We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely 12 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely 12 nights”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at Pestana Delfim for 12 nights from July 7th the weather was of course marvellous compared to back home even if a little windy which in that heat was most welcome. Our first impression was wow this is very nice as we were a little concerned after reading some of the reviews. I really dont know just what some peeps expect from their holiday but this was the best holiday we have been on in ages and our first experience of all inclusive. Ok so the dining room gets a bit chaotic but at this price you cant expect fine dining can you? The food was quite good and we always found something to suit. The beds are the most comfortable we have aver found on hoilday and the rooms are large and we cleaned, bathroom big as well and always plenty of hot water. Walk to the beach a little far for me but was well worth it and the swimming pool was wonderful although chilly in the morning we soon got used to it. Alvor itself is a lovely little village and worth an evening out. All in all I would give this hotel 4* rating and the staff work very hard and are nice peeps. There are a lot of children at this hotel and the entertainment is really only set up for them but we never like hotel entertainment anyways so we made our own. Dont be put off by bad reviews ats a very nice hotel in a lovely location with pretty gardens so go and enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angelina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    390
    239
    84
    48
See reviews for
394
332
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband, 6 year old daughter and I stayed for 4 nights at this all inclusive hotel in July, 2012. We had booked the Pestana Dom Joao, but when we arrived there they told us there was problem and they had overbooked at the Dom Joao and they are transferring us to the sister hotel "Pestana Delfim" which is all inclusive. It suited us well as my daughter had fun at the kids club. The food was bland, but plentiful, our room was clean and had a nice view of the ocean. The water of the pool was cold, but they had a small heated indoor pool for young kids. The nightly entertainment was mostly geared for kids. The location was ~ 15-20 minutes walk to Alvor and 10 minute walk to the beach. I would recommend this hotel for families with kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shaunaottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed a this hotel for 1 week and it was a week of hell. IT IS NOT a 4 star hotel, it is just about a 3. It is awash with pre school and school age children running amok with parents who are oblivious to their unruly behaviour. The food is bland, boring and repetative, i am not a fussy eater but i even struggled to find something i liked to eat at lunch and dinner, so we ate out all the time from the 1st two days (which defeats the object of all inclusive). The evening meal was in 3 sittings 7,8 and 9pm which inevitably ran over time, time restraints should not be imposed you should be able to eat, drink and chat at your leisure, not feel compelled to hurry to let the next sitting in, and i want to go to dinner at the time i choose. The dining room was too small for the number of guests and it felt like a works canteen, with ques at every island for food. The pool is dirty and over crowded, then there is the sunlounger 'competioin' the pool allegedly opens at 9am and there is a notice stating 'no reserving of sunbeds' however this is totally ignored and from very early in the morning the beds are saved and so begins the stresses of attempting to locate a free sun lounger, not a positive experience, and there is no where near enough to accomodate the amount of guests in the hotel. Some people even 'saved' their bed in the morning went to the beach until the afternoon, then came back and utilised the sunbed for the afternoon that had been 'empty' with their towel draped over it all morning! Extremely selfish and this unaccepatable behaviour was ignored by the hotel staff. There is no seperate bar area for families with children so wherever you are in the hotel in an evening the kids are running amok, and i mean literally running, in and out of tables and chairs and behind the long curtians at the windows where guests are sitting having a leisurely drink, the parents are no where to be seen and the kids just run riot screaming shouting and inevitably crying! The kids disco believe it or not starts at 9pm! The corridors where the bedrooms are noisey late at night again with children shouting and screaming and no parents telling them to be quiet. The entertainment for adults is none existent and the hotel is a good 20 minute walk from Alvor itself, so for a 4 star hotel the entertainment should be of a good standard. as opposed to an elderly man playing Abba songs on a key board! The advertising of the hotel in the brochure and on line states it is ideal for couples, no it's not, if you are travelling as a couple or with adult friends DO NOT book this hotel you will be sorry if you do. We always book 4 star or above, ensuring we get a certain standard of hotel and facilities and this is the 1st time this has not worked out, but i feel this was due to the advertising and the reviews of the hotel on this and other sites, i cannot believe people think this hotel is 'lovely and relaxing' i couldn't disagree more, it's hell. We are not anti children we have 4(ages 17 to 23yrs) been there done that, so want a holiday away from children, hence we always book in term time, and i feel the write up should be specific about the amount of children at the hotel as the majority were spanish pre school and school age. All in all a disappointing week and the holiday was by no means cheap, we got talking to a couple on our last day who had just arrived and had asked to be moved as they were so unhappy with the hotel and were indeed being moved to the 5 star down the road, wish we had done the same at the begining of our week.

Room Tip: ensure you get a sea veiw if you book as not all balconies overlook the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alvor hotels

DERRY
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Just returned from a lovely relaxing week at this hotel. It was our anniversary and the staff led by Helia couldnt be nicer. They really go the extra mile to ensure guests enjoyment and not just for us but for all guests. The hotel is in a beautiful setting just a short garden walk to a marvellous beach. We were all inclusive and food and drink was excellent. Service was always with a smile. Our room was large , very comfortable and had a great view over the sea. Alvor village is just a short walk and has a lovely ambience. All in all a great holiday. Highly recommended. We intend to return very soon

Room Tip: Just ask! Higher rooms facing south have a great aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TYRONE-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Pestana Delfim Hotel, a lovely hotel, all inclusive, but as already stated on Tripadvisor it is in need of a Modernisation.The sister Hotel down the road (Pestana Dom Joao II), is more modern, but only Half Board. Apparently it has had some refurbishment but hard to see where. The rooms again need brightening up, but are very clean, and are restocked with fresh towels every day, and beds made, there is a safe, but you have to pay extra for this.
The room we had was on the 15th floor on the corner, but we still had a part sea view. In general the staff were pleasant, but some looked unhappy. The problem I have with this hotel,is that although all inclusive, the food was bland, and basically same type of produce every day, just with different sauces,some of the food was also very chewy, and no children's food.The Restaurant is again in need of modernisation, and seemed cramped, when busy.Unfortunately as most places, you do get the arrogant people, who push in for food even if there is a cue for the food. Staff were very pleasant and when we asked to have a table for 10, as we had a big family, they arranged that, straight away, pushing tables together. There is an area covered outside the restaurant overlooking the garden, which I believe is new, and part of the refurbishment (shame about inside).
Gardens are nice and have plenty shaded areas, and sunbeds are not a problem, although it does say not put towels on sunbeds before 08:30, lots were doing it. A walk through the garden leads to a path that goes down to a beautiful beach with bars and food, be aware that the path is steep, so if you have breathing,or mobility problems, you may struggle. It would be good if they offered for the elderly a shuttle service to the beach like a golf buggy.
Alvor, itself is lovely, and plenty of shops, and Restaurants offering a variety of foods, steak, fish, and a nice harbour area which is new from our last visit, 9 years ago.

As I have already stated the food is bland, so if you fancy going out to break things up, please, please go to the BLACK STOVE IRISH BAR, the food is FANTASTIC, and GREAT VALUE, freshly made. ( The Steak, with Chips,Peas,Fried Onions 12.90 Euros), but fantastic, and great friendly staff, for me a must visit - If anyone goes please let me know if you enjoyed the food, and passed it on to others.

Overall the Hotel, is Lovely, but needs updating, and the food needs to be reviewed by the hotel, and may be a children`s section, lovely clean pool, although cold and salty. When we do go to Alvor again, or Portugal in general, I would consider, either B&B, or a Villa, and eat out, but saying that it would nt stop me going back to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillingeBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

A beautiful setting and wonderful weather certainly contributed to a great holiday. However, other factors make for a great holiday experience. Our holiday was made wonderful by the service at the hotel, which was excellent, in fact I cannot think of anywhere we have stayed in Europe with friendlier staff! Every staff member was friendly, patient, helpful and interested in our welfare.
In reality, the hotel exceeded our expectations. One of the first things we noticed about the hotel was the lobby area and reception staff. The look and feel of the lobby and the greeting from Jerome on the front desk set the tone for the entire visit. Like the hotel lobby, our room smelt fresh and clean and had an appealing look and feel. We had plenty of space in our room, too, with lots of storage. The daily housekeeping at the hotel was exceptional - we returned to our room every day to find it as it was when we arrived on the first day!
The food was very good - varied, well prepared and had freshly cooked options coming straight off the grill! All-inclusive drinks were good - very drinkable red and white wine.
The hotel surprised me with champagne on my birthday, delivered to our room personally by the excellent manageress, without my ever mentioning that I was there for a birthday treat - can't expect any more personal attention than that!!
Not so great:
Breakfast! I would have liked pots of tea to be available and marmalade with thick chunks of orange peel!
Pool too cold for my husband's liking! The pool-side loungers had a hard nylon surface which after a time gets a bit hard on the backside!; some form of pad would have helped greatly - would happily have paid a fee for such a pad.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoannWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed for a week at this hotel in June and overall felt it was very good value. The rooms were large and comfortable, the food fine and there was plenty of space and sunbeds to relax on by the pool or in the extensive gardens. The evening entertainment might have been better but this did not overly concern us. We were particularly impressed by the quality of service we received from the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and they were all very friendly and helpful.
We would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inchanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.4 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.9 mi away
Yellow Alvor Garden
Yellow Alvor Garden
#15 of 24 in Alvor
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Delfim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Delfim Hotel

Property: Pestana Delfim Hotel
Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#5 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#7 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Delfim Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Delfim is an all inclusive hotel in Algarve, specifically designed for families. The all inclusive plan includes breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, as well as snacks, ice cream and domestic beverages. It is located 5 minutes on foot from Praia dos Três Irmãos and 10 minutes on foot from the Alvor town centre, with free parking. This hotel is the perfect place for those who want a worry-free holiday and wish to relax under the sun and enjoy the beach. Take a dip in the outdoor swimming pool and enjoy the extensive lawn area. You can even schedule a Magic Spa massage and/or treatment for a complete sense of wellness. You can also play a game or two of tennis or a round of golf, or even visit the town centre using our free transfers. Kids are welcome at the Pestana Delfim and can play at the Kids Club (available from June to September). Most of the rooms have balconies with front or side views of the sea, and are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pestana Delfim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pestana Delfim
Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing