We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Caravela

Caravela
Ranked #32 of 154 Restaurants in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stumbled on this restaurant and what a find, met by a beautiful Belfast girl who set the whole visit off to a great start, food great and really good value we will definitely be back on our next visit

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eiram3212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    57
    18
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing !!!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food and fantastic service . I'm no fish lover but took advice from the very knowledgable waitress and ordered stone bass fillet probably the nicest fish meal I have ever eaten.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALWAYEGG
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a good choice. It is a nice airy restaurant with good food choices. The fish soup is more like a creamy vegetable soup rather than the fish soups you get in the algarve. The food is of a very good standard and the house wine is nice. The portions are also plentiful. The almond/fig tart is very nice and the service is also very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GALWAYEGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“another excellent Alvor restaurant”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife and I both had the special of the day which was stone bass - based on the recommendation of the waitress Rhiannon who was excellent at her job.Not only was the fish superb but you also got free tapas for starters all for E11.95 each.With wine, dessert and 2 lattes the total bill was just over E40 - first class value. Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank n1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“This restaurant just gets better”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Wow! wonderful service, beautiful food, desserts to die for. This restaurant gives the extra mile required these days to make you feel very special, the management and staff are so friendly couldn't ask for more. We've already booked for our next visit in June!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitchener50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caravela also viewed

 
Alvor, Portimao
Alvor, Portimao
 

Been to Caravela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing