We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the trip that never was”
Review of Alvor Boat Trips

Alvor Boat Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alvor Boat Trips, established 1997 - A Portuguese/Irish family run business offering top class eco friendly coastal cruises on board "Alvor Flor do Sol", Portugal's first solar powered cruiser and Fishing & coastal trips on "Novo Alvor" & "Eco Alvor". Certified, comfortable and highly recommended, top class sightseeing boat trips, with the people that care! "We encourage you to leave feedback and if there is anyway we can improve the service and your experience please don't hesitate to ask while you are with us. Our aim is your recommendation" - Owner & Operators Roisin & Luis.
Useful Information: Stroller parking
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We booked the coastal trip at the booth down by the sea front in Alvor and where picked up promptly at our Hotel were we where taken to join the boat in Portmamao marina unfortunately the weather took a turn for the worse shortly after we set sail and the boat was forced to return to port after only a sort time. The crew could not have been more apologetic and a full refund was offered or the chance to rebook for another day as we where due to fly home the next day we opted for the refund. What time we had on the boat was enjoyable with the crew being very pleasant and attentive and appeared genuinely upset with the fact that we had to return to port.

Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowatch, Owner at Alvor Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Sometimes for operational reasons and to avoid an uncomfortable experience are trips are postponed or even canceled, it is always our aim that our customers are completely satisfied and appreciate, like on this occasion, patience to deal with the factors beyond our control.
Hope we get to share this amazing place with you another time.
Regards
Roisin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
There are newer reviews for Alvor Boat Trips
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 298 of 452 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and parents recently enjoyed a trip to Silves with Alvor Boat Trips. We booked the trip directly with ABT’s and it included a 1.5hr journey from Portimao to Silves down the River, a 2hr stop in Silves and 1.5hr journey back to Portimao.

The trip included lunch, which was delicious and plentiful. We were served crostini and pate, traditional chicken piri piri with salad and fresh fruit. On the return journey we were also served fresh fruit and cake. The drinks (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic) were also readily available and our glasses were kept topped up throughout!

The staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. The trip includes pick-up and drop-off from your hotel and we didn’t specially need a return drop off as we had arranged to pick-up a hire car in Portimao, however we weren’t quite sure of the area and the driver kindly dropped us off outside the rental office.

Silves is a lovely town, quiet and sleepy but there is a castle and museum to visit and some nice little cafes and shops.

Alvor Boat Trips do other tours and I would definitely recommend them based on our trip to Silves. Great hospitality and fantastic value!

Thank C_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowatch, Owner at Alvor Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thanks for your generous and description review. Thrilled that you enjoyed the experience and the visit to Silves was so fulfilling. We look forward to having you on board again maybe for a coastal cruise next time.
Keep well and happy travels until the next time
Roisin & Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We did the champagne & strawberries sunset trip
It was lovely takes about 2hours, well worth the money
On our trip a marriage proposal was made , a lovely couple took the romance level to a new height.
The crew made it so perfect for them ,lovely music and to see the guy on one knee brought a tear to my eyes., wonderful
We hope they will be very happy
We also met lovely people on the boat and spent the evening chatting and enjoying the whole experience
I would recommend this trip and Alvor boats they do everything just right

2  Thank jderbylfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowatch, Owner at Alvor Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

It is a really special privilege to be part of someone once in a lifetime moment and the energy on board is electric and priceless I think you'll agree. Makes our job worthwhile to know everyone enjoyed the evening so much.
Good luck and happy travels.
Thanks
Roisin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My partner and I decided we wanted to try the boat trips before we even arrived. Initially we wanted to do the Silves trip however unfortunately it was sold out for the duration of our stay. Nevertheless we decided to give the costal cruise a go and were so happy that we instantly booked the champagne sunset cruise! We preferred the sunset cruise, however we would happily recommend either. On the coastal cruise, the sea became so rough that we were unable to swim in the caves and grottos as planned. This did not deter the staff- instead they took us to a private beach, arranged activities for the kids and provided fresh fruit and (lots of) sangria! Sunset trip is definitely one for the couples- a real bargain at €30. Could not fault the service- Luis, Roisin and Barbara were all so friendly and helpful.

3  Thank StroppySquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowatch, Owner at Alvor Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for the time you took reviewing our trips it is becoming more important with customers finding us online before they arrive. Happy to know your experience matched and hopefully exceeded you expectations and we look forward to your return.
Happy travels
Regards
Roisin, Luis and all the crew
Alvor Boat Trips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Cant recommend highly enough.
Family fishing trip - convinced me! to go on boat with my 3 kids and hubby, great morning, brought fish to resturant that was recommended to us on trip. great memories for all the family.
Silves Day Trip - relaxing trip up the river, staff excellent, Old town of Silves worth the visit. lovely shops, castle and church worth a visit. got to see Portuguese wedding. Owners, Roisin and Luis are great combination. Roisin, thanks for organising wedding at the church for same day as our trip!!!

Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowatch, Owner at Alvor Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Glad you enjoyed both the trips and the extra lengths we go for our customers, our aim is your recommendation and happy you noticed our efforts.
Thanks for the thumbs up and your appreciation is important to us all.
Regards
Roisin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alvor Boat Trips also viewed

 

Been to Alvor Boat Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing