We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sailing without sails”
Review of Alvor Boat Trips

Alvor Boat Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alvor Boat Trips, established 1997 - A Portuguese/Irish family run business offering top class eco friendly coastal cruises on board "Alvor Flor do Sol", Portugal's first solar powered cruiser and Fishing & coastal trips on "Novo Alvor" & "Eco Alvor". Certified, comfortable and highly recommended, top class sightseeing boat trips, with the people that care! "We encourage you to leave feedback and if there is anyway we can improve the service and your experience please don't hesitate to ask while you are with us. Our aim is your recommendation" - Owner & Operators Roisin & Luis.
Useful Information: Stroller parking
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sailing without sails”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I took a trip on this solar powered boat after booking the previous day at the booth in Alvor harbour. We were picked up from the hotel and taken to the harbour at Praia de Rocha where we were welcomed by Victor and Daniel. The voyage along the beautiful coast line was serene, quiet and relaxing and we were kept well informed throughout. I would thoroughly recommend this trip, like sailing without sails!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brelas_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowatch, Owner at Alvor Boat Trips, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We like to think we are the next best thing to sailing as we utilise the power of the sun, without sound or smell it truly is pure power.
I will pass on your compliments to Daniel and Victor
Regards
Roisin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    58
    14
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
billericay
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent boat trips”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

we have taken 3 trips with this company - all excellent.
Two trips were the river cruise to Silves - one in the morning, one ( June 2011) in the afternoon ( July 2013) . Both were peaceful relaxing trips offering the chance to see inland Algarve from a different perspective. The solar powered boat is comfortable, offering sun and shade options and the food/drink on board is plentiful and tasty. Crew very attentive and well informed.
The third trip was a Wet and Wild coastal cruise ( Sept 2013). We were fortunate to be the only group on board and my nephew and niece had a wonderful trip taking advantage of the rubber rind ride and the sea dip. Again the crew were very friendly and helpful, concerned to ensure we had a good time.
Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowatch, Owner at Alvor Boat Trips, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We appreciate the time you took to write a review and thank you for your generous comments.
Our aim is to please and glad we succeeded
Regards
Hope to see you back in Alvor soon
Roisin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penmaenmawr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great day out!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Booked a coastal cruise for me and the wife. Absolute brilliant trip! Really enjoyed the gorgeous landscape. We were offered snorkels, only those of us brave enough actually tested the waters and we really enjoyed swimming besides the caves. Staff very friendly and informative. They looked after us very well. Will be back again!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank YamYam87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowatch, Owner at Alvor Boat Trips, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thrilled you had a good time and happy the staff looked after well.
Hope to see you in Alvor again soon.
Roisin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Alvor Boat Trip”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Good value and duration for the price but boat a bit small for choppy water. (it's not the one in the picture at the jetty) Otherwise enjoyable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowatch, Owner at Alvor Boat Trips, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We have 4boats ranging in size and capacity. Subject to numbers, trip type and schedules the choice of boat on the day is determined by the bookings all are in the published photos at the jetty!
For example the 3hr coastal cruise is normally on the 13m Solar powered boat (€30) and our 2hr Coastal (€20) on either of our 7m boats with lesser capacity. This allows us to give our clients trips to suit their budget and their time preferences.
We are glad you found the trip good value and sorry the sea was not as smooth as you had hoped, but that, as you know, is beyond our control.
Maybe next time you will have a 5star experience when the sea is less choppy!
Thanks for your review.
Regards
Roisin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“boat alvor”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hi. Myself and my Wife took a boat trip up the river to Silves, we booked it on the harbour at Alvor, and very pleasant it was.you have a couple of hours at Silves giving you enough time to explore the Castle and have a drink. all together good value On board the boat on the return a three course lunch was served which was included in the price..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank onz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowatch, Owner at Alvor Boat Trips, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Our trip to Silves is very popular, especially at this time of year when nature is busy preparing for winter. We thank you for your kind words and hope we see you again in Alvor.
Regards
Roisin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alvor Boat Trips also viewed

 
Portimao, Faro District
 

Been to Alvor Boat Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing