We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely apartments”
Review of Luna Alvor Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luna Alvor Bay
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

lovely hotel ,staff nice and friendly would definitely go back , not many sunbeds but knew of this beforehand yet everytime we went to the pool area there were beds available.will definitely recommend Luna Bay to my friends

Room Tip: ask for a corner room as these are a lot bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank headlander29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna H, Manager at Luna Alvor Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear headlander29,
Thank you very much for your review and recommendation. It is amazing to know you enjoyed your holidays at Luna Alvor Bay and the hotel's services and facilities. We have already ordered new sunbeds for the pool area that should be available soon. Due to the hotel locations, guests tend to choose to go to the beach, so usually the sunbeds are not an issue. Looking forward to welcome you back. Kind regards, Ivo Viterbo, Manager at Luna Alvor Bay (iviterbo@lunahoteis.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

620 - 626 of 868 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just back from a week's stay at the Luna Alvor Bay. Was extremely pleased with our choice of accomodation this year, whilst only studios, these are fantastic. We had a very large corner apartment with a side sea view (Room 1005), could see the beach and sea off to one side then the town off to the other.

Very well equipped kitchen area with everything that you could possibly need, two large bads pushed together as one and a great bathroom. Plenty of storage space but not many coat hangers though!

If there is a downside to the property, it is the pool area. There isn't much outside space, so the pool is small, as is the area for sunbeds. Consequently, they only had around 18 beds so it was quite an early start to make sure you bagged one for the day. I did see lots of towels out early, only for people not to show up until after lunch - bit wrong. However, we always managed to get a bed and the good news was a further 6 appeared half way through the week.

There does appear to be some work taking place adjacent to the pool area, looks like the veranda is being extended around the back of the property, so maybe more room for sunbeds? Who knows...

Only other niggle, whilst the housekeeping trolley seemed to be on each floor all day, our room seemed to be late on the list and some days, it was 5pm before they were turning up to clean. At this point, we're relaxing or starting to get ready for going out for the evening, so turned them away a couple of times. A better rota wouldn't go amiss, whereby some days you're cleaned in the morning, afternoons on other days.

Final day, had breakfast there, 5 euros each for a wide and varied buffet, quite good value and set us up for a long day heading home.

Overall, had a great stay and would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jocrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna H, Manager at Luna Alvor Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear jocrad,
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing Luna Alvor Bay. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and the Hotel’s services and facilities. The side seaview rooms have a really amazing view, overlooking both sea and the village. The pool area is in fact being improved with more sunbeds and there will also be a lounge area that will be ready soon. We hope to show it off in your next visit! We would also like to thank you for your suggestion regarding the cleaning routine, and apologize for any inconvenience caused.
Looking forward to welcome you back. Kind regards, Ivo Viterbo, Manager at Luna Alvor Bay (iviterbo@lunahoteis.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as a couple for a week at the end of June. Beside the weather being perfect (didn't see a cloud the whole holiday) the hotel was perfect. First impressions great, hotel was stylish,clean and modern, and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. On arrival we'd been accidentally booked two apartments by our holiday provider and the receptionist kindly sought out the best of the two for us, even giving us a partial sea view when we hadn't paid for it! The rooms were lovely, modern furnishing, even a flat screen tv, where you can watch tv free of charge. There is also wifi which was great for us. They offer a 5 euro breakfast buffet, which was extensive and lovely. The only minor Criticism we had was there was too few sunbeds around the pool but if you keep and eye out you can spot empty ones at some point. There was always the beach which is beautiful, plenty of sun loungers! All in all fantastic helpful staff, lovely hotel, prime location 10 mins to alvor town, and lovely weather. 10/10 holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

One of the best holidays I have had I am only sorry it was for a week longer would have been better.
The beach was only minutes away and the old town was 5 minutes walk away all the staff where fantastic it was always clean, breakfast was great and a choice of food cooked breakfast or meats and cheese with some salad and plenty of fruit. a small bar and snacks up to 10 pm.
If I have one moan it is not the staff but some other guests who ensured they had the sole use of the sun loungers by leaving towels on the chairs ALL the time and a couple who had towels on the loungers all the time yet only showed up around noon to lay on them.
I would and will go back to there it was a wonderful resort, there was 8 of us as a group and we ate out every night in different places and with drinks and the meal it never came to more than 20 euros each and that included a tip, it is also a quiet place lots of youngsters but almost no noise and no discos

Room Tip: rooms at the back have a better view, some had rooms on level 5 we had a room on lever 12 both where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Billy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

First stay in this hotel and it won't be the last. It is right on the beach and a five minute walk from the centre of Alvor. The rooms are very smart and clean and the staff are very friendly. The only criticism is that the pool is little small but other than that, cannot fault it and will be booking again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

100m from the seashore, overlooking the sea. Well equipped studio apartment. More than adequate breakfast. Friendly staff. Cleanliness adequate. Value for money - superb! May well return in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RedWest066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

just spent 9 nights at the luna alvor bay.ideal for self catering,rooms very clean and modern with everything you need.only downside was pool and outside area.just not big enough to cater for guests.but dont let that put you off.we just went to the hotel next door ( dom juao ) and beach...bliss. having been to alvor for a many number of years,i have seen a big increase in eating and drinking out....it is just so expensive. £8-£9 for a diet coke and vodka/lemonade.glasses are smaller and measures less.and thats almost everywhere.you will spend £100 -£120 in one night quite easily..i felt as though i was being mugged everytime i bought a drink..go to the chill out lounge at the dunas apartments (5 minutes walk from centre ) you will spend less than half.....apart from the chillout bar,do not drink in town.A few years ago,benidorm started to put the prices up quite a bit.when they did,people stopped going and they lost a lot of tourism..alvor is heading in the same way,which would be a shame because its a lovely place.if you want to know anything about alvor and where to eat and drink just email me.i will be more than happy to answer your questions and hopefully save you money thus also not putting you off going back to alvor..just one more tip....... book the hotel direct...it is only £32 a night for a room £35-£40 for a sea view. ALSO.....they are doing building work at the back of the hotel at the moment,which looks as though it is going to continue for some time...check with hotel direct...

Room Tip: unless you really want a sea view,i wouldnt bother...save your money,you only sleep there,you see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carolwarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.8 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 24 in Alvor
509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Alvor Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Alvor Bay

Address: Urb. Torralta, Torre J, Alvor, Portimao 8500-053, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Alvor
Price Range: $56 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Alvor Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luna Alvor Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Alvor Bay Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing