We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still one of the best in Alvor”

Restaurante O Alcaide
Ranked #51 of 149 Restaurants in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Still one of the best in Alvor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

A big thank you to Issabella and all her staff for making the nights that we visited fantastic , as always the food and service was first class and catered for all the people in our group including the grandkids .The food was cooked to perfection and clean plates went back again .Also a MASSIVE thanks to Issabella for making wifes 50th birthday very special .I knew this would be the right place to celebrate it and we was not dissapointed we all had a great night with beutifull food and a great atmosphere ,again many thanks and see you soon.Neil

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skylandertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    60
    18
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skully99
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely evening, homely cooking. Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our evening at O alcaide. The service was efficient and friendly. The food was simple but tasty. Got the sole based on previous TA. Reviews. We got starters, mains, desserts, with wine and after dinner drinks for two. For under €55 . The almond cake is a must. The house wine was the nicest wine we've had in Alvor to date and only € 8.90 a bottle! Please put this on your list of places to visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Skully99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lovely food - great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Decided to eat here based on trip advisor reviews and have to say I am glad we did.The food was lovely. I had swordfish - my wife lightly battered sole. The sole was so nice we returned later in the week so I could sample it.The waitress (I think her name was lilanna) was very attentive and helpful.Overall excellent.When we return next year O Alcaide will certainly be on our list of places to eat

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank n1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

If you want to try a traditional portuguese restaurant then give it a go. Waitress v friendly and the food is tasty and portions generous. :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank russel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvor, Portugal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“more good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Another one we tried for the first time this year .Refurbrished in the oldest wine celler in Alvor.Food was great staff were to .Enjoyed it so much took our freinds there for a second try they all enjoyed it also.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank johnoverpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante O Alcaide also viewed

 

Been to Restaurante O Alcaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing