We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Tollerent”
Review of Sports Cafe

Sports Cafe
Ranked #2 of 21 Nightlife in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sports Cafe Alvor is the Sports and Party beat of Alvor!Whatever sport you want to watch, we have 20 screens, including a giant cinema screen, dedicated to bringing you exactly that. We can show up to 5 games live at same time.Whatever you want from a party night, the world famous "Sports Cafe Party Nights" will give you more than you could ever imagine!Once you've been - you'll understand!!!
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredibly Tollerent”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were there in the middle of October 2013 and it was great, it is a real party bar and the staff are good fun. We were very very loud as a group and they were fine. Great Karaoke, live foorball & cheap drinks....what more could you ask for....

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cloutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    29
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nelson is the best!!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Sports cafe isn't just for sports! It has a warm friendly atmosphere which draws you in. Drink are cheap which is a bonus!

Helpful?
3 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Not just for sport!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were regulars at this bar while on holiday in August.
It is in a great location slap bang in the middle of the Main Street!
They have loads of deals on drinks, a favourite of mine was the keg on table. This is 2.5 of superbock that you pull you own drinks from the container!
Great views of the street from upstairs!
Make sure you visit!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tired-out-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Bar in Alvor - maybe even further!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Usually bars with the name "sports cafe" or "sports bar" would be a sign to stay away for me and my friends - but not this place. Why this is not classed as #1 in Alvor is beyond me.

Coming from Newcastle, where the nightlife and bars are plentiful, we have a pretty good idea of how things should be done...and the Sports Cafe has it down to a T!!

We visited this bar every single night of our 10nt stay in Alvor and it got better every time we stopped by. It's done out to a really good standard and the staff are fantastic they make the place what it is - always welcomed like a friend and very attentive to any needs/empty glasses to ensure they were filled again.

I would definitely recommend this place no matter what your age/preference.

When i return to Alvor, I'll definitely be paying a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TJTwist07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“The best bar in Alvor”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Went here every night during a golfing trip with the lads. This place is mega! Fantastic staff who really care and make the best drinks in the town. prices are very good value. The jaager bomb flaring is something to be seen - i dont think i will every see a guy make 8 jaager bombs like that every again - unreal!

Food wise the burgers come from the steak restaurant across the road and are delicious.

It really lives up from 11.30pm and last till 5am ish - i made it to 4am most nights and the place was still packed.

I cant wait to go back it was that good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Sheriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sports Cafe also viewed

 
Alvor, Portimao
 

Been to Sports Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing