We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still our favourite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cactos II

Cactos II
Ranked #12 of 147 Restaurants in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: As well as being popular for the night time live music in our clean and comfortable bar, we also have a large sunny terrace near the swimming pool at the Apartments Dunas do Alvor. We hope you will find it a perfect place to relax in the sun or enjoy those long summer nights. We have a tasty snack menu from midday to 3pm and a variety of special offers on drinks during the day, with our €1 large Super Bocks and €2.50 Cocktail Specials being especially popular. We offer only brand name spirits and hope that you will find the perfect mix of pleasant surroundings, friendly staff and outstanding value for your money.We have live music every night and show Sky Sports/Setanta and ESPN for major sports events. We look forward to meeting you!
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Still our favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Returning to Alvor for the third time,We visited Cactos 2.where we were welcomed back like old friends,Dont miss this bar ,it really is the very best.Great people drink food & music.You will enjoy.

Margaret & Derek Sunny Blackpool

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cactosIIbar, Owner at Cactos II, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such nice things about us - again! It is always lovely to see you both - you are lovely people who we enjoy seeing each time you visit - hope that we see you again soon xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    72
    20
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Had a good time , as everyone says Mark and Ali plus Tiego were lovely friendly people who work very hard to help you enjoy your night ,Mark has a good banter with everyone and makes sure everyone has a good time leaving no one out . Well done from the Barnsley family (wife just sobered up from her 50th)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skylandertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cactosIIbar, Owner at Cactos II, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words - we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great bar, great staff highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had a few nights and had the best giggle, it is a must if you go to Alvor, Mark, Ali and Tiego were super friendly, beer is one euro, entertainment is great fun, you won't be disappointed and ill definitely be back. We were named Kerry and London we were there so often. Loved it..

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lisac035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cactosIIbar, Owner at Cactos II, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you and your family of singers..... hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best bar in alvor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Nightly entertainment from mark, very funny for a man that used to be in westlife lol . Tiago top bar man and genuine good person .

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cactosIIbar, Owner at Cactos II, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind words..... I WAS IN WESTLIFE! See you next time mr London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great bar great service great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

A nice friendly bar located by the Dunas apartments. Snacks are reasonably priced and the drinks are cheap throughout the day. The evening entertainment is Mark singing but his banter is what makes it. Well worth a visit or two.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank divepetem9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cactosIIbar, Owner at Cactos II, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our bar, it is much appreciated. Hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactos II also viewed

 

Been to Cactos II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing