transferd heard from pestana dom joa 2 since there were some water work problems in some of the rooms aka our room was one of them so we were transferd hear we were very happy with this transfer we had a hotel room with a sea view nice decent sized room and wonderful view when we woke up the next morning and went down to breakfast we say a piano playing and all of us looked at each other since we had never been to such a fancy hotel staff were lovely and friendly indoor pool was nice and big a shame it wasnt heated and the poolside bar took a long time to serve us so did the main bar although the drinks were super at the main bar and almost every night we went to watch the entertainment wich was a man on either a keyboard or guitar was very good at playing however we cannot afford this hotel since it was just a transfer from dom joa 2 but it was lovely and i cant find anything major to fault although it would have been nice if the indoor pool had been heated

Room Tip: get a room with sea view avoid garden view rooms sea view balconys have 2 chairs and a small sofa ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank farschad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    399
    147
    49
    31
See reviews for
308
554
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We are a group of 12 golfers and booked via Golfkings in Glasgow who as in previous years booked us for the Dom Jao ll in Alvor. The hotel contacted us while makeing final arrangements to ask if we would like to be upgraded to the 5 star sister hotel which we agreed to. We then read some reviews which worried us but nonetheless stayed with the decision and did not regret it one bit.
The hotel is a bit further away but taxis sorted that and costs we not expensive when sharing. The rooms were spacious clean and looked after very well by the house staff. The sunsets from the sea view balconies were beautiful and the beach had a lift which took you down the six floors from the pool area. The layout was great and the sea was great fun and once again brought all us ageing golfers back to being teenagers.
Alvor has the best variety of eating houses I have ever come accross and for around 30euros per head were fed and watered in most places who were glad of the business. The Irish bars were great for a follow up sing song and met many nice people on both sides of the bar.
Gramacho and Vale de Pinta were close together and about half an hour away through Portimao and though a good test we all had decent scores on at least one of the four days on them (twice each). Vila Sol on the other hand was a good bit further and I struggled a bit but that is why I am a 24 handicap. Buggies were available very day thank goodness though some of the younger guys walked. The drivers who ferried us were very entertaining and a great laugh and I think they took new routes every day.
We hope to book again this year and will be happy to stay in either hotel and the benefits of location of the Dom Jao are counterbalanced by the better rooms and luxuries in the hotel Praia.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and we were on the ground floor along from reception which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigBhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Spent 10 days at the pestana praia in late august and enjoyed every minute.it's in a wonderful position right on the beach and everything about this hotel is first class.Really looking forward to a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I visited the hotel in April 2012. On first appearance the hotel grounds were well kept and clean. We was staying in a garden view room which i believe is slightly cheaper. The room was a good size and had a small balcony. The hotel is situated on the beach and is easily accessible by stairs of lift. The beach itself was amazing with huge cliffs and soft sand.
The breakfast was really good and some days there was even a pianist playing while you ate.
Alvor is about a 25 minute walk along the beach or a 5 minute taxi ride.
The only downside to the hotel was there swimming pool was very cold. All in all a great hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Edd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our stay in mid-October. We had a large and very comfortable superior garden view room with two balconies overlooking the garden and fountain. Can see the attractions of sea view, but we were happy with our choice. Slight hiccup when we arrived and found fridge not working, but it was replaced within minutes. We were half-board and after an excellent breakfast didn't need more than a snack at lunchtime. We dined in the hotel every evening and enjoyed the variety of dishes on offer especially the fish that was on the menu every evening. There were plenty of loungers around the pool and on the beach where we relaxed most days. We hade a couple of trips into Alvor, but were mostly content to enjoy the comforts of the hotel and its friendly staff. Only reasons for not giving 5 star rating are lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room and the strange system of getting wifi internet that involved getting free vouchers from reception for 30 minutes connection. Staff always seemed happy to hand out vouchers, but trouble is you have to sign on again every time the voucher time runs out. Can't help feeling it would be simpler just to to provide free internet access throughout the hotel. However, these were minor inconveniences that did not detract from a relaxing holiday in a fine hotel. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Return trip. Again, not disappointed. The hotel is not quite 5 star status in my opinion although, the price of lunch time bar snacks and drinks are certainly in keeping with 5 star rating. That notwithstanding, this hotel provides what my wife and I look for -perfect situation with beautiful beach on doorstep, relaxing ambience at breakfast with excellent buffet selection, verdant hotel gardens, helpful staff & not too many children!

Room Tip: Try for rooms on the higher floors with sea view. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olafthehairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Despite the title of my review...We actually loved the hotel it could most definitely do with an update in decor (I think it was last renovated in 2006) but perfectly pleasant and comfortable, with everything you'd expect from a highly starred hotel. I would say that the 5 star should have been a 4 star but none-the-less a clean hotel with plenty of space and entertainment.

Approx 45 mins taxi ride from Faro airport (65 euros) which was bearable, delivered straight to the door!

Check in was really quick and our luggage was whisked away to the room for us. Smiley receptionists and porters... everything was explained in clear English (as neither of us speak Portuguese!) We were given a map of the hotel along with guidance about events on in hotel and surrounding areas. We visited at the end of season where most things were closed or closing but still nice to be told what was going on.

The rooms - we were upgraded to a sea view room - which was great. the rooms were small but plenty big enough to relax in with a great outdoor terrace/balcony with a day bed on for chilling out in the sunshine (or in our case the rain :O)... but relaxing none-the-less.

The only criticism about the room was that the TV looked like it was from the 70's (but it had plenty of English speaking channels available) and there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room (which was really annoying) - linen was fresh and clean, towels were great, we also had robes to chill in and the room was fresh and cleaned daily. Our Chambermaid was lovely and always smiling!

The breakfast selection was fantastic - pretty much everything you could ever consider to eat at breakfast on hand - eat as much as you like with free flowing tea and coffee. The Juice selection was wide but all seemed be squash rather than fruit-juice but a minor comment really! Freshly made Omelettes of your choice ! Delicious!

Food and drinks in the hotel were great - they have a cocktail of the day which is always interesting to try! Room service food - delicious and quiet reasonably priced!

The Spa / gym area was well maintained - again could do with an upgrade but had everything you needed and as it was so quiet it was pretty much our spa and gym so we could do what ever we needed. Fresh towels, sauna, steam rooms, Jacuzzi (not the warmest but comfortable) outdoor pool was amazing although we didn't get to use it because of the weather.

Sport - Tennis club in the complex - separate to the hotel but great for those looking for a tennis partner or to hire courts. Gym had one of everything you'd need - I would imagine it would get busy in the peak times but for us great. Putting green for baby-golfers and plenty of golf for those who are into the sport (not our thing!). Surfing in the area and a dive school up the road. the beach was lush - just a shame we only had one hot day in the 5 days there to enjoy it!

Right on the beach so the views were amazing.. and they had a James bond-esque lift to the beach!

A real mix of guests from all over the place - lots of golf players, but mixed between couples, families, groups, and a couple of solo travelers from what we could see.

Great beach bars and local restaurants within walk-able distances... a great little place if you aren't looking for mod-cons and funky decor. Not much going on but we were out of season so that was expected. Apparently the first year in 14 years that it had rained in October so just unlucky I guess for us!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - amazing views of the sea and beach much nicer than overlooking the tennis court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trendoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.4 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
1.2 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 24 in Alvor
920 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Alvor Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Praia

Property: Pestana Alvor Praia
Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#7 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Alvor Praia 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On top of a cliff overlooking the Três Irmãos beach, this hotel in Alvor is equipped with modern commodities, surrounded with extensive landscape gardens, and has a direct elevator to one of the best beaches in Algarve, with white sands, quiet and clear waters. Guests may choose between the open air salt water pool, or the inner pool, the sauna, the Turkish bath, a massage in the wellness center or enjoying one of the 7 tennis courts and 8 golf courses, available in a 15 km radius. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and satellite TV.At the Almofariz restaurant, you will find typically Portuguese and Mediterranean cuisine, as well as a great variety of theme buffets. The Restaurant has a fantastic view overlooking the garden, which is perfect for the whole family Grilled dishes and international meals can be enjoyed by the pool, followed by a drink at the pool bar. Equipped with the most modern facilities, Pestana Alvor Praia, 5 stars resort in Alvor, is surrounded by 4,5 hectares of green land and is ideal for rest and leisure, offering customers unforgettable moments in a lush environment, perfect for relaxation and rest. With a privileged location overlooking Três Irmãos beach, this hotel in Alvor is located at 1 km from the picturesque Vila do Alvor and its countless commercial and entertainment areas, 5 km from Portimão and 74 km from Faro International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Pestana Alvor Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel Alvor
Pestana Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing