We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, Fantastic, Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Georget's - CLOSED

Georget's
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Fantastic, Fantastic, Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

We visit the algarve on a very regular basis, on a nine day trip we eat at Georgets five times.
The welcome you receive on entering makes you feel as your one of Georgets family, her staff will go out their way to make your meal one to remember.
The menu is varied, with something to suit everyone. We just love the piri piri chicken, salmon and sea bream. The meals are all cooked fresh to perfection, we have never been disappointed.
In the peak season your better off reserving a table as this restaurant is the hottest in town, there is also seating outside for those glorious summer evenings.
Absolutely Fantastic!!!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitchener50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    60
    26
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Put Simply......One of the Best in Alvor!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

I visited "Georgets" during a recent visit to Alvor with my family, My parents and brothers had stayed in Alvor previously on a couple of occasions, whereas it was my first time and knew Georget from when she worked at another restaurant in the town, Os Marafados.
The restaurant was very nice indeed, very clean and comfortable and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The decor was modern and the tables were well presented. The Menu's were even printed with the restaurant name!
The restaurant is quite small and is in a corner building and although busy when we went, Georget worked to acoommodate the five of us. In terms of menus, there was a daily specials board outside, and a full menu, with a wide choice of starters, deserts and main courses, with a range of local fish dishes and regional meat dishes available.
You speak as you find with restaurants and I was sorry to hear of the other reviewer's experience, but the food which we had was cooked to perfection, was piping hot and of a good portion size. I had the local shrimp cream soup (very moreish), fresh tuna portuguese style and tirimisu, all of which were lovely. There was a good wine list and the wine was of average prices for Alvor. All of my party enjoyed their food and raved about it afterwards.
What is nice is that Georget personally comes and speaks to you and makes a good atmosphere and was pleased to see us return to the restaurant. Georget is a nice person who is genuinely interested in attention to detail and ensuring that everything is to the customers satisfaction and she spent equal time with all persons dining. It was like going to a private house in some ways!
We also had a free glass of chilled port as a free liquor after our dinner which was nice too!
I would reccomend Georgets and like the other reviewers testify, it is a great restaurant and credit to the staff and Georget for their hard work. I will be back when next in Alvor!!!!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daru500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Average and ordinary.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

In my opinion earlier reviews of this restaurant are overly enthusiastic. The menu is much the same as a good number of the other restaurants in town with nothing to distinguish it. We tried the restaurant after reading the reviews here but the night we went the food quality was mixed. We had a nicely cooked piece of sole with almonds but this was accompanied by soggy, water logged vegetables that were a real distraction. Is the true test of a kitchen measured in the quality of the vegetables served – in that anyone can serve mixed vegetables and potatoes that have been sitting in a pan of hot water for ages?

One nice touch was that the owner came around all the tables to greet all her guests.

On my sampling there is nothing to lift this restaurant above so many others. Why open a new restaurant and just offer the same old menu? When eating out in Alvor one could do better and one could do worse.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

We have been coming to avor for 15 years when the children were small we love georgets we feel now she is a friend food is great staff are to and her husband we are going for 4 days on the 3rd of feb 2011 so we will pop in if you go give it a go she will make you welcome

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Portugal103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Alvor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

I have been to Alvor on a number of occasions. This is definitely the best restaurant in the village. Georget is to be congratulated on running such a great place. It is very close to the square.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank philipbach01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georget's also viewed

 
Alvor, Portimao
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing