We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect Family Hotel with Great Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Hotel with Great Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in August 2012 with First Choice. The hotel was great, yes very white but fresh and clean. We went as a family 2 children 10 and 8 it suited them well, it was safe and enclosed for them to run around. The pool area was lovely but plain and could do with some shelter. Drink service was good and food was fine. There were two resturants of which one was quiter than the other as it didnt open till a little later so you didnt get all the children in it. There was a free train which went down to the beach and back. It was a pleasent walk into two just 15mins. Rooms were brilliant and big just what you need for a family and two TV's and we could shut our door off from the children. Over all the Hotel was great for what we paid, I do worry what the hotel will be like in a few years if they do not keep maintenance up as the rooms were damage already and standard of finish wasnt the best for a new hotel but if they keep this up its will be great and would go back as Alvor is a lovely fishing town with great places to eat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank MollyWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    645
    279
    91
    32
See reviews for
788
494
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I'll make it brief, went end of may last year, hotel was so clean and well equipped.
Staff helpful, entertainment not the best, food superb, drinks good although I'm easily pleased.
I'm a single parent and went with my two boys, my mate, his mrs and two kids and we all had the best time!!
We enjoyed it so much we're doing it again this year!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Shropshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in aug 2012 i am a travel agent so looked into this hotel very carefully... Where shall i start no atmosphere, pool freezing even in aug , felt like we should not have been there although all the portugese customers seemed to enjoying themself , staff took time to talk to them..no entertainment, rude staff, pay for ice creams , buffet throught the day was rubbish, only good thing about this hotel was the food and accd, other than that shocking, although the town of alvor was lovley......

Room Tip: lifeless all over
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank jacksons186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We feel that we were spoilt with the accomodation. A new hotel that was minimalistic and spacious in style. Food was good, especialy the seafood and fish. We were even able to feed a very fussy 4yr old at every sitting, but am glad we went for early sittings as we saw queues develop as we were leaving. We never had a problem being served at the bar and the local beer and spirits were good, although the cocktail menu did not exist!
The hotel is situated near to a lovely beach. However, you have to be prepared to wrestle and cram to get a seat on the land train when others are armed with inflatables and pushchairs! and do not leave it until the last one back. You will soon learn!
The hotel is near enough to the town of Alvor to walk, however, a short cheap taxi ride back is recommended if you have young ones.
The only thing that prevents me from returning is the pool. Whilst it is huge, it is FREEZING COLD so I did not venture in all fortnight! Also the parasols blow awy in the afternoon when the wind gets up.

Room Tip: Don't go in the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sarahkarl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The apartment was superb. Modern, spacious, clean. Did not use catering facilities, as all-inclusive. Could not fault the hotel and staff. The only complaint we had (sisters travelling together) was that too much leeway was given to the children there with their parents. They ran amok until as late as 11pm. Swinging on the foyer furniture, noisy and generally not kept in check. During the day they had a super play and pool area, but the weather was occasionally not good, and when inside the children were just let loose. This was the fault in the dining room too......too many crying babies, and children having tantrums. Couldn't have been relaxing for the parents.
Obviously this hotel caters for families, but couples and friends need a quieter environment.
Also the dress code in the dining room was far too casual at night. Some guests "dressed up"
but others were allowed in wearing shorts and very casual beach clothes. There was no entertainment laid on at night, so it was rather boring, and it was noted that quite a few guests went out at night.
Loved the apartment and would go again if the very young children/babies could be disciplined
(their parents too!). Otherwise would give "excellent". Value for money, but you do need a vehicle.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank LadyMonica550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a weird one...

We area family of 4 with 2 boys aged 7 and 10. We went with my wife's Mum, Sister and her teenage son.

First impressions are amazing, but appearances can be deceiving. If I was marking for cleanliness and food I would give it 5*. The food is incredible and easily the best we have had and the place is spotless.

There are some things, however, that meant we would not go back:

First and foremost the 'animation' man. I have seen more animated corpses. He literally did nothing except go to the shop and smoke. Here is one of his priceless efforts:

Me: Is French bowls starting?
Him: Too wet
Me: Really? It's not very wet and there are lots of dry places
Him: Have you BEEN outside?
Me: What are you going to do instead?
Him: Well I COULD do the quiz, but then there would be nothing to do on Thursday

I promise you, my kids did not even know what he looked like. I never saw him with a single child.

There is NOTHING for any adult or child over 6 to do. And a pool table / arcade games at a Euro a go does not count. Lots of open spaces filled with .... nothing.

Secondly, the rooms.

Many people, including us, take a device with films to plug into the TV. Not here though!

You cannot get to the HDMI port (TV is attached to wall) and the TVs are blocked so you cannot change the input to SCART etc.

When I asked why I was told "In case the guests retune the TVs" (who would do this?? although this place would drive you to such levels of boredom that you may consider it). They did 'unlock' the TV....24 hours later.

Also there is a bizarre 1 foot gap at the top of the wall between the two rooms. This meant that if my wife and I wanted to watch a film on our screen at the same time as our boys in the next room, I had to stuff the gap full of pillows!

Thirdly, the entertainment is a pack of lies. "Disco Tonight!" = nothing. "Live Music tonight = CD (of live music!). "Disco tonight" = (can you guess?)...it was nothing. "Train to take you to beach!" = not working (really...hmmmm, how convenient...)

Pool too cold for kids? - I know! I'll take them to the indoor pool. Oh, hold on...kids only allowed between 6 and 7 pm (despite the fact it is empty every other hour of the day) and limited places...and a cost of 15 Euros for hats at 8 euros entrance for 3 people.

OK - lets try paddle tennis instead...oh, this is 15 euros for an hour too - great!

When we came to check out we thought we'd have lunch as our pick up was 14:30. The restaurant had lots of food and the hotel was virtually empty. But wait!

"Sorry, as you checked in before 12, you cannot have lunch on your last day"

In closing, the staff and overall ethos seems to be this:

"We've got good food and a nice place, what more do you want?"

I'll tell you what I want, and everyone else at the hotel wanted (I have rarely witnessed such unity):

Someone to put in some effort to give the place some atmosphere. It just felt lifeless and the guests felt unwanted. The staff, on the whole, seemed completely bemused that anyone was visiting their hotel. They made no effort to befriend the children, talk to them etc,

The hotel seems to have been designed to please the architects and staff, but zero effort made to make it a holiday place. Travelodge have a better entertainment programme.

So there you are..two stars for great food, everything else a bit fat zero

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank julesindahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HULL, YORKSHIRE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

honest review - hotel is fab. very very modern, very clean, rooms are great. kitchen area only for teas/coffee or simple fry ups but if ur all inclusive it doesnt matter. bathroom very modern/clean. great beds. also i had a 18month old. he had a travel cott next to bed. food was good. not the best iv ever had but stilll lovely. food hall very clinical but clean. pool area fab. massive pool. childerns good. play area great. floor gets a bit hot, keep ur flip flops on. great childerns club, very modern and clean.husband loved the cold beer, superbok beer, in a glass. excellant spa, in door pool ect. great massages.

negative - the only thing is the night entertainment. crap really. a eagle show, parrot show and one band a week. it just lacked atmosphere. we went down to the town most nights. great little town centre, loads of bars, comtempary resturants ect.

overall wud defo go back. great holiday. went in may and was great price as well xx

Room Tip: payed extra about 45 quid for pool view, was defo worth it.. take ur ipad , get free internet, loads...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank littleg422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvor
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
11.7 mi away
Vila Gale Nautico
Vila Gale Nautico
#1 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Pestana Alvor Praia
#4 of 26 in Alvor
4.0 of 5 stars 943 reviews
24.1 mi away
Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort
11.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve
Holiday Inn Algarve
#2 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento

Property: Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
Address: Estrada do Alvor, Galo Loiro, Alvor, Portimao 8500-322, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing