We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Georget's - CLOSED

Georget's
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Been here many times in recent years (it is now situated opposite the Black Stove). Friendly staff. Try the mixed or chicken kebab, both are excellent and are served with rice and freshly steamed vegetables.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RossReds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    60
    26
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Loch Lomond
Level Contributor
162 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Fine dining at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

My wife and I ate here last night. The food was superb as was the service. We had fish soup and my wife had the leg of lamb, which was served off the bone. It was wonderful. I had the duck and it was one of the best duck dishes I have ever tasted. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_Andraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgets without Georget”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We have visited Georgets over the last few years and always been happy. This year it was at her new premises. As always the service was good all staff being well trained by Georget and the food was good.
However I personally do not like rooms without windows to see out of. Also what is Georgets without Georget - she was not there and we were told that she doesn't visit so often now.
We didn't get our usual warm welcome - and my husband didn't get his kiss from Georget!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best fish soup in the Algarve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Just visited Georget's at her new location. We had the same high quality food and service as we have received over the past nine years. The pork stuffed with plums is certainly worth a try, but then so is the rest of her varied menu? We look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Family run Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed in Alvor over the bank holiday weekend and came across Georget's restaurant while walking through Alvor. The food was reasonable priced for the Algarve but when we received our food we were pleasantly surprised, the portions were large and the food tasted amazing. There was four of us and we had Monkfish, Tuna Steak, Lamb and Vegetable Gratin - all highly recommended.

Georget came to welcome us to her restaurant which was a really nice touch and made us indeed feel welcome. The restaurant was well presented, although they were having a few technical issues with the lighting as i think they had only just moved location...this did not interrupt our meal at all.

At the end of our meal we were given a shot of port in a dark chocolate shot glass which just topped the meal nicely (free of charge)

I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you are looking for a friendly Portuguese restaurant in Alvor.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Asmt603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georget's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing