We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Holiday”

Review of Vila de Praia

Swimming Pool Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming Pool Area
Livinf room / Terrace Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Swimming Pool Area
Livinf room / Terrace
Living Room
Living room / Dining area
Master Bedroom With Ensuite Bathroom
En suite Bathroom
Second Bedroom
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Main Bathroom
Patio Area (South Facing Terrace)
Patio / Garden Area (South Facing Terrace)
Front Entrance To Apartment
Communal Garden / Safe And Secure
Alvor Harbour & Promenade
Alvor Square
Terrace / Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Alvor, Portimao, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
PUNTERSPA...
ROTHERHAM
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Apartment, a few teething problems”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed at the apartment in August and were met by Trina who showed us around and explained that there was an issue with the boiler; and that someone would be repairing it shortly.
On the first day we popped out for 45 mins to an hour to check out the pool. We left the aircon on in one of the rooms and when we returned we were met by a clearly peeved Gary, who made it clear that, in his eyes, we had broken it - apparently it's common knowledge that you don't leave aircon units on for this length of time?!. I still have the rather accusatory note he left us.
Over the next 10 days we had numerous issues with the shower and hot water, and the electrics (I was encouraged to fiddle around with the fuse box and the fridge had defrosted on 2 occasions). We didn't use the aircon again despite the heat as we didn't want to jeopardise the return of our deposit, which judging by some of the texts and conversations we'd had with Gary was by no means guaranteed. I have to say that in the main, my calls and texts were answered quickly.
Problems aside, the apartment was lovely; very spacious with all mod cons and in a good location.
Our stay was expensive, and had our time been trouble free it would have been much more enjoyable.
I'd like to return to Alvor one day, but would think again about dealing direct with the owner. I understand that we were staying in their property; and that this is their livelihood, but in our case we were clearly not to blame for any of the issues we encountered and had the uncertainty of getting our deposit back at the end of our stay. This was posted back in our apartment without a note in full.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely pool
Liked least: Constant issues with hot water, shower and electrics
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlitzH
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Back at Trina and Garys lovely apartment at Vila de Praia for the 4th year. Once again we had a fantastic holiday. The apartment is so well situated for everything you could possibly need on holiday. It also has everything in it that you would need too. We took a taxi up to Silves for the day, not expensive shared between the 3 of us. A lovely little village in the hills. A lovely day out away from the beach. We managed to find a couple of new restaurants in Alvor, Georgets and ALota both really lovely meals. We always seem to find something new when we come. We are booked again for next year and are looking forward to it already. A big thanks to Gary and Trina for all their help.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that going to this property is like going to your own holiday home.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashie
Reviewed October 15, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: none of it
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Angela A
Leyland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin.... And more!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Well...what a fantastic holiday that was! The apartment is exactly as described on the site ... AND some! It is a spacious, well serviced apartment, which has a lovely feel to it too. We had 2 great weeks there. Booking in couldn't have been easier with Gary & Trina being very helpful. They advised us of a taxi company to use for our airport transfer, and for 60 Euros each way it saved us hiring a car. Gary was very patient, helping with deposit and balance transfers when they didn't go as smoothly as planned!
The pool and patio areas were well furnished and well used with all of that gorgeous sunshine, all day, every day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that it was EXACTLY what we wanted!
Liked least: Nothing to report!!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
Reviewed July 25, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of complex, spacious clean apartment ideal for a family with young children.
Liked least: No wifi
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 28, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation and price
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing