We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“yummy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lusitania

Lusitania
Ranked #63 of 147 Restaurants in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

A lovely restaurant. Food is very good. Staff are friendly. The steak and seafood are to die for. The only down side are the tables stacked close together. I would come here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mimi7096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    99
    38
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hidden behind the plants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We visited this restaurant twice whilst on holiday and enjoyed both times .The food was very good with ample portions ,the service was a little slow however ,probably because th restaurant was full both times ,a good indicator i always think .Subduedly decorated and not cafeish we enjoyed our visit

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank antony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very good food, especially the seafood, and with wine it was very good value and definitely will visit again. Excellent service and quick to serve food as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pizza looked good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

There are a lot of restaurants in this street that leads down to the harbour, and we picked the Lusitania for our lunch primarily because the decor was less garish than most of the others, and the seats looked more comfortable. We ate outside, and received good service - but for most of the time we were the only customers, so anything else would have been unforgivable.

As we wanted a light lunch we decided to skip starters but share some garlic bread. The waiter suggested two servings between the four of us, but in practice one would have been ample.

Two of us ordered sardines as a main course. It was a generous serving - six or seven fish accompanied by a traditional tomato salad. However, the sardines hadn't been cleaned and seemed a little undercooked - there was blood around the backbone - and this certainly affected my wife's enjoyment of the meal.

I ordered the fish kebab which was tasty, and the fourth member of our party chose Sea Bass, which seemed to go down well.

Just before we left a couple arrived who ordered a seafood pizza, and it looked very appetising - if we were to eat at the Lusitania again, that's probably what we would order. However we'd be more likely to choose one of the many other restaurants on a second visit to Alvor.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank StanstedPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shocking service and starter”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The service was sooooo slow it was a joke, the poor waiter was run off his feet and was really understaffed. The starter finally came out (prawn cocktail) hardly and prawns and swimming in sauce. It was the worst starter I have had in a long while. The pizza was nice to be honest though. Price was acceptable, overall was a bad experience. After complaining the waiter said, "that's how it's made here" and mearly shrugged his shoulders. Not what a paying customer expects.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jam_ez_col
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lusitania also viewed

 

Been to Lusitania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing