We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Murphy M has a personal agenda”

Gusto Osteria Romana
Ranked #10 of 175 Restaurants in Alvor
Description: Cozy Italian wine & tapas bar with incredible view above Alvor's river. A selection of authentic Italian cold cuts, cheese and little bites of food, paired with fine Italian wines. Excellent as a pre-dinner nibble, or to make a whole meal out of it by ordering several small plates.
Restaurant details
Description: Cozy Italian wine & tapas bar with incredible view above Alvor's river. A selection of authentic Italian cold cuts, cheese and little bites of food, paired with fine Italian wines. Excellent as a pre-dinner nibble, or to make a whole meal out of it by ordering several small plates.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am compelled to review because I was sitting next to the reviewer party Murphy M who unfairly attempts to discredit this fine restaurant. Look in to Murphy’s post history and you will read an attack on Italian restaurant owners only. This poster has a personal agenda and were clearly out to be dissatisfied. They were obnoxious and unreasonable, and I find it repellant that someone should deliberately try to destroy the good reputation of friendly and hard working people serving delicious food. This restaurant is consistently 5 star, we eat here whenever we can. The staff at Gusto are fun and friendly, the wine is excellent, the menu choice inventive, and the food absolutely tasty. Ignore the haters.

Date of visit: September 2019
3  Thank Jaggythistle2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorH3339FK, Proprietario at Gusto Osteria Romana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Grazie mille !!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pesto from Barilla cans you buy from supermarket:
Carbonara with panna?? Arent you from Rome?
Waited for 1 hour get the food.
You can do MUCH better

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Murphy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorH3339FK, Proprietario at Gusto Osteria Romana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Salve mi dispiace che lei si sia trovato così male o forse visto le recensioni che ha fatto ad altri ristoranti italiani sono tutte pessime il problema credo che sia il suo non il nostro gli conviene cambiare nazione mollare i ristoranti italiani e provare qualcos'altro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have eaten here twice already this holiday and will probably do so again before we go home . The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is very very good the chefs selection of bruschetta for starters is especially good ,recommend booking as this place is very popular

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank martin050559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorH3339FK, Proprietario at Gusto Osteria Romana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Grazie mille !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly staff are great. A real warm welcome.
After taking our order we were presented with a bag of sliced bread. No dips a couple of pats of butter eventually arrived. We shared the mixed bruschetta. There was a selection of 4 types. There was no explanation of what topping was on each. The bread was burnt in places but overall quite tasty
My wife had the wild boar ragu which said was ok. I had a chicken dish which had rosemary and other items. The sauce was very heavy and not very tasty and stodgy potatoes.
We thought the wine although very tasty was expensive at 5 euros a glass. The cheapest bottle at 19. By far the most expensive for a basic bottle we found on our holiday.
Overall an ok meal but sorry we will not return.
As an aside if you get the right table you can get a view of the harbour

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Alshepuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorH3339FK, Proprietario at Gusto Osteria Romana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Grazie mille !!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing food, very tasty and satisfying. Great atmosphere and amazing staff. Highly recommend! Tiramisu and Carbonara were amazing!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 709jasonv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorH3339FK, Proprietario at Gusto Osteria Romana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Grazie mille !!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gusto Osteria Romana also viewed

 

Been to Gusto Osteria Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing