We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a very enjoyable meal at the fisherman's rest.”
Review of fisherman's rest

fisherman's rest
Ranked #49 of 154 Restaurants in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
hull
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We had a very enjoyable meal at the fisherman's rest.”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We had a very enjoyable meal at the fisherman's rest. The fish we happen to see brought ashore in the morning and taken across to the restaurant, we the watched it being cooked about 4 hours later. The prices are a little high compared to the surrounding places but we had a VERY good meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tommybritten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    77
    29
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Check your order and bill”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Even Brits know the difference between squid and cuttlefish, especially when there is a price difference. It might have been a genuine mistake, but we were charged the higher price and for an extra item we hadn't ordered. The squid was OK, but not the best, so I'd guess it had been cooked before (not) ordered. Unfortunately, other half didn't check the bill till afterwards, so too late to complain. It wasn't busy, so not sure why these mistakes were made. Wouldn't go again when there are so many excellent restaurants in town.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bunny19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good fish”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

If you want fish an excelent restaurant. 50,00 € two persons. In the village.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pandrade28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“not great”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Staff seemed disinterested, food expensive and not as good as other restaurants reviewed

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank bobbob_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing fresh fish perfectly grilled”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I've been to this restaurant many many times, the last one during the past weekend.
This is the place to eat fish and sea food (specially clams), it is always fresh (many times you see the fishermen coming in with buckets) and perfectly cooked. I've been to many places in the Algarve and still consider that here they have the best technique.
To finish the chocolate mousse is amazing! One of the best you can have.
It is a simple restaurant, no luxuries... priced accordingly.
Probably the best value for money you can find in the region.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WVSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed fisherman's rest also viewed

 

Been to fisherman's rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing