We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring Back The Rocha Big Reds!”

Big Reds Steakhouse
Ranked #41 of 157 Restaurants in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bring Back The Rocha Big Reds!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

As regular visitors to the alvor area for several years on each occasion we have dined at Big Reds, firstly at the Rocha restaurant which we revisited several times on our stay because of the AMAZING platter they offered, Sadly when the restaurant moved to the roundabout at alvor the meal was no longer on offer which was dissapointing. the menu was reduced in what they offered. I had a mixed grill at 21.5 euros, the meal was fine but the ribs were rock hard and could have been used as a weapon. We revisited Big Reds at the new Alvor restaurant recently and the food has become poor especially for the price. The starter which we received thinking it would be a nice garlic bread came out as what resembled an Iceland garlic baguette with melted cheese on top, their are different types of garlic bread starters we have come across but none like this.
I had a mixed grill again hoping that the previous visit was a one off, but the ribs were again rock hard and the chips we both received with our meals were extremely thick chips which were that thick they were hard and uncooked in the middle.
To sum up , the Rocha atmosphere, Johnny Cash music and the great variety of food was the reason we returned. Now the menu is smaller and the quality of food is no where near the same. Please bring back the Rocha atmosphere, menu and quality of food!!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Arena3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    99
    53
    28
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“I'll be back”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Fantastic food fantastic service fantastic night!! Thanks to Louis (forgive me I'd I spelt your name wrong )the barman looked after us excellently and thanks to Big Red himself Mr Nick Rowe for the generosity of his time and buying a round of drinks aswell. I am humble.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beano1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Beef”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Truly delicious steaks and love the big home fries. Big restaurant with plenty of seating options. Will be back!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roisin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Efficient but not quick”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We found this reataurant excellent on two occasions in one week. On the first occasion we were met with great courtesy, led to a table and given the menus. We had a half carafe of white wine and a half of Red wine-both local wines and very palatable. We took our time in choosing from the menu, hence the choice of wine. In the end we had a light (?) starter - had the salmon fishcakes. These weere excellent. The steaks we both had as a main, were tender and well cooked, presented well and very tasty. This is a restaurant which has been expanded in recent years and seems to be well run. The quality of food is a sign that they do not rush in preparation but, if you are in a hurry, go elsewhere.
The next occasion, I had the pork which was also very good. Service was good and we were not rushed and neither did we feel pressured.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Strangely indifferent staff”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Tried to call in for lunch with 3 friends and the waiter who eventually appeared seemed so off hand we went elsewhere.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinJ1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Reds Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Big Reds Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing