We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Trigana Boat Trips

Trigana Boat Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trigana Boat Trips is a sailing trip company that consists of two classic Portuguese sailing cargo vessels that have been adapted to serve the tourist industry. We pride ourselves in sailing the boats without engines whenever possible. We have been running for over 13 years now and provide personalised high quality trips. We usually offer 3 trips per day in the high season and are open from April 1st till 31st October. Our new official video is viewable on you tube Trigana sailing.Worth a look! We have a ticket booth in Alvor harbour.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have been on the Trigana about 4/5 times now and every time has been an awesome day. This is a great day for young people, older people or families. The crew are always friendly and knowledgeable. Each trip is different and you get the chance to do some fishing and swimming in the sea which is always fun.

Thank Emma Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick A, Owner at Trigana Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Hi Emma,

I recognised you straight away and remembered your previous trip with your sister. It was good to see you again this year and I'm glad you enjoyed another trip with us. Follow us on Facebook to check out what's happening here in the Algarve. Hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 298 of 373 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We took the trip to Lagos which is mostly a ferry there and free time. Lagos is lovely and you can easily spend a few hours wandering around and having a nice meal. On the way back we were taken up the coast to see the caves and fabulous coast line. We then dropped anchor for a while at the side of their other sailing boat and people had the chance to swim if they wanted.

Then came the best bit - both crews put up the sails and we raced back along the coast! This was great fun and made it a thoroughly enjoyable day. Highly recommended.

1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick A, Owner at Trigana Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Hi Karen,

Thanks for your review. We love having the opportunity to race back across the bay together, no other company does this in the Algarve and I'm glad you enjoyed being part of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Go back every year to Alvor and a boat trip aboard either Trigana or Formosa - fab crew with Rick, Pedro and Tiago - also got to meet Lynne this time. The sea had quite a swell so the crew put the sail up to keep us steady and stopped on the "island" for swimming and beach stop. Great value for money and worth every euro ! See you next year !!!

2  Thank alisonryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick A, Owner at Trigana Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thanks Alison,

It was good to see you guys again, on the boat and at the local watering hole. See you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

While in Portugal the first week of June, We went to Alvor for a day trip, Our two sons really wanted to
go on a boat trip but as they are only 3 and 5 we wanted something approx 1 to 1 and half hours long.
We meet Maria on a stand a english lady and she organised for a boat to take the 4 of us out.
there were two lovely young men on the boat too and they were so good with the boys and and so friendly they
even let them do a spot of fishing and one of my boys caught a Sea bass this was the high light of the holiday needless to say.. I think one guy was Padero and the other guy had just started. I would highly recommend this trip and will definately do it again. It was fantastic....

2  Thank claremorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick A, Owner at Trigana Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thanks Clare,

We always try to tailor our trips to suit your needs and are glad you really appreciated our efforts. Congratulations to your fisherman son on catching a sea bass. what a treat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Although the sea state was unexpectedly quite a large swell, we still managed to sail across to the amazing rocks with excellent views. The crew were very aware of the possibility of sea sickness from the sea state and took great care of the passengers.
We sailed back towards the harbour and were able to dive and swim in much calmer waters with everyone enjoying themselves. The owner Rick was as usual very funny and informative.
This was the fourth time my family have sailed with Trigana and we cant wait for our next trip.
Great experience guys keep it up.
Sean Ryder

Thank Seanjryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick A, Owner at Trigana Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thanks for that. It was great to see you again, look forward to your next visit. Calm waters and fair winds. (I think that is what us sailors are meant to say to each other ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trigana Boat Trips also viewed

 

Been to Trigana Boat Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing