We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Restaurante O Alcaide
Ranked #50 of 154 Restaurants in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
West Sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Being a frequent visitor to Alvor my family and I cannot wait to return to this great little restaurant tucked away from the bright lights. I'm so glad I found it ten years ago.
There is something for everyone on the menu and the service from Isabelle and Lilian is always friendly and attentive. One must be aware that as the food is freshly cooked (often to order) you may have to wait a while for your selection to arrive at your table - but well worth waiting for!
With a varied selection of wine your meal here will match any you have anywhere and at a very reasonable price. I for one will be making a bee line for this lovely restaurant when I am next in Alvor!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    62
    18
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“very local”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

we used this retaurant as a last minute choice but wish we had found it earlier. yes a little old fashioned but made youn feel that you were in the Algarve. We had steak in the Potugese style and even though tasty had to leave some due to large portion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tough fillet steak”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

After reading a number of favourable reviews we had a meal at Alcaide and were very disappointed. My wife had a very tough fillet steak and I had a Sirloin steak that was not exactly tender . The restaurant lacks ambience, very high ceiling, tables too close together.
The service was friendly and efficient but we won't be going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCO_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Back again for a fantastic meal”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Back again to O Alcaide, The food is absolutely fabulous, (in the last 8 years we haven’t had a bad meal) Great wine and the service is second to none. Great value for money. Thank you Isabelle, Lilian and all the staff at O Alcaide. see you next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best Sea food Cataplana in Alvor”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have been going to Alvor for over 10 years now and we allways try differant places to eat but allways make sure we return to this restaurant at least twice whilst we are in Alvor the food is typical Portugese and is cooked to perfection ,never in all the years have we ever come away disapointed .This year on our first visit we had the sea food cataplana again this was excellent with a good mix of seafood and tasty crab claws .Second visit ,we had piri and garlic prawns for starters then the wife had grilled squid and i had the most delicious steak cooked just how i asked for .
Isobella and her staff Lelia and Poala are the most friendliest people you could meet and do everthing they can to make your meal perfect.
You can see by how busy they are which shows how good this place is ,give a try you certainly will not come away hungry .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skylandertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante O Alcaide also viewed

 
Alvor, Portimao
Alvor, Portimao
 

Been to Restaurante O Alcaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing