We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$218
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Luna Alvor Bay(Alvor)(Great Value!)
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alto Fairways(Alvor)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Luna Alvor Village(Alvor)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$185
$146
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$168
$160
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$205
$110
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$323
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$323
$182
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,082)
Filter reviews
2,082 results
Traveler rating
680
864
377
117
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
680
864
377
117
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen restaurantfishthomson repspay barfree bus to the beachevening entertainmentkids clubgrand barinclusive barentertainment teamdining roomschildren's buffetpool baraqua gympool viewmini discolovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,451 - 1,456 of 2,082 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Roomd great big with separate sitting room 2 flat screen tvs fridge microwave sink & 2 hobs - lovely bathroom very clean fresh towels daily - the hotel is very modern with no attmosphere the upstairs bar area is small & it feels like you are waiting in a doctors surgery - all ways queues for a drink - downstairs restaurants are like canteens food not 4 star - entertainment very poor - pool area concrete jungle - disappointed looks like it not finished will not be returning

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gailmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Returned today after 7 days in Portugal and was very impressed with the quality of this hotel. The rooms are massive with two flat screen TV's (a few English channels), luxury bathroom, large bedroom and separate lounge/diner with a large sofa bed. This was not needed as our 16/14 year old kids were given their own room next door. I would rate the room 5 star without hesitation.

The hotel is very large and if you are in room 377 situated at the end of one wing, as we were, you will do quite a bit of walking to the hotel reception/bar/restaurants/swimming pool etc. This is probably not a bad thing as the food is plentiful and of a good standard e.g. breakfast, bacon, sausage, egg, beans, mushrooms, continental options, juices, hot drinks, toast etc, lunch and dinner a wide variety of salads, soup, mains included octopus, squid, pork, beef, a lot of different fish etc and deserts included cake, fresh fruit and ice cream.

The staff in all areas really were very good and whenever queueing for beer, coffee etc I seldom had to wait long.

The pool is vast but perhaps a bit uninteresting in design compared to some resorts we have visited. Sun loungers are plentiful, but sometimes hard to acquire if you do not join the early morning towel brigade. Sadly having spent millions on the hotel the budget only stretched to 'poundsaver' umbrellas which are in short supply as so many are destroyed each day by the afternoon breeze. The pool area is a sun trap and the hotel needs to address the shade issue urgently so that their customers can enjoy their time by the pool/not get speared by the rubbish umbrellas as they break and fold in the wind.

Another negative is the quality of the evening entertainment which was poorer than other resorts we have visited, but the hotel is new and I'm sure they'll get this right over time. Hugo's tour of Alvor was well worth attending although it would have been nicer at a cooler time of the day. It included a trip to see Alvor's fishermen who were drying their catch for three days in the sun.

There are some great walks on wooden tracks at the bottom of Alvor with views of the river/over to Lagos and the beach is great for young kids as shallow water is plentiful. The train ride (€2 each way)to Lagos from Portimoa is also worth considering.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel especially for the rooms and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank etf-63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We went to Alvor Baia on the 14th of June for a week and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very modern and very spacious, with a kitchen area & balcony! The rooms were immaculate when we arrived and were kept up to this standard thoughout our stay with fresh towels everyday! There was a safe in the room which you had to pay for but we didnt feel any need to use this. We had a room at the front of the hotel with not much of a view but we had the sun on our balcony untill around 8pm. The pool was huge was a bit cold at first but was refreshing from the heat when sunbathing. The staff were alway helpful and polite. The bar had a big variety of drink but there was only 1 type of larger no cider on all inclusive. Alchopops, ciders and some spirits (jack daniels etc) could be paid for not sure on price. There was a 'SPA' about a 5 minute walk away. The beach took 5 minutes to get to on the Alvor Baia free train. Walking would probably take 15minutes. Food had a big variety of choice with snacks inbetween breakfast and lunch, & lunch and dinner. Only thing i could say was there wasnt much to do at night for young couples but entertainment for children and a games room. The hotel spa costed $10 for a days use, was very relaxing and quiet when we went, wouldnt take children in there as it would ruin relaxation for others. Would recomend this hotel to anyone it was one of the nicest ive ever been to!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kirsty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

First time i've written a review here, but will be very honest in my assessment. My wife , son and myself have just returned from a great holiday at The Alvor Baia Hotel (room 171). Hotel staff were always very polite and helpful, the maids worked their socks off and our room was cleaned exceptionally well each day. Rooms are wonderful and just as they are pictured in the website and very spacious with fresh towels and linen changed every day. Food was always good and with a vast choice to pick from. Pool was lovely and yeah agree was a bit cool but once in not a problem, we had no issue with being served at the poolside bar and again bar staff were very polite. The walk into Alvor was fine and wife who has multiple sclerosis managed it with no difficulty. Really enjoyed our stay, the Hotel is very good and we have already booked up to back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank nigel_thorpe4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Had a great time at the Alvor Baia, pool size was great although the water was a bit cold at times. Rooms cleaned every day and fresh towels too. The food was good with a lot of choice although it could get a little boring if you stayed for two weeks. We had a pool view which was really good and the room size was brilliant. Didn't have to queue for too long for drinks and the selection was really good, including port and good measures too. Not sure about entertainment as we were happy just sitting on the terrace with a drink or two!! Internet was free so my daughter (aged 16) was satisfied. Overall a good relaxing holiday which is just what we needed and some lovely weather too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bikequeen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews