We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of fisherman's rest

fisherman's rest
Ranked #47 of 154 Restaurants in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Really lovely. Fresh red snapper shown to me before cooked and then BBQd. Reasonable price and great service. Yummers!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    77
    29
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Last Supper”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Dined here for our last meal out on our recent holiday (August 2012) Great experience.
Good advice on kind,size & weight of fish for two to eat. VERY local peroicial, full on a Saturday night. Nothing but good things to recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dcb40123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“N Ireland visitor”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Forget this one, walk on past. We walked into this restaurant and was placed at a table. No one came near us for 2-3 mins and when we said we were blinded by the sun we were reluctantly shown to another table which we were unable to access and no one tried to move table or chairs to allow us to be seated. It didin't look good as no one was eating and everyone looking around for a member of staff to take an order. needless to say we walked out and went to a fantastic one next door, A Lota, where we were immeditely served, had both a good meal and excellent service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Had lunch here recently plate of yummy sardines and salad 7.50 euro I would travel to alvor just for this dish cooked on the barbecue every week if I could staff and surroundings spot on

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDSully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, cosy atmosphere and nice staff”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed for about a week in Alvor with my husband. It's always a bit tricky to choose a place to eat in a new place. We didn't know anything about this restaurant. It just seemed somehow more welcoming than others and since it looked like some locals were there too we decided to try it. After that we just couldn't go anywhere else! :D We ended up going through pretty much the whole list of grilled fish during our week...oh, and also the chicken and ribs, which were delicious. The grill master was just perfect. Good food is very important for us and we really wanted to try things we knew we couldn't get to eat in Finland. For exemple the octopus salad was wonderful. I guess it depends on what you appreciate whether you like this restaurant or not. If you've gotten used to eating your chicken as nuggets and fish as fish sticks, then maybe it's not for you...but even then I'd recommend to try it. The staff was very helpful and took gently off the bones of the grilled fish so it was easy to eat :)

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vesilintu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed fisherman's rest also viewed

 
Alvor, Portimao
 

Been to fisherman's rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing