We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Cotton's Restaurant
Ranked #98 of 157 Restaurants in Alvor
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Have been to Cottons twice this weeks holiday and both times the food and staff have been fantastic. My mother in law started coming here when it opened about 25 year ago and always said how great it was. She had not been for the last 11 years but the staff still remembered her this time! I would certainly come back here again especially for the crepes, and the prawns, and the steak...the list goes on!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    12
    5
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Still a lovely restaurant”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We visited Cotten's in June while staying at the Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel. We had eaten at Cotten's on a previous holiday many years ok, and was looking forward to trying it again - we weren't disappointed.
Nothing much has changed over the years - especially the menu, but it works. This is not a cheap restaurant, but the service and food were top class so you get what you pay for.
My only negative is that the restaurant lacks atmosphere as not many people use it. The day we went there were only 4 tables being used which is a shame considering the quality of the food the restaurant produces, although I think that this is due to the fact the restaurant is located outside of Alvor town there isn't the passing trade other restaurants might get.
Certainly worth a try if you are in the area - you won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ken211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Culinary Art”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

If you visit Alvor in the Algarve you have to eat here . The waiters are more like artists as they `Flambe ` your dish in front of you . It really is a sight to see and taste . Set in beautiful surroundings , The staff are welcoming and friendly and prices are reasonable too. Definitely returning there ...Cant praise it enough..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVIEDYTES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We dined here on Monday 23rd. We were lucky as we hadn't booked. A lovely meal well presented. Will be back before we leave Alvor

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvor, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfort and charm at Cottons”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Having made many visits to Cottons Restaurant over the last 20 years our meals here this year have been as excellent as ever. The staff are Friendly and most helpful, the cuisine, able to be ordered to suit ones taste and personal requirements is excellently prepared and served. The atmosphere is of quiet comfort and complemented with live music some nights, makes this superior establishment well worth visiting.
Not to be missed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotton's Restaurant also viewed

 
Alvor, Portimao
 

Been to Cotton's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing