We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Luna Alvor Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luna Alvor Bay
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
swindon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from this hotel after a short stay,we found the staff all very friendly and helpful, the hotel does not look the greatest from the outside but it is lovely inside ,the location is great ,only a couple of minutes to the most amazing sandy beach and 5 minute walk to town ,we had room with a sea view which was perfect ,it had a large balcony and full self catering facilities . Modern decor with large plasma television .The breakfast was fine with cereal , fruit , toast ,yogurts, croissants ,cake ,sausages ,eggs etc .this hotel was extremely good value for money ,

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank jane24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    308
    68
    15
    12
See reviews for
69
576
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
150 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were there for summer holidays and had a great time enjoying the pool, the bar... The staff is helpful and the apartment was new with some little damages due to an irresponsable previous customer...
Close to the beachs, with free parking and near walking to the Alvor town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank RgZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Hotel is situated only 2 mins from the beach and 10mins from the village. Some lovely restaurants close by, especially at the marina. Hotel rooms are very well equiped, spacious and clean. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Absolutely great for a budget hotel, don't think you will find any better for the same price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lesley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidderminster
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Yes we enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were as discribed, very nice, large beds, good kitchen, nice balcony, great price. What let it down for me was the pool, not because its small, but the horrible fence they have around it. I'm sure there are safety reasons, but boy does it put you off laying by the pool with a steel fence around it. It felt like i shouldn't be there. Anyway the place lacks atmosphere,as everyone goes into town, The town is good but what a pain in the neck with the walk home everynight. 15-20 minutes. A good place to stay if your on a budget, but if your looking for something a bit special, this isn't it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

From reading the reviews we had higher expectations of this hotel than it deserved. We checked in the first night, no problem. We asked for late check out, no problem, we had to go back the morning of though, they couldn't put it in earlier. Half the staff there was really friendly, helpful and nice. The other half... Well they need training in common courteously. We were told different things by different employees, ie about breakfast... When we checked in we asked about breakfast, she said to eat breakfast then go pay at the front desk. Which is what I was going to do. Instead the older man in the breakfast room, runs down after me, starts accusing me of not paying for breakfast, yells at me, doesn't listen... It was mortifying, all because I was doing what the woman at reception told me to do. Breakfast wasn't worth wasting the time to go down. There was no coffee, I had to ask twice before it got refilled, and when it did it was cold. There was no milk, same thing had to keep asking. The bacon was cold and not cooked. The eggs were cold... The only thing that didn't turn your stomach was the bread. The cleaning was sub par. We constantly had to go ask for toilet paper because they didn't put new rolls in our room. They didn't replace the towels even when you requested it. They didn't wash the dishes or provide dish soap to wash them yourself... Goodluck finding a trash can. The room was really cramped. You couldn't even use the towel rack in the bathroom because the sink was blocking it. You had to leave a key in the wall to keep the fridge on while you were gone. Something that would have been nice of them to tell us before we bought milk. Needless to say we will not stay here again. It is supposed to be a nonsmoking hotel, but the hallway to our room reeked of smoke daily, which then would drift into our room. Nothing like the smell of stale cigarette smoke when you are a nonsmoker. The only really nice thing I can say is the location is great. You are close enough to everything to walk.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed here recently and was extremely impressed with this establishment. It is spotless and the views from the front are magnificent. Even the side rooms have a great view from an angle. It is a walk from town but this was never a problem as it is pleasant. The staff here are very obliging and the hotel is well worth a stay. The rooms are bright airy and clean and are recently refurbished. I personally found the beds a bit firm but as in all things that is down to personal taste.Would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hopefultraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The onlys complaint I have is the cleaning of the room, during my stay it was no cleaning ta all, they just made the bed and put in new towels and toilet paper (except one time whven I had to get it myself...). Otherwise I'm very satisfied with my stay her.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.8 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.2 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Alvor Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Alvor Bay

Property: Luna Alvor Bay
Address: Urb. Torralta, Torre J, Alvor, Portimao 8500-053, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Alvor Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Luna Alvor Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Alvor Bay Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing