We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best hotel we've stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Probably the best hotel we've stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

What can I say? This hotel was amazing. It's only a year old and it's very modern. We liked the minimalist design. We were so surprised when we reached our room as the holiday brochure doesn't really do it justice. It was huge with a separate bedroom, living area and a small kitchenette. The dividing wall was covered in pastel coloured glass and had a flat screen TV on both sides so no arguments with the remote control. There were patio doors in both rooms leading onto the balcony so you can imagine how big the balcony was.The rooms were cleaned every day to a high standard. There was plenty of food with a lot of choice and it was hot which is always my bug bear so if you went hungry it was your own fault as there were very good snacks available outside of the set meal times.
The outdoor pool was massive and spotlessly clean. There weren't enough parasols and some guests just walked off with them when you went for a meal or drink! Having said that the hotel bought a lot more towards the end of our week so there were more to go around.
The staff are excellent, always polite and always happy to help you. I must say a thankyou to our reps, Lucy and Jill. They had only arrived at the hotel a few days before us but you would have thought they'd been there for ever. Very professional. Can't fault The Alvor Baia at all.

Room Tip: Try to get a pool view room as the rooms on the other side get very little sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lslyelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    717
    305
    101
    39
See reviews for
860
563
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a very large modern hotel on the outskirts of Alvor and takes about a 20 minute stroll into the centre of the town.The rooms are large with a separate lounge and bedroom although there is a gap of about 18 inches at the top of the partition between the rooms which means that it is not feasible to watch TV whilst someone is trying to sleep in the next room. There are TVs in both rooms and again it is difficult to concentrate on what you are watching if your partner has a different channel on as you can easily hear them both.

Be that as it may the rooms are very comfortable ,we having asked for a high floor in a quiet part of the hotel and indeed this was the best I have ever slept on holiday.
We went all inclusive with First Choice whose two Reps ,Gill and Lucy were very helpful and caring .I wish them both well as they did an excellent job.
The maids were very good and kept the apartment in first class order and indeed all the staff were most helpful and pleasant.
Food was of a good quality and there was plenty of choice .If you like fish there several different types available although sardines seemed to be in the majority.
A couple of things I would like to comment on is that coffee is only available in the restaurant at breakfast otherwise you have to go to the bars also if you arrive at the hotel on the first day and have lunch you are NOT entitled to lunch on the last day which I thought was a bit off.
Whilst there is a large fridge in the apartment it is not stocked with anything at all and neither is there any tea or coffee making equipment.
If you wish to use the Spa or indoor pool there is a charge of 10 Euros which is a bit steep if you are a family of four.
All in all we had a very enjoyable holiday the only thing I did not like at all was the restaurant itself as it felt very much like a school canteen and was very noisy especially with lots of young children around .

Room Tip: High floor at or near end of corridor as these are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GarryRichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just spent one week and had a great time. Hotel is lovely and clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, pedro and Sergio in particular. Food was lovely plenty of choice, bearing in mind this is an all inclusive trying to cater for everyone it couldn't be faulted, if you are looking for a la carte don't book all inclusive. Ideal hotel for all ages, kids club, yoga, zumba etc. Would definitely return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank 305Stan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Food is cheap, 85% repetitive (yes, that % is a fact) and the SPA indoor is all for 10+Eur/day. The indoor pool has nice facilities but poor maintenance, we had a chlorum incident that made all have eye and throat issues. No wifi, only in lobby but cabled internet. This is a *** 3 star hotel. The average age is either 4 years or 78. the place looks like an elder house.

- Amazing kids playground, and nice kids house. 4+
- Nice location to move between Praia de Rocha and Alvor beach which is nice.
- Bad food - "Restaurant" looks like an elder diner.
- Great rooms.

Room Tip: Room view is not worth the money change, one said looks to the mountain which is cleaner than the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank petarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was my first trip to Portugal.
We went at the start of the season, so it was fairly quiet - ideal for couple but probably not so good for families.
Upon arrival I was instantly impressed with the hotel, very modern, smart and put some of the others I have stayed in to shame.
The staff were very friendly.
The room was huge, certainly plenty of space, very clean and finished to a high standard.
We stayed for one week all inclusive. The food was great, plenty of choice even for fussy eaters like myself. There was a good selection of drinks available.
It is around a 15 min walk into town, where you'll find great bars, restaurants.
The hotel also provides a free shuttle bus service to the beach. We missed the last bus of the day but the driver kindly offered to do an extra run just for us.
The beach is gorgeous and well worth a trip.
I really enjoyed staying in this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.
I normally don't go back to the same place twice but I will make an exception this time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Kat596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in August 2012 with First Choice. The hotel was great, yes very white but fresh and clean. We went as a family 2 children 10 and 8 it suited them well, it was safe and enclosed for them to run around. The pool area was lovely but plain and could do with some shelter. Drink service was good and food was fine. There were two resturants of which one was quiter than the other as it didnt open till a little later so you didnt get all the children in it. There was a free train which went down to the beach and back. It was a pleasent walk into two just 15mins. Rooms were brilliant and big just what you need for a family and two TV's and we could shut our door off from the children. Over all the Hotel was great for what we paid, I do worry what the hotel will be like in a few years if they do not keep maintenance up as the rooms were damage already and standard of finish wasnt the best for a new hotel but if they keep this up its will be great and would go back as Alvor is a lovely fishing town with great places to eat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank MollyWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I'll make it brief, went end of may last year, hotel was so clean and well equipped.
Staff helpful, entertainment not the best, food superb, drinks good although I'm easily pleased.
I'm a single parent and went with my two boys, my mate, his mrs and two kids and we all had the best time!!
We enjoyed it so much we're doing it again this year!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Shropshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvor
0.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
21.7 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 26 in Alvor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvor Baia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvor Baia Resort Hotel

Property: Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Address: Estrada do Alvor, Galo Loiro, Alvor, Portimao 8500-001, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alvor Baia Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alvor Baia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing