We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit retro, but very good”
Review of Por do sol

Por do sol
Ranked #16 of 155 Restaurants in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Morpeth
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bit retro, but very good”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

excellent staff, menu almost throwback to the 1970's with flambe at table. best in spring and autumn - menu a little heavy for summer

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank 684JohnW684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    63
    12
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bidston, Wirral
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Friendly staff, Egyptian cotton napkins and tablecloths, great atmosphere, the food was amazing I had a taste of my husbands onion soup, it just melted in your mouth, I had the beef stroganoff, to die for, followed by crepe's set on fire, gorgeous and totally potent!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LizBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“traditional restaurant with excellent standards.”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our first occasion this month was when we arrived in Alvor, both tired and a bit travel worn. Staff were welcoming and courteous. Food was excellent and we felt nothing was too much trouble. We did not realise it was so popular but on our last night we were told they were fully booked. A dissappointment but we will know the next time. The restaurant next door, while not so traditional and of recent standards provided an excellent meal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Allan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“we love this one!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

WE have been going to this restaurant for over 10 years. We keep coming back because of the quality of food, the selection,the prices which are very reasonable and the staff! Candido and his assistants make every visit fun and over the years there are very few staff changes. We are on a first name basis and for sure we will be back next year.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank maurice1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best value quality food”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Never known this wonderful place to have an off night over many years ! Real quality ingredients, especially the meat (rack of lamb to die for)at good prices. Book, because its busy all year round.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RobinJ1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Por do sol also viewed

 
Alvor, Portimao
 

Been to Por do sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing