We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class”
Review of Caravela

Caravela
Ranked #39 of 154 Restaurants in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
kildare
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is quite formal in comparison to some of the other restaurants we ate in. Ate here on two occasions and both times the food and service was excellent. Would recommend the fish kebab. We also got to peek into the kitchen which looks spotless.

Helpful?
Thank cailinrua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    58
    19
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good Food Quality Service”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Carvella restaurant is situated on a busy corner and is a real eyecatcher as you pass. on the strength of this my wife and I visited and were warmly welcomed and seated by a very attentive waiter. We had a starter with some bread, sardine pate and olives for main course I had the Sea Bass while my wife had the Chicken Piri Piri. The bread and pate was excellent the Seabass was well prepared and beautifly presented, the Chicken Piri Piri was described by my wife as very good, the meal was accompanied by the house white, which was very acceptable. We finished the meal with an Irish coffee which was first class and was made with Irish whisky not Scotch as has been served in other restaurants. We then moved onto the seated area outside and enjoyed a couple of brandies and chatted to other customers who were all complimentry about the quality of the food and service. The bill came to 71.00 Euro we may have which was probably a fair price for our meal. We revisited the restaurant and retested the Irish coffee; I am happy to report that they had maintaind thier standard.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bert14440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best place to eat in the resort by far”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Absolutely beautiful food, very dinner looked amazed with there food! We ate out every night of holiday and we came back for a second visit as no where else compared. The fish was really fresh (I highly recommend the stone bass chargrilled) My boyfriend had the steak on both occasions and loved it. You have try try this place!! Decor, service and food far classier than other restaurants rated higher on trip advisor.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had dinner there twice and lunch once while visiting Alvor in April of this year. All meals were delightful and pleasing to the palate. You are received as part of their family Fransisco and Jorge are always more than accommodating and make sure that your meal is everything you had expected and then some. I would recommend the Cataplana, the Portugese fish and many more. I'm sure you would enjoy just about any choice you make. The house red wine was excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank m4syth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food and Service”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This restaurant was a real eye-opener for us, we had passed it daily last year without trying it. This year we gave it a go and wow! The service in the place is amazing, the two guys who are running the restaurant are extremely attentive and nothing seems too much bother. The food is excellent too, I can recommend the seafood soup which is smooth and tasty, they do a very nice Paella and a fantastic Cataplana. Try their White Sangria too, it is very very good. We liked it so much that we broke our own rule of going to a different restaurant for each meal and went twice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank citizenwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caravela also viewed

 
Alvor, Portimao
Alvor, Portimao
 

Been to Caravela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing