We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good food”
Review of Duartes Restaurant

Duartes Restaurant
Ranked #85 of 154 Restaurants in Alvor
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Alvor, Portugal
2 reviews
“very good food”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

top class stake on the stone and we have tried many other dishes with excellent service at a price eveyone can afford, go ahead and, try it

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank gary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    30
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
EU
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Ate here 3 times last week and couldn't fault a thing. Beautiful fish and steaks, very simply done but delicious. Excellent value for money. We paid between 33 and 44 euros for a bottle of wine, a bottle of water, 1 starter, 2 mains, 2 desserts and coffee. It's not a fancy place but we found it very hard to beat. All the tables were taken on each of our visits so that speaks for itself.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sammyEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“VERY FRIENDLY SERVICE, GOOD FOOD AND VALUE”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

It's the nearest restaurant to our holiday apartment- a bit off the beaten track but only yards from village centre - so we had to try it! Possibly the friendliest restaurant I've ever visited. Roberto + family greet you very warmly and service is excellent. Best food (for us) has been local Alantejo(?) specialities but ask and you'll get good advice. Wide variety at good prices. I'd recommend "caripau"- horse mackerel with the backbone removed served with head and tails on, which you eat!, but my wife wouldn't. She didn't like my remarks about how crunchy the eyes were! Many local taxi drivers lunch here when there's a daily special at a good price. You won't do better than them!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank REGULARDRINKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice Potugese restaurant, great value”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We visited Duartes whilst in Alvor May 2011, 1 starter, 2 main meals and 2 soft drinks 24euro, the food was excellent, I had the Sirloin steak here and man the thickness of it was unreal, it was done exactly how I wanted it and it melted in my mouth, location a bit quiet, plain but nicely decorated and very clean with friendly staff (as we found them all to be in the restaurants in Alvor actually).

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hammerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Another cheap restaurant we had 2 starters 2 main course dersert wine and water, 41.90. The locals were queing to get into this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mariceDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duartes Restaurant also viewed

 
Alvor, Portimao
Alvor, Portimao
 

Been to Duartes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing