We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star hotel, with mediocre service and below level of cleanliness.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Alvor Praia
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my girlfriend from 27 – 31 May. We arrived at the hotel at 13.00 on the Sunday and our first impression was a magnificent hotel, with in a great and stunning location. The hotel interior might be a bit dated, but it seems to be well maintained. At check-in we were surprisingly asked if we had arrived at the correct destination, and if we might have mistaken our booking for the neighboring 4 star Pestana Delfim. Show my passport did not help, but after I retrieved the booking confirmation for their website, we were allowed to get a room. This was a somewhat disappointing start; the receptionist seemed at bit hostile and did not excuse the mix-up. We were then given the keys to the room, and promised that the luggage would be brought up immediately. However, the receptionist or the porter must have forgotten our existence since we had to call twice to get the luggage brought up.
We both, thought this opening lack of service to seem a bit strange, but decided to give it some other goes. The room itself (garden view, or parking lot view a bit more accurately) seemed nice enough, spacious with a nice balcony supervising the parking lot. The room seemed clean enough at first sight, and the bed was marvelous, it might easy be top five of the best hotel beds I’ve had, and comparable with far more expensive hotels. Taking a look into the bathroom, also spacious we found the shower curtain to be stained and dirty, however nothing we bothered complaining about. The walls around the bed seemed somewhat unclean as well, with a lot of “strange” stains on it.
During our stay the room was cleaned only twice, and there was not a turndown service, you might expect at some hotels. All hotel bars was operating, but the service still mediocre even though prices quite high.
On the bright side, the breakfast was generally very good, even serving local sparkling wine. The pool area seemed clean and nice, and staff was at hand to give out towels. We did not go for Golf, but we played Tennis twice at the hotels tennis court, a good experience and the tennis staff was polite and generally nice.

If this hotel had an effective housekeeping, a somewhat more service minded reception and porter, and perhaps just gave the little extra in making people feel at home this would have justified a 4 star experience. This being among the most expensive 5 stars alternatives in the Alvor/ Portimao region, I come to expect something outstanding in all areas to justify all five stars. Would I come again? No, I’d rather try a 4 star to see if the service would be more appropriate.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Reisende_Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

747 - 753 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

The Alvor Praia is an excellent hotel with a stunning location.The staff are very friendly and so professional and cannot do enough for you.Our recent stay was for 10 days and each day was spent lazing by the pool in the Algarvian sun.Our suite was spotless and so comfortable.The only problem with our stay was that it passed so quickly.We would certainly stay again and cannot wait for the opportunity.

Room Tip: I would opt for a sea view room,stunning views,well worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The hotel location is excellent. You have the rocky beach on one side and smooth sandy beach on the other. View from superior rooms is fantastic.
The leisure facilities are however significantly limited. Rooms are good. Televisions are from last century. Staff are of diverse grade. Some were extraordinarily frieendly and helpful while some were outright snobbish and unfit for hospitality industry. Food choices are limited especially in terms of international cuisine. Restaurants were inadequately staffed and the head waiter was the least courteous.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_atul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have just spent a week in one of the apartments overlooking the beach. What a fantastic location with picture post card reviews. The room was superb, clean and well equiped and the pool and gardens were lovely. The staff are realy helpfull and the food by the out door pool is just great. There is an indoor pool, gym, suana and spa facilities as well. What more could you ask for. Alvor is just a fantistic little town with good bars, food and things to do. Not a place to go if you are looking for night clubs though.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RIDINGAROUND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We booked four nights with Easyjet Holidays and discovered a lovely hotel with hardly anything to criticise. The hotel is immaculately clean and well-appointed. We had a sea-view bedroom on the fifth floor and a glorious view of the gardens and beach from our balcony. We stayed half board and the breakfasts were excellent. Dinner was very good too, allowing for the usual downsides of a buffet.

The staff were extremely accommodating and could not have been more customer-oriented. The hotel is right above the beautiful beach, with a lift down to the beach itself if you don't want to walk. The outdoor pool is lovely and there is an indoor one as well.

There was a cocktail party one night (which we didn't attend because of other commitments). At breakfast there is live piano music from 9 am and live music every night - very relaxing and nowhere do you get overwhelmed by it..

This isn't really a hotel for children but there were children there and they are welcomed and looked after well.

We will certainly go again. We were going to visit the [best] rooms on the sixth floor but never got round to it.

There are sun loungers for hotel guests on the beach with free towels from the pool bar.

We disagree with the mean-minded reviews opposite: this is a lovely hotel and we had a fabulous time.

The lovely traditional resort of Alvor is very close and there are wonderful little restaurants there if you're staying bed and breakfast.

Beautiful gardens.

Room Tip: Sea view; the higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Firstly, this is a 3 star at a push. Don't be fooled. It is old fashioned and needs modernisation, ugly patterned carpets, Tv not flat screened, old crooner on a keyboard singing abba songs in the bar-if u are a pensioner then maybe this might be your thing but for anyone less than 40 steer clear!!!
I really wished I had seen a realistic review on trip advisor, and I would have been spared this ugly old monstrosity which is why I am writing this so bluntly.
Also food and drink prices in this place are ridiculously expensive for bland mediocre food and not in keeping with the general prices in alvor.
I would never return and would recommend that no one wastes their precious holiday in such a dated over priced place. For the sake of a little balance the breakfast buffet was ok.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank wildoatsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

As a member of a party of 16 golfers who were booked into the 4 star Pestana Joao II which was booked in August last year, we arrived to be told we had got an upgrade. Oh, that's good we all thought! We were to be moved to the 5 star sister hotel Alvor Praia which turned out to have no advantages for us!
It was situated up a hill further away from Alvor which meant to get there we had to take taxis whereas from Joao II it was a walk. Alvor Praia, fr a 5 star is pushing the imagination too far. It is fraying at the edges and if you decided to have the buffet for 44 Euros, you'd need your head examined. The quality was near 2 star and a more realistic price would have been 10 Euros! The rooms we got was above the lounge area where the music permeated through the floor and trying to sleep was difficult to say the least.
Of course we complained and never got a credible excuse. They did move us back to the Joao and gave us complementary buffets for two nights. The only reason which we thought of was that they needed bodies up there as the Praia was pretty empty.
They tried it on with us and it didn't work. So, we were angry that they treated their guests in this way.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Birrymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.5 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pestana Delfim All Inclusive
1.1 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 24 in Alvor
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Alvor Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Praia

Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#7 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range: $84 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Alvor Praia 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Alvor Praia is a 5-star hotel in Alvor, Algarve. Located on Praia dos Três Irmãos, one of Algarve's best beaches, complete with white sands and tranquil, crystal-clear waters. It's surrounded by expansive gardens, an outdoor swimming pool and an elevator for direct beach access. If you wish to relax, visit the indoor swimming pool with plenty of natural light, the Spa where you can schedule a Magic Spa massage or beauty treatment, the Turkish bath or the gym with the latest equipment. If you wish to enjoy your meals with your family or have a cocktail, the Pestana Alvor Praia offers 2 restaurants and 2 bars. You can even make use of one of the tennis courts or golf courses only 15 km away. The little ones can enjoy mini golf, the playground and Kids Club (available from June until September). All rooms have Wi-Fi and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Alvor Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel Alvor
Pestana Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing